2.9

Created with Sketch.
27 reviews
37%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Don't buy it. It streaks so bad, doesnt glide on easily, is almost clumpy? Like a mascara, somehow? The color isnt very rich, i had it for 3 days and then it dried out inside. It doesn't even last a few hours and it crumbles. Even for that cheap price, its not worth it.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue



1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is impossible to make look good. It’s patchy, applies unevenly (thinner in some spots, globs up in others). When you try to even it out, I find it only makes it look worse. With a color this dark, you need crisp lines and full opacity. It doesn’t help that this takes a full 10 minutes to dry, increasing your chances of screwing it up. I love the color, and so badly wanted to love this. It was just too much hassle for what it’s worth. I’d rather spend $20+ dollars on a lipstick that applies beautifully and looks flawless that takes under a minute to apply. This stuff takes too long to mess around with to make it look good. Put simply, it looks cheap. The patchiness isn’t cute, it wears off in chunks, and the lines bleed and clump around the edges of where you apply it (even with a great lipliner). So disappointing, I wanted so badly to love this. I have a friend with smaller lips than me and it looks good on her (not as much area to cover = less patchiness). I know it sounds strange, but if you have larger lips this will look even worse. Trying to even it out = disaster. A very poor formula done by NYX in regards to the darker shades. Skip this one.

About reviewer (79 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

About 3-4 years ago, I wanted this so badly and it was sold out everywhere. When it finally came back in stock, I ordered it and I was so disappointed! It applies patchy, and it will highlight ANY tiny piece of dry skin on your lips. It works a little better with lip liner but since it's a lip cream and not a liquid lipstick, it takes a little more time to dry and the color will transfer from lower to upper lip, and vice versa, and the color becomes very uneven. I wanted to love this but it's very difficult to work with. I love the NYX matte lip cream formula and I own several of them, and this is the only one that doesn't perform well. I highly recommend the lip creams, but not this one.

About reviewer (38 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Curly, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This was my first NYX buy. I was super excited about it. First few applications went smoothly with some difficulties in patchiness but layering it covered everything. It DOES layer nicely without looking bad. Because this is a very deep dark color, it needs good color pay off or the patchiness is even more exaggerated. Just after 7-8 days of usage, it started coming out very very veryyyyy patchy. To the point where I had to stop using it. I bought more from this line and realized, deeper, darker shades tend to be extremely patchy. It's comfortable nonetheless. Transfer proof as long as your lips are dry. Expect this to be eaten along with your food. Definitely should try a few if you haven't. They have a lovely range of shades

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I love the color on this but this formulation is not my preference. It is creamy so it can go on a bit sheer. I wish that they made this color in the Liquid Suede formulation. I have that in the shade Vintage which is a lighter burgundy color and I love that formulation. It is a true liquid lipstick and dries matte. The lip cream just seems to go on unevenly and needs to be reapplied often to keep the color true. So I will keep to the Liquid Suede and the Liquid Lingerie from this line for the dark colors.

About reviewer (339 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

It pains to give any Nyx product a weak review, because I absolutely love them, but this one was a bit of a let down. I had the same problem as pretty much everyone else: it's streaky and too sheer. You have to apply 2-3 layers to get a darker color pay-off, but the more product you apply, the more streaky it gets, so... no good. I had to use my lip brush here and there, and some gloss (Devil's Food Cake, also by Nyx, works good with this color), and the results were still... meh. It's such a shame because it's such a beautiful color, and most of Nyx's Matte Lip Creams apply like a dream... but oh, well. It can't all be perfect!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Horrible - my lips are not really big but I need to apply like 1/3 of the container to get some of the color on them. Very streaky and sheer, not what you would expect from a matte lip product, and nowhere near how it is advertised to look on the lips

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair

HairRed

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I don't do matte lips, but since this is a dark purple shade I made an exception. It's a beautiful color. But this product is very streaky, that's one thing I hate about these lip creams. You have to layer it on in order to get it looking opaque. It also wears off pretty quickly. If you ask me, I'd spend a few more dollars and buy a better quality matte lip cream in the same color.

About reviewer (149 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Coarse

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love the soft matte lip creams in the nude shades and bought this when I was trying to venture into deeper shades. Ick this is horrible. The color is nice, maybe a little too dark for me, but it's a blackish purple. BUT it's so sheer and patchy! One layer is nowhere near enough so when you try to add more it makes it come off in other places so it can never be even. I've tried it maybe 1-2 times but since I'm not the biggest fan of the color on me and there's so many other things out there, I don't think I'd try again and may throw it away. Would not repurchase this shade.

About reviewer (179 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

Feels very light on the lips but isn't very long lasting. Takes a while to dry and goes on patchy it has to be layered quite a bit to get a nice finish.

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us