3.4

Created with Sketch.
19 reviews
53%
would repurchase
4.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I did like ML Honey Mud which she no longer produces or sells because of some bacterial problems. I have used the Clean Dirt and it's mostly baking soda with some cocoa and other grains. This mask is sort of like that, very dirty looking, as I is clay, etc, charcoal. You have to throw away your washcloth or use an old one or rag as this will stain it. It gets all over the sink, too. So clean well afterwards. I didn't see any results as with most any mask, cheap or expensive. It gave me bumps and zits on my chin--I never get pimples (am in my late 40s with nice skin). Burns a little bit (I think it's the cayenne or some kind of pepper.) I just wish the company would research their ingredients more. Overpriced, messy muck.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther



1.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

Overpriced for the ingredients. I think the main ingredient doing the heavy lifting in this formula is the vitamin c.... which, yes, comes in a powder form. Any vitamin c will brighten the skin and so on. The first time I used this, i think my complexion was nice afterwards. The subsequent times i used it, i think it broke me out. FYI I've never kept this on for the recommended 30 or 40 minutes bexause my skin is on the sensitive side. I recommend always patch testing and starting below the recommended times, working your way up. PROS - will last you a long time - I dont think this has an expiry date - clears my skin....sometimes. Not always. I turn to this when I'm desperate for a fix, hoping it'll work,but knowing I'm taking a gamble CONS - overpriced - bad smell - sometimes it breaks me out, sometimes it clears my skin. Inconsistent results. - can get messy when mixing it, but not that bad - can get hot/make your skin hot when applied. Apparently this is normal. I don't leave it on according to instructions (20+ minutes) because I have sensitive skin. IDEAL USE I think the ideal use for this would be as a spot-treatment mask. To only put on on problem areas/pimples and not to the rest of the face ***EDIT. Downgrading from 3 to 1 star Ive used this a few more times since my initial review and it has wreaked havoc on my sensitive skin, making it burn (even after I've taken it off) and leaving it very red, inflammed, unhappy and has broken me out. Don't recommend for sensitive skin

About reviewer (154 reviews)

Age

SkinOther, Fair, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Overpriced clays and irritants all in an insanely expensive, nice package! Btw baking soda is a disaster for the skin, it will destroy the acid mantle barrier as the pH is way outside the range the skin tolerates.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Amazing stuff. I only use it on spots and areas which tend to be spotty during hormonal periods. And it really calm down those spots. Some really small ones almost always disappear the following day. I never use it alone cos I have sensitive skin and would always mix it with the honey mud. The two combinations work like a gem. Would definitely repurchase but this stuff seem to be able to last me for a very long time to come.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I stumbled upon May Lindstrom products and I am hooked. Yes, the price point is high, but you only have one face! I love the idea of getting facials but to be honest I never saw any lasting results. So I justify the price by saying to myself that it costs less than a facial for the jar and I can give myself many facials instead! I have very combination skin - sometimes oily, dry, acne prone and sensitive - yay me! This masque has really helped balance my skin. I have been using it for about 8 months now and I have way fewer breakouts. I typically use it once a week. I mix it with either just water or a combo of water and May Lindstrom's Honey Mud, then I brush it on my face and leave for about 40 minutes. The texture is so cool! It's kind of foamy and whipped. After I've removed it my skin feels amazing - it looks so clear and while it feels like it needs some moisturizer, it's not the usual tight, dry feeling I get from other clay masques. I spray some toner on after and apply May Lindstrom Blue Cocoon or Kiehl's Midnight Recovery. The packaging of all May's products are so gorgeous and lux. This one has been a total game changer for me!

About reviewer (145 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

My skin: Extremely oily and dehydrated. Large congested pores, lots of redness. All natural/organic ingredients. Basically clay and ingredients we all have in our kitchen: cinnamon, turmeric, nutmeg, baking soda, etc. It does clean pores and removes excess oil, but $90 per jar is too expensive. You can get other clay products equally effective for about $10. EDIT: 3/17/17 I decided to make my own version of this mask, and I got the exact same results. You can watch my quick demo here: <object onclick="ga('send', {hitType: 'event',eventCategory: 'Ajax Interaction',eventAction: 'PlayVideo',eventLabel: ''});" width="360" height="320"><param name="movie" value="https://www.youtube.com/v/n3FTG0ov8Dk"><param name="wmode" value="transparent"><embed src="https://www.youtube.com/v/n3FTG0ov8Dk" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="360" height="320"></object>

About reviewer (74 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Oily, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Obviously, I wanted to love this product. I read pretty good reviews, and the problem solver seemed to be the right fit for my skin, but after only ten minutes, I removed the mask and revealed red skin, literally covered in tiny little bumps. I know that everyone says, &quot;oh this is a natural purge&quot; but that is BS in my option. I literally NEVER get a single pimple, and just have a few noticeable pores on my nose. I have always been happy with my skin, and don't wear much makeup, but after the problem solver, I am extra sensitive and still have weird bumps and ruddy texture (almost a week later). The only thing that made a difference was neosporin. Ugh... what a horrible experience. I am going back to Tata Harper.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

Beautiful Bottles...Well I was all about the hype of these products, they are stunning heavy bottles with large amounts. I feel like the ingredients simply don't add up to the cost, you can make this stuff in your kitchen. I got the Problem Solver, Clean Dirt, and Blue Cacoon…I will say these all smell really good and are very pretty. It's a hard to justify the price... It's fancy packaged DIY product : Clay, baking soda, nutmeg, clove, and a bunch of other spices you have in your kitchen. The Problem Solver smells good, but irritated my-skin so bad. I don't think it's suited for all skin.I broke out like no bodys business and felt super dryed out. The Clean Dirt again smells nice, but it's basicly baking soda and clay you can totally make it and it works the same. Overall I would say it's well packaged, but would not repurchase.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I bought this after first watching Tati's review on youtube - mostly attracted to it because of the natural ingredients listed. It promises to purify and tighten pores, extinguish inflammation &amp; fight and heal blemishes, among other things. Which was great news for me because it sounds exactly like what my skin needed. The very first time after using it, my skin had a nice flush and it was smoother and people noticed it too, so I was really happy about that. However, now that I've been using this mask once a week religiously for the past 3-4 months, the effects seem to have gone away. I noted that it didn't do anything for any of my existing blemishes, nor did it help with inflammation. On the contrary, the mask feels like you're rubbing chilli paste all over your face, and I worried that it would irritate my skin even more (so far it hasn't). I don't have sensitive skin but this thing burns. The burning feeling slowly goes away once it starts drying though. I don't know if it actually tightened or cleaned the pores out because I extract my whiteheads/ blackheads weekly myself. What I like is that it exfoliates; after the mask dries and you start washing it off, there are gritty bits that you can rub over your face before thoroughly cleaning off - It washes off like a dream, unlike other clay masks I've ever used. I find that it works the best for me when I add serum into the mixture, the result was that my skin was smoother afterwards. As for the price I think it's pretty reasonable because the tub has so much product in it and I only needed about a teaspoon and a half of the powder each time to cover my entire face. I feel like it can last up to a year or more! It's not a fantastic product and I won't be repurchasing but it was a nice experience overall. The process of preparing the mask itself is pretty relaxing to me, so till I find a real problem solver, I'll float along with this one.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This mask is divine! It smells like gingerbread cookies, and the warming spices have not irritated my skin. I apply it once per week after I remove my make up. I use 1/2 T of the mask and an equal amount of water. I apply the mask to my face using a cheap foundation brush. I wash it off after 45 minutes, and the removal is significantly easier than my Aztec Clay mask. This mask cleans all the gunk out of my pores and minimizes my sebaceous filaments on my nose. I love applying my Vitner's Daughter serum after the problem solver. My skin drinks it up! The packaging is beautiful, and I really enjoy using this product.

About reviewer (222 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesBlue