3.9

Created with Sketch.
18 reviews
72%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 months ago

It has a nice finish and coverage but I've never had a foundation break me out so bad in my life. I wore it two days and got huge pimples all over my face (I'm in my 60's). Took days for my skin to clear up. Looking at the package ingredients I'm pretty sure it was the chemical sunscreens.

About reviewer (65 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Other

HairRed

EyesGreen



5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

This is my holy grail foundation. All of my prayers answered in one little bottle. I have combo skin with fine lines, sun damage and enormous pores. Now that I'm getting older, I decided I can no longer use long lasting foundation for oily skin types and started my search for a foundation for aging skin. I stopped in Ulta one day and the SA recommended trying this. I apply after my Vitamin C serum, B5 Hydrating gel and Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer and my skin looks amazing. Something you would never hear me say in the past. It doesn't accentuate my lines and never settles in my pores. It gives my skin an almost dewy glow but without looking greasy. It lasts a full 9 hour work day with no touch ups needed and it doesn't oxidize at all. I've been using it for over a year now and haven't looked at another foundation since. Sadly, it's becoming harder and harder to find. I stopped in Ulta yesterday and they were out of it. I checked Philosophy's website and it's on sale for $24 but with a very limited shade selection. Thankfully I was able to find my shade but I'll be so disappointed if this is being discontinued. This is truly the perfect foundation!

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This foundation is my favorite one that I own and I own a few. This one for my 39 year old skin is amazing! It says it takes off 5 years when you wear it, and I must say I look way better with it on. I don't know about 5 years but in terms of coverage it's amazing. I am about an NW20 or below, blonde hair, green eyes, and very cool undertones for reference. The shade #3 is an excellent match for me. I am blotchy, have enlarged pores, and am combo more oily than dry. This foundation covers so well! I use an oil primer the prep + sooth from Milani which is amazing btw. It just glides on so smooth and you cannot see anything. No pores, no redness, and my skin looks excellent. I would say this is a satin almost dewy finish if you do not use powder. And it's a good medium coverage. This lasts a good 8 hours on me and it looks great the whole time. It leaves my skin feeling excellent when I wear it and after I take it off. I barely need to touch it up I love the spf in this and the colour is spot on. For my age this is the best foundation I have ever used. I will buy this again because for me it actually does what it says. Highly recommended!

About reviewer (912 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I was surprised by the coverage! This actually does cover imperfections, and it has a cushiony formula that may help with blurring if you have some texture. It has a skin-like matte finish, and builds nicely. I start with a dewy base whenever I wear this, and it doesn't separate or pill up. I also love the packaging, which isn't ornate, but does feel like a well-made product. And it has a pump, which is such a helpful detail. I have deep-set under-eye wrinkles, and this tends to migrate into the creases after several hours, so heads-up i that this is likely to be an offender if you have creases, wrinkles, or folds. It's not any worse than any other product, but it's not bulletproof/transfer-proof. There's not a great range of shades, so it's tough to recommend this. I wear shade 9, but am probably a non-existent shade slightly deeper and more neutral than this one. It works, though. I reach for this from time to time, but it's not a major love of my life so I don't recommend it to others and I wouldn't purchase it again unless the pricing drastically changed. I have combo/oily maturing skin with enlarged pores. Foundation equivalents in other brands: ELF Acne Fighting Foundation Coffee, Milani 2-in-1 11/Amber, Revlon Color Stay Caramel, Cover Girl Vitalist Natural Tan, Maybelline Fit Me 330, L'Oreal True Match W7, The Ordinary 3.1Y, Black Opal Truly Topaz, Fenty Pro Filt'r 370, Urban Decay All-Nighter 8.75, Tarte Amazonian Clay Deep Sand, Becca Amber or Maple, MAC NC45, NARS Med/Dark 2 Tahoe, Lancome 450N, Too Faced Born This Way Mocha.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I decided to give this a shot and am very impressed with the results! The formula is lightweight, applies very easily with medium coverage and looks natural - not cakeyl. My skin immediately felt softer and moisturized and it showed! The pump dispenser is nice too and a little goes a long way which justifies the price. It doesn’t “sit” on my face or oxidize through the day either and holds up incredibly - even in extreme heat and humidity! I also don’t get a greasy sheen mid-day. I usually finish off with a light dusting of IT Cosmetics Translucent Powder and am good for the day. I have also noticed an overall improvement in my skin’s appearance as it seems more supple and even-toned. I like that it has SPF 30 too so I don’t have to apply another layer of product. In all, a great value as you get a foundation, moisturizer, skin treatment and sunscreen in one bottle.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

When I began wearing this foundation, strangers would stop me and tell me how beautiful my skin was. Talk about a winning feeling! This line seems to be targeted at "older" women with all the talk of age and miracles, but please don't let this deter you if you are in your 20's. Realize that these products frequently just have far superior ingredients - which is great for every age! The addition of sunscreen is an added bonus. This foundation glides on smoothly with a satiny, somewhat glowing finish. The coverage is not particularly buildable, however. I would suggest using it with a primer to prevent it from slicking off your face by the end of the day. The packaging leaves plenty to be desired. The clear bottle exposes light-sensitive ingredients, the pump always seems to squirt out too much, and there is always a month or more of product left in the bottle after the pump starts working, so you have to start digging it out. Unfortunately, this one is a bit hard to find!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have had the worst luck lately with foundation, but things are looking up with this one. Color match is great (#5) and the coverage is just right. This works best for me when I begin with using my fingers and then finish with a foundation brush. It doesn't settle into pores or streak, and lasts all day. Cons: It's on the borderline of being too dewy for my taste, and the pump dispenses way too much. I really have to fiddle with it while dispensing to avoid wasting product. The cheap cap broke after two weeks. Everything considered, though - this one is a winner.

About reviewer (190 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Picked this up on sale, because of the color and the spf. Sadly, it amplified my fine lines and seemed too heavy, although the color was a nice match, shade 4. With or without a primer the product still sticks in my pores, not in a good way. This didn't do work any miracles for me. Boo hoo!

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairSilver, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have very dry skin AND large pores and have been on the hunt for a satin/dewy finish foundation that does not settle into my pores. This is the closest to perfect that I have gotten. It lasts about 8 hours and it is medium to full coverage. I add a drop of argan oil to the foundation before I apply it and that helps, too. I'm NC 25 and I wear shade #5.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I recently started.using Retin A for my skin. As a result, it became very rough, bumpy and dry. So, to Ulta I go. I have very fair skin NC15, and this foundation was the only one I could find that was fair enough for my skin. I bought the lightest shade, #3. It is not to pink or yellow, very neutral. It feels very good on my skin, comforting. It does not cling to my dry patches, smoothes over fine lines and pores like a dream. It is longstanding for a moisturizing foundation, wears for 8 hours. I usually set it with Bare Minerals Mineral veil. It has a very natural satin finish, it is not too dewy or luminous. It has medium coverage, but can be built up to full coverage if needed. I do use a concealer with it to cover andy red spots. I have worn for many years ELDW, but have found since I have reached my forties, that it is drying and emphasizes lines and pores. I feel that this is a good replacment even though the coverage is lighter. It gives me a more youthful appearance. Although it is not as full coverage as ELDW, the trade in the finish makes my skin look younger, and I just use a great concealer for any areas that need more coverage. All in all, I have found my new daily foundation for now.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen