Marc Jacobs Beauty Marvelous Mousse Transformative Oil-Free Foundation

Marc Jacobs Beauty Marvelous Mousse Transformative Oil-Free Foundation
Beauty Marvelous Mousse Transformative Oil-Free FoundationBeauty Marvelous Mousse Transformative Oil-Free FoundationBeauty Marvelous Mousse Transformative Oil-Free Foundation

3.8

13 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 6/28/2015 8:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've had this foundation for 2 years now. For referennce, I'm a NC42 and I got the #44 (Golden Medium) and it was the right colormatch. The next color had a pink undertone wich I don't like.

It feels lightweight on the skin with a light to medium coverage. It's labeled as a "mousse" but the consistency of this foundation is more of a cream. It comes in a jar wich is not practical and not hygienic.

I didn't like this foundation as I find it too drying (I have oily skin!). It settles in my pores (my cheeks) and in my dry patches (on the tip of my nose). Very pricey too (66$cdn / 55$usd). It blends well though, but is not long-lasting; after 3 hours, it starts to melt. For the price, I was expecting a near perfection foundation. Would not repurchase.

2 of 3 people found this helpful.



on 5/19/2015 4:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this product!! but....with having really oily skin it starts to fade throughout the day so I have to blot and reapply. Other than that its a perfect match to my yellowish golden undertone skin. It covers scars and acne pretty well i cannot complain. It doesn't break me out which is a big plus. Oh yea!! the price sucks. Its kinda pricey i get it at Sephora for $55 and it doesn't last very long.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 5/4/2014 12:56:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have always been a liquid foundation girl, but on my last business trip the dispenser exploded and I decided to try something different. I happened up intuit by accident, but after years and years of searching think I have my HG. I used a sephora foundation brush to apply it. The color is beautiful and the formula is very elegant, blending beautifully. Even though it is a full coverage foundation it disappears and feels like I'm wearing nothing. The texture is very soft. It doesn't rub off during the day and removes easily at night. I'm in love!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 7/11/2014 4:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I had to totally delete and redo this review...an edit wouldnt work my opinion has changed so much. I sampled this and thought I liked it. BUT let me say that if u have anywhere near dry skin, I dont see how it would work for u. It just sets SOOOOOOOO MATTE! I mean I have powder foundation...none of them look this bad on my skin. Its just dry almost like clay looking...and I have tartes clay powder foundation...doesnt look like this stuff does. Im all about mixing foundations and primers together to get the tone and look that i want that day...and nothing works to help this...Ive tried laura mercier radiant primer guerlains light perfecting primer...mixed in and underneath..ive tried mixing different foundations (Ive tried so many of my foundations Im not even gonna try to list them) and it still looks to dry on me. I pretty much always use mac fix+ and a beauty blender for foundations so its not that Im applying to much or to thick (though Ive tried with foundation and stipling brushes also). I dont have oily skin but Im assuming this would work wonders for those that like super matte look and have oily skin. I really loved the way this foundation felt...it reminded of maybelline SMOOTH mousse how it feels solid but breaks down to feel really silky as soon as u touch it, since I dont do drugstore foundations anymore... I was kind of obsessed with getting it...now I hate it. I ended up buying it off ebay since I thought I liked it so much through my sample only I wasnt able to return it...but I only paid 40$...thats still alot I know but compared to I think its 60$ in sephora.....

5 of 6 people found this helpful.


on 4/25/2015 5:39:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a full to medium coverage foundation that applies easily when used with a foundation brush. Just a little bit is all that's necessary. The coverage is flawless and any redness immediately disappears. It's a thick consistency that can be sheered out by using a brush. I use a kabuki style brush and that seems to work really well. I'm light but not fair with neutral undertones and my shade is medium bisque. It doesn't settle into fine lines at all (although I do use Smashbox primer underneath). Although it dries to a powdery finish, I use loose powder to set it. I then use NYX makeup setting spray to impart a dewier look. If used too heavily, this foundation can resemble stage makeup, but like I said, the secret is using a good brush to apply it. I really like this foundation because even with the heavier coverage, my skin still looks like skin and not like a mask. And even though I'm somewhat oily, the finish lasts all day without a touch up (just some blotting papers if necessary). I definitely recommend this makeup and would definitely repurchase, despite the price.

3 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 1/27/2015 11:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I want to preface this review with a major reason I am not loving it as much as I should is that I have 1 shade too light. The boxes were in the wrong order and I picked up bisque medium instead of beige light which is a perfect match, then left the country before being able to exchange it. Given the steep price it was a costly mistake but one I can barely get away with by reserving it for full face night wear only.

Because it is so thick it doesn't blend well with other foundations. I've tried using a foundation brush and stippling brush, both of which can be somewhat cakey as it is truly a full cover foundation. Although unsanitary the best application method for me is remove it from the jar with fingers, pat around skin, then press it in with a damp beauty blender. If you don't have a beauty blender stick with fingers, but sponges will work as well and because the product is so thick the sponge won't absorb to much.

Coverage is excellent: very full as advertised and remains so over the course of an 8 hour evening. I've used it both over and under powder as well as alone and all good. It's also reduced my use of concealer. If applied carefully it won't flake or cake. The biggest danger with these thick full cover foundations is rushing the application which can leave them looking unnatural, so it's well worth taking the time to prep skin properly and if you need to warm up the cream in your hands before pressing into the skin so it goes on smoother, do it as it makes a big difference. Sometimes if I put on too much I'll use a stippling brush to blend it in before finishing with the beauty blender step.

Yes it's expensive but it's great. So great I'm able to use a shade too light without blending, thanks to the coverage. I will definitely repurchase. If you aren't loving the results or are experiencing uneven texture, try playing around with application. It took me a bit of practise to realise what works best for me, but you may prefer something different.

Also, it sounds obvious but be sure to use with clean hands and sanitise any brush or sponge that comes into contact with the pot. I travel a lot and leave this at home sadly as I'm scared of the glass breaking and it doesn't sit well in my spartan travel bag, although the packaging does look lovely as with all MJ products.

2 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 3/4/2014 12:04:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is not really a mousse, it is a cream, lightweight, but a cream nonetheless. When I tried some on in the store it looked pretty decent, but an hour or so later the only thing it had transformed was any little dry spot on my face, I looked flakey, coverage was blotchy, kind of orange. At this price point ($55) I am expecting perfection so - back it will go... sadly...

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have worn this foundation a few times already. I applied it with the MJ Face II brush. My overall impression with the way it looks after it's applied is, it looks fantastic! I have to look at my face close-up to see if I actually covered my whole face! Lol. It just goes on so smooth. My only complaint is that it dries very quickly. You really have to work quickly to brush it around to cover large areas. Not sure if that's just because of the brush I use or what. I have not used my fingers to apply this foundation because I don't want to contaminate the jar - another downside of this foundation. I have been using the end of a plastic utensil to scoop out the foundation, then I apply to the back of hand and dab the brush in that. Seems to work!

I really think this foundation works better for dry/combo skin. I can see it accentuating dry patches at first, but it does start to hydrate. I use argan oil on my dry skin right now before I apply this foundation and that helps solve the dry patch issue. But, throughout the day, my face will get oily. This is where the foundation starts to slide off. It only happens around my nose and it creates a very noticeable crease. You will need to touch up with concealer or powder if this happens. I'll be afraid to use this foundation in the summer when the heat makes me sweat because any perspiration on my face, and the foundation will just roll off! I haven't tried this foundation with a primer or setting powder so can't take off points for that.

Still, this foundation doesn't claim to be "long-lasting". That's not why I bought it. I bought it because I wanted a nice coverage with a nice finish (which I got), and I love MJ's foundation colors. It is the perfect match to my neutral skin. No oxidizing either!

For reference, I am a NW15 in MAC and 108 Sand in Clarin's Everlasting Foundation. I bought this in Bisque Light.

5 of 6 people found this helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I bought this foundation last week because I'm on quest to find the right one for the upcoming summer months. I sweat a lot and honestly, I really like the look of a full coverage foundation. In essence, I'm in search of one that can withstand humid Texas weather and my hot flashes.
So far, I have had a wonderful experience with this product but won't really know how it'll hold up in the summer.

As for application, I first apply a primer. Then, I follow with under eye concealer and let that set in for 30 seconds. With that being said, i now wash my hands and begin to apply the MJ creme with my clean fingers. A sephora SA informed me that wAs really the best way to apply it. Afterwards, I dust a tad bit of powder, finishing the rest of my makeup. I do love the end product of looking full coverage. I hope I can pull this off in the hotter months that are approaching. :-)

Please ladies, if u have ANY suggestions, just let me know. Thank u so much for your time. :-). Luv u all

6 of 7 people found this helpful.


on 3/26/2014 2:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is my favorite foundation ever! I have a video on YouTube about this! YouTube.com/jenkellyl


Back to Top