4.6

Created with Sketch.
54 reviews
85%
would repurchase
4.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Wow these outshine Clinique Chubby Balms, in pigmentation, gloss, and scent. For a start its got an identical vanilla chocolate batter scent to my Too Faced Chocolate Bronzer :) I could never get on board with Cliniques toothpaste like mine scent. Also the pigmentation and glossy finish is outstanding. In one pass I get full coverage smooth colour and a gorgeous satin gloss which makes the lips look so healthy. The Clinique was sheer and patchy. Wears really well, leaves behind a lasting stain. I have Boom Chic a Boom #210 is a dupe for the gorgeous fuschia pink Nars Schiap, only this is the glossy version, so its even cuter! Easy windup mechanism, no sharpening. Sadly these were recently discontinued but if you see them cheap they are worth picking up :)

About reviewer (1216 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue



3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

These lip balms are nice. I really do like the initial application. They're smooth and creamy and the colors are beautiful. My only issue is they oxidize like crazy after about 20 minutes. I have Give Me Nude and the color of goes on is lovely. However, it oxidized into a bright berry pink which did not match my makeup look at all It also stains the lips pretty badly so if you do t like the color after application you're sort of stuck with it unless you brought along another shade. I wouldn't purchase this again

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I tried 3 colors from this range and my favorite is keep mauving so I will only talk about this color what I like about this lipstick is: 1- beautiful color that suits almost every skin tone, me and my sisters we all love this color and we all have different skin tones 2- dose not dry my lips 3- I don't even need a mirror to apply it, I just can put it on and I know for a fact that it looks great 4-very cheep so i can buy many and put them everywhere 5- this is the very first lipstick that i hit pan with what I don't like about is that it is always soldout in this color everywhere near where I live so I highly recommend this product

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have 2 of these little tubes of joy. I buy lipstick because I like the colours, but rarely wear them because I dont like the reapplying faff. I was looking for a pinky nude colour, no shimmer but not a total light sucking matte either. Enter Not An Illusion, it swatched lovely on my hand, I then bought Keep Mauving for a richer plum shade. Well, after 3 months Keep Mauving has been relegated to the back of the drawer, comes out to play on low key evenings. But Not an Illusion is worn everyday. It pulls the no makeup, makeup look together for me. It is a little drying on my lips, I try to keep hydrated but... a little lip balm massaged in and allowed to soak for a min or two before applying, helps. I apply and use my finger to blend well. Everytime I leave my house it is in my bag, along with lipbalm, phone and keys.

About reviewer (104 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

HairBlack, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I have #700 Not An Illusion and it's my HG for everyday! I've used a lot of other lip balm/ chubby sticks (if you want a dupe for Clinique's "Mega Melon" this is it!) but I always go back to this one. I've been using it basically everyday for a few years now! The colour of #700 is a flattering nude pink with peach undertones (for me, it's really close to my natural lip shade--I'm an NC30 for reference) so it really helps brighten and add colour to my face. The texture of the product is really smooth, moisturizing and not sticky in any way. It doesn't really "set" either, so it doesn't turn matte and has a slight sheen finish to it (which looks really natural). I'm not the biggest fan of the drying texture of some lipsticks so I love how this product is in between a balm and lipstick. Not an overpowering scent either which I love (it's slightly vanilla-y but not sickeningly sweet). The colour payoff is amazing and really long-lasting! I'll usually wear one layer and dab it in to my lips with my fingers so that it sort of stains my lips (it lasts all day when I do this). You can work up the colour so that it becomes more opaque after a few layers. For more definition, I usually line my lips with MAC's lip liners in "Beurre" or "Subculture". Even though it's a drugstore product, I think it outperforms any other high-end brand as a tinted balm/ stain!

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love this tinted lip balm! Saw it on sale and decided to try it out and I was in for a surprise! It has the perfect balance of colour and moisture. It also applies easily which is another pro. Thought it'll apply matte at first but it applies naturally and really moistures the lips. Lovin' it!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love this lipstick! Recently I've been on a lipstick binge and bought a ton of lip pens and pencils from DS and more HE brands. I've tried NARS, Bite, Clinique, Revlon, Rimmel and Canmake chubby lip pencils and I have to say these are one of my favorites (Bite and Canmake being the other favorites.) They are soft creamy semi-pigmented lipsticks with a vanilla caramel scent that fades away very fast. Shortly after application, they set to a less shiny look that cannot last if you eat and drink all the time. I don't quite understand how some people can apply these in such a way that makes it look like a full on lipstick, it's definitely see-through (even on my pale lips) but it's way better than Clinique chubby sticks. Compared to Revlon Balm Stains and Lacquer Balms, I like these better because they don't actually stain my lips. The Revlons are so hard to remove at the end of the day and these Rimmels come off with a tissue! :D Easier removal means more time to sleep! Compared to NARS and Bite, I think these are a better deal too because the NARS satin ones can dry my lips out and the Bite creamy ones are very similar but cost way more. (I got these on sale for around 6$ each even in this horrible canadian economic situation) The only comparable ones on term of preference are the Canmake Stay on Balm Rouges but those are harder to get for most people and the colors aren't really comparable: Canmake has a lot of girly pinks to suit the asian demographic whereas Rimmel has a full range of colors that suit most skintones. Furthermore, Rimmel is actually a little more pigmented. Canmakes don't have any scent though so that's a plus for them. Since the Rimmels aren't matte I won't compare to the mattes from the other brands but I kind of wish Rimmel made matte ones too! Nars, Bite and Revlon's chubby matte pencils are way more pigmented than their counterparts but they also all dry out my lips more, Revlon being the main culprit. Bites are the best mattes for me if it wasn't for their weird obnoxious fragrance that turns into old lanolin stench within a few months. I have 6 different colors and pigmentation vary depending on the colors; the rule of thumb is "darker the color, higher the pigmentation" although do keep in mind that since the colors are darker, the same amount of pigments in a lipstick will appear more pigmented. Here are the colors I own in increasing pigmentation order: 700 Not an Illusion (peachy nude), 200 Keep it Mauving (rosey mauve), 600 On Fire (reddish coral), 500 The Redder the Better (bright red) with its own backup because it's just awesome, 220 Rumor Has It (dark warm fuchsia), 300 Viva Violet (dark cool magenta). These lipsticks, just like all Revlon chubby pencil formulas, tend to oxidize on me into a darker pinkier shade about 30 minutes after application. The same thing happens with YSL lip lacquers and it's L'oreal counterpart as well. The Bite/NARS/Canmake pens don't do that on me and stay their true color until I take them off. I don't know how the other colors look on me a long time after applying but Rimmel 200 Keep it Mauving turns more cool tone and reddish on me, which I find very lovely especially if it's cold and gray outside.

About reviewer (185 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGray


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have this in Make me Blush, a pretty, cool pink shade, which I think is flattering on my pale (NW15) skin. This chubby stick style lip crayon applies smoothly and evenly, feels nice on lips, and has a somewhat glossy finish with no glitter or shimmer. Wears off after 3-4 hours, leaving lips feeling a little dry, but not parched. It has a bit of a sweet vanilla smell to it which you don't notice once it is applied. I really crayon-style lip products, and in my opinion this is one of the best at the drug store, next to L'Oreal Glossy Balm. I am torn about repurchasing as I have a few of this type of product, but lean towards yes because I really like the colour.

About reviewer (70 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

These have a nice vanillary scent. They can be really sheer if you apply a bit to the centre of your lips then spread it round or very rich in colour is you swipe the whole thing across your lips. The red one can go from giving you a nice natural looking tint to a full on bold red lip. They are nice and moisturizing, do feel like a balm but obviously this means that their staying power is not fantastic but i think its pretty good for what they are. they have a slight shine to them and I think they are really great.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I have the colour Keep Mauving and it looks like a nude lip colour on me. Very natural. Smells like chocolate! Pigmented and lasts long; even after it wears off it looks like a pretty, natural stain. I use this on my cheeks and blend out with my fingers for a lovely flush. I love using it on my cheeks and lips so they match

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBrown