3.7

Created with Sketch.
36 reviews
55%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Read that this foundation came with skincare benefits, and also gave a glowy look, so I gave it a try. Bought 574 which I thought was too light for my NW35 but it turned out fine. Somehow it adjusted. Be careful to use this sparingly. A little goes a long way. I was really surprised that there was no transfer when I blotted with a tissue a few hours later. This foundation lasts the whole day for me, and looks better when I use a primer under it. Although this one is a little more expensive compared to similar brands, it is worth the money. It spreads well and looks natural on me. It gives me that 'my skin but better' look. I've loved Estee Lauder Double wear for years, and have tried both the regular and light version. Lightbulb has a consistency that is a tad lighter than Estee Lauder (light), but delivers a similar finish and with a bit of a healthy glow. My new HG :)

About reviewer (58 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlack



3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Medium coverage, creamy rich texture foundation...the first time i tried it i hated it, you have to use very little amount, this one will slip and slide on your skin if you use too much (i used a whole pump... half a pump is enough to cover my whole face..which makes it quite sparing) I find the sponge pretty useless, its meant to be used with the foundation and apparently its supposed to make your face glow and "light up like a lightbulb"...didnt like it at all, the sponge is stiff and sucks up all the product without delivering any to the skin Good thing is that it doesnt accentuate dry patches and textury skin...Not exactly long lasting, if this could withstand my oily skin and last nicely thoughout the day I would definitely repurchase

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Okay first of all I thought this foundation was kinda underrated. I was a bit sceptical about this foundie because I heard that this foundation is suitable for dry skin, I do have dry skin but I live in a humid and hot city so I'm not loving anything that is not sweat proof. I used this and holy moly. My skin never looked that glowing,covered, and so perfectly smooth in my history of using foundation. I applied it with morphe m439 brush first and smooth it out with real technique sponge. Coverage wise is medium-high. The texture is not runny, a little bit dense but not hard to blend it out since it was very smooth. For reference I use nc30-35 and my shade is 764 or 754 (darker) when I got tanned. I thought a glowing effect foundation will not last but man I was wrong. I touched my face with tissue and nothing was there! ( the same that I got with my Estee Lauder foundation). Hey I love my Estee Lauder but even though I moisturized my skin already it still could be a little bit dry on my face. There was no transfer at all, used it around 8 hours and I was sweating. If you looking for non oily dewy look,coverage, and good longevity you should try this ladies! Couldn't believe that I would like this better than ELDW!

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Love the pump and sponge that come with the foundation. My shade is medium beige (I am nc30 for Mac). The foundation really goes very light and gives a dewy finish when applied with a sponge. Follow up with a sheer / glowy face powder like Dior nude air to enhance / maintain the glowy finish. The foundation is quite expensive (SGD 75), more so than Lancôme or Dior. But it's a great foundation if you have dry skin and wants a dewy finish

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlack


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

First of all I have to say I love the packaging, it comes with a pump and this bulb like sponge. Price wise is okay (about 50SGD if I could remember correctly) since I am willing to pay the amount in hope that I have finally found the perfect foundation, after reading reviews. My skin is really sensitive, so I have to put a decent amount of serum/moisturiser on different parts of my face (my mouth area can be really dry and only my nose, temple and cheek it tends to be really oily. After applying this foundation good thing is that I have no side effects from it (itchiness or anything) but it doesn't do well in terms of my appearance. It could be my amateur make up skills or the humid weather in Singapore but I always look cakey on my face or I look like my face is going to melt. I tried so many different ways to use this foundation (less foundation, maybe applying more moisturiser, etc) but it just doesn't seem to work :/ Unfortunately gonna say this product is a no for me :(

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Other

EyesBlack


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

First of all let me say that this order took FOREVER to be delivered. Second, I wish I would have read more reviews before purchasing. This stuff makes you look like an alien...no, seriously ALIEN! It settles heavy in your pours, making them stand out even more, and constant attention has to be made in order to keep your face from looking like it's a disco ball. For the price, it should have some kind of endurance, but sadly, no. I did not experience the sloughing effect some reviewers had, but overall this is an overpriced product for kids. I have rosacia and oily skin, and this aggravated both conditions. I have literally tried EVERYTHING, form Bobbi Brown, Yves St. Laurent, Clinique, Lancome, Mac, (the list goes on and on!), and the only beauty products that I have found that are worth their salt are made by Merle Norman. Absolutely love their foundations, eyebrow & eyeliners and lipsticks. I like the fact that you don't have to drive 25 miles to find a location, and for me to be able to try out the products is a must! Sorry Shu, it's not you.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

As of this moment this is hands down my favourite and HG foundation. The coverage is very good and it blends very well to create an almost invisible finish, making my skin look very smooth. Also I find the foundation to my aptly named because I have not found another foundation that makes me glow and look bright the way this one does. If I wear it I tend to get compliments on my skin. This tends to look best if you use the sponge provided. I have also used a beautyblender sponge with great success. Plus, it lasts all day for me. The only problem with this foundation is that it looks very shiny after a while and I find myself having to blot or dust with powder after a few hours. If used with a mattifying primer it's much better but still looks shiny especially in hot weather. For this reason I gave it 4 lippies instead of 5. I'll be watching out to see if Shu Uemura makes an oil-free version of this.

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I love this foundation it is so perfect for my dry skin, it has great coverage and feels so nice on my skin, not cakey at all ( I've had a problem with cakeyness with lots of other foundations) if you like matte this isn't for you this is very dewy and gives a gorgeous glow and the little blender that comes with it is great too.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Both Shu's Lighbulb Powder Foundation and Lightbulb Loose Powder are practically HG products for me, but this Lightbulb Foundation I absolutely do NOT like at all. I love the pump, I love that they have some great yellow undertone shades, and I even love how this foundation looks when first applied. However, nothing else about this foundation works for me after that. It has pretty good medium coverage and makes my face look even and luminous when first applied, but the finish is a bit sticky and even after setting it with loose powder, it just seems to sit on top of the skin. A few hours into wearing it, my combo skin gets shiny and this foundation starts moving around a lot, it starts settling into lines, getting patchy and just disintegrating. Perhaps this would work better on someone with drier skin but I would definitely not recommend this to anyone who has oily or combo skin.

About reviewer (282 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love this foundation so much. It matches my skin really well and it applies very smoothly. I do not use the given sponge because it found it difficult to clean. I usually use my fingers or a brush and sometimes a beauty blender. The bottle comes with a pump and i usually use just half a pump for my whole face as I just want to even skin tone and to cover small imperfections. The coverage is medium. The formula is thicker than some other foundation (loreal true match/estee lauder make up to go) but it blends out pretty easily. When you first apply it, it can look rather shiny and thick, i usually just blot with a tissue and it looks good after that. My only gripe is, it gets me quite shiny if i wear it for 6-8 hours. Nothing that some blotting wouldn't solve but i wish that nice glowy look lasted all day. Other than that, its a great foundation and im already on my second bottle.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlack

EyesBlack