3.6

Created with Sketch.
20 reviews
50%
would repurchase
3.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

Makes my very fine curly/wavy long hair look very very shiny, with a smooth feeling coating. Lots of volume, but "poofy" volume with dry frizzy ends. My curls don't stay defined and turn into a big frizzball as it dries. Scent is very strong aquatic green floral. I pick up notes of fresh cucumber, bamboo and sparkling citrus. Reminds me of Shiseido Relaxing Fragrance, or Gucci Envy, or a Japanese spa.

About reviewer (1263 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue



3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

In NC it left my hair smoother but started to give me a feeling that I needed to clarify & get rid of build up. In FL (Disney Resort) it left my hair with my waves pulled out & my hair was poofy & frizzy. I wanted to love this for my fine 2b waves...but it is too moody & inconsistent. I used it with the matching shampoo.

About reviewer (1201 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Got this conditioner as part of the PhD trial kit, and tried it for a little over a week with daily washing. It smells nice (fresh) and it really does reduce frizz to virtually zero. It's a weird conditioner though, and not optimal for my fine hair, it tends to weight my hair down a bit, even though LP claims it to be weightless, but doesn't moisturize it, so the damaged parts hair still looks and feels, well... damaged (LP claims this would make hair look healthy from 1st use onwards). Not a good detangler, I have rather smooth hair, so I can usually use a brush or comb without any knots or snags, but after PhD I had lot of snagging, which isn't normal for me. Also, it does make hair a bit shiny, but way, way less shiny than my hair is naturally, with just shampooing and way less than almost any conditioner, it seems PhD coats hair with something that dulls my hair's shine, dunno whether it's their "special" ingredient or just the way the formula is. It also builds up really quickly on my hair, by the end of week I already reached for a clarifying shampoo because my hair, frankly, started feeling gross due to the coating when I ran my fingers through it, I got almost like an oil on my hands. The 'clean hair for longer' claim is the biggest BS about these products, 2nd day my roots got so greasy I just had to wash my hair. Perfect hair Day isn't something I got out of this conditioner (or the whole product trio - shampoo, conditioner and 5-in-1 cream).

About reviewer (250 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Pros: - Gives my fine, wavy hair shine and body when I use it together with the shampoo and PHD 5-in-1 styler - Somewhat reduces frizz - Hair looks nice on the second day (my scalp is neither dry nor particularly oily) Cons: - Pricey - Packaging is so so, somewhat hard to dispense the product - Strong chemical scent, I personally dislike it, and it lingers Overall verdict: One lippie off for the less than stellar smell, but it's not bad enough to remove this from my rotation of hair care products.

About reviewer (573 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

This conditioner is way too heavy for my hair. I have long fine hair w/average thickness & is healthy. It leaves such a thick waxy coating & feels like I have plastic doll hair when I use this... anyone who's had a Barbie or their little girl likes barbies knows the kind of hair I'm talking about. Shiny but mushy and clumps together & just in no way behaves like hair. That's what this does to my hair and I can't wait to clarify. I'm saving it to use (in tiny amounts) just on the very ends to seal them whenever I feel the need. If you have thick or coarse hair then maybe you would have a PHD with this conditioner.. for me not so much

About reviewer (239 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Love, love, LOVE this conditioner! Finally, my HG conditioner- and I've tried a lot! I fist tried this years ago when travelling to the US. I stopped by Sephora to get myself a travel shampoo and conditioner and got the PHD kit. After a week of use, my hair looked amazing. like UH-MAY-ZING. Nothing has made my hair so shiny! Ridiculously shiny. Smooth, healthy, gorgeous. I never knew my hair was capable of looking this shiny. I have very fine hair which is prone to oiliness. My hair is also dyed with henna. I only use a tiny amount of this, and just on the ends. Makes my hair smooth as silk. Easy to brush after the shower. Stays fresh for a while afterwards. I admit, if your hair is very oily, then this may be too rich for you. I know that, before doing a course of accutane, this was bordering on too rich for me- I had to wash my hair every day as it was so greasy. During and now on maintenance accutane- this is perfect. The name suits it to the ground- every day is perfect hair day with this stuff. Smell is an innocuous, inoffensive fresh smell. As for all the BS scientific claims... well, who know if there's anything to it. Unlikely. But, this stuff certainly makes my hair look amazing. Remember, it does take a while for it 'take effect' so as to speak. At least a few weeks of continuous use is needed before you start to see how awesome this stuff is. I recommend buying the set with the 3 items. Can be bought pretty cheap on ebay, amazon etc. I buy the 1litre bottle on amazon and, given how little is needed, it's not too expensive. Totally worth it. Only gripe is the bottle. The press-to-open thing is often stiff and gets stuck. Also, when it's almost empty and I leave it upside down to get it out, it leaks. So, I cant turn it upside down, but instead need to spend a while shaking it to get the last bits out. Which is a pain. Also, I wish the litre bottles came with a pump. I now just transfer it into a different bottle. Not a deal breaker, but a hassle none the less. Still- highly recommended. Every one should try this. The kit would make a great gift, too!

About reviewer (69 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Great conditioner, very frustrating packaging. My hair quality is fine, but I have lots of hair. Many conditioners weigh my hair down, but this doesn't. It makes my hair smoother and very soft. It could be more effective in frizz controlling, but I use leave-in products for that. Sadly the packaging ruins a good product. The bottle has a normal squeeze mechanism, but from day one it's been a struggle to get any product out of the bottle. The bottle is very stiff and even with force I get a tiny drop of conditioner in my hands. I would buy PHD again, but with this packaging I don't think I'm going to be able to use even half of the bottle. Hopefully they will change the packaging!

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is amazing! It leaves my hair so soft & stretches out in between washings. For $25 for 8oz is there diamond dust in it?! I feel guilty spending that much! I believe in the PhD molecule that stuff works. I never couldn't have been convinced that VO5 was ruffling up my hair cuticle & then that salon care weren't fancy suds going down the drain til I invested in a bunch of salon brands now I'm a believer! LP is def my preferred conditioner brand I'm a convert. I like the scent & actually I can use less of the salon haircare so it does last awhile. I just don't get too flashy w pouring it out in the shower lol

About reviewer (2417 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I was prepared not to like this. In fact, I'm not really even sure why I bought it. I have not been impressed with the LP products I've tried in the past - PHD styling lotion, Amp & the thickening cream. They either didn't work at all or seemed to have a slightly good effect for awhile but not, in the end, good enough to continue bothering with (Amp). I've been using the conditioner now for 3 or 4 weeks and I'm sold! It does just make my hair better! Smoother, softer, detangled, noticeably less frizzy, and all without buildup or loss of volume. It may even be strengthening my hair a bit as I seem to be finding less hair in my brush. Doesn't affect my color adversely either. I am not currently using this with the PHD shampoo but with Alterna Bamboo UV. I have the travel size of the PHD shampoo but need to do more experimenting with that before I can pass judgment. Tried it once so far & didn't look so great but was also trying another product at the same time. For reference, I have fine, straight, thinning, colored hair.

About reviewer (205 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is the most amazing conditioner I have ever used. My hair became smooth, silky and has tons of body. It is better than any high end conditioner that I have ever tried and I have tried plenty (Kerastase, Oribe, Moroccanoil, Pureology). This beats them all hands down. I like this conditioner out of all the ones that Living Proof makes. It feels so clean. You don't feel any residue or anything coating your hair. It doesn't weigh your hair down at all. Thank you MIT PhDs who developed this! Definitely an A+++.

About reviewer (200 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us