3.8

Created with Sketch.
41 reviews
58%
would repurchase
4.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is an excellent foundation. I apply it with a beauty blender or a MAC 187 brush and it blends really well both ways. It gives a natural healthy glow, without being too dewy or shiny for someone with combination skin. The coverage is light and it is buildable to medium. The staying power is very good and it does not oxidize during the day (I set it with a translucent loose powder to the T zone). I am NC20-25 skin tone with slightly yellow undertones and shade B30 is a perfect match for me. The only downside is its high price due to its skincare properties.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesBlack



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is my newly found HG foundation! Glides on very smoothly & blends well even without moisturizer, primer and only using my hands to apply it. It immediately evens my skin and provide medium coverage with 1 layer of application (1 pump only). The finish is dewy and healthy glow. There is subtle scent of the Youth Liberator Serum (I would say it's floral, powdery) that might be a turn off for some but it's still bearable and not overpowering for me. The only downside is the high price but it is worth every penny you spend.

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Miracle in the bottle... Besides from Armani's Luminious Foundation, this is the best foundation suiting my rosacea prone, aging and dry skin. It fulfills double duty as a care product including a powerful serum. It looks naturally glowing. Whatelse could ask for... By the way, due to the high price, I am using it for special occasions...

About reviewer (205 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

i bought into the youtube hype... again. Medium coverage but didn't spread well. I thought I could apply it with fingers but I found best to use a BB. I made myself a nice little combination after a while to help make it work: a dollop of foundation + a bit of MUFE camouflage concealer + half drop of grape seed oil and applying it with the BB. I loved it when I started applying it this way, however it's very expensive (for my pocket) and I found cheaper foundations that work better.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

YSL once again does not disappoint!! I was a huge fan of the touche eclat foundation as I always received compliments on my skin wearing it. However, the fact that it didn't last more than 3-4 hours on my combination skin was a major turn off. I am constantly living in a place with a constant autumn/winter climate and this is absolutely perfect. The best thing about this product is the glow it offers, without being too dewy or shiny. I don't really concern about coverage but I would say this provides a solid medium. To me it's like an upgrade from the touche eclat, that offers a stronger lasting power without compromising the light. It is a little bit heavier than what I would expect from a serum foundation, but it is not caky at all and is definitely still on the natural side among all bases. I feel very put together with my glowing complexion, that I believe it has reached a HG status. It is very pricey, but you get what you paid for. I would rather invest slightly more on the perfect base than paying a slightly lower price for other high end foundations. I have tried foundations from Chanel, NARS, Shiseido, Make Up For Ever, Armani, Bobbi Brown, Korean high end and drugstore brands, drugstore brands over the past 6 years and this officially beat them all. The downsides are that it is fragranced which is very pointless, and the fact that it contains SPF20 that I can't wear on important occasions. SPF20 protection doesn't seems to be enough to protect the skin while will definitely be enough to cause flashbacks. Edited to 3 lippies: My skin can no longer stand that fragrance

About reviewer (37 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Nice colour for my fair skin, foundation smells nice and has a dewy apperance. But i found that the foundation didnt stay put, my eye makeup would now smudge when it was not able to be smudged, I also felt like it was slightly irritating my skin, and by the end of the day I wanted it off. It also is only a light foundation, it didn't cover spots at all,

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I actually did run out of this foundation and I want to buy it again, but I'm transitioning all my makeup to cruelty free. It's too bad YSL tests on animals, because this foundation was incredible. First of all, the packaging is gorgeous . . .the glass bottle is so elegant and classy! I really loved the scent, so fancy! It looked great and lasted all day, with a light to medium dewy coverage. I don't know that I can say it offered any noticeable skincare benefits, but it's a fabulous foundation (if you can get over the price and animal testing).

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Dry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This is my HG foundation along with Nars tinted moisturiser. I have been using this foundation for a year now and I think it's long enough to tell you what I feel about this foundation. First of all, I'm Asian with NC20-25 skin colour. I have yellow undertone, and shade B30 is a perfect match for my skin. The texture of this foundation is creamy, and easy to blend. I usually use BB to blend for everyday wear, or if I want more coverage I will use Sigma 80 kabuki brush or Chanel foundation brush. It provides enough coverage for me since I don't have acne scars, only some redness around my right cheek and forehead, along with a slight discolouration around my chin area. It covers my redness pretty good, and I ended up only using concealer under my eyes. I'd say the coverage is medium to full. The finish is more to dewy side but not too shiny. Depending on my skin condition, this foundation never really oxidized on my skin, except during a really humid day, it'll get slightly oxidized but nothing too crazy. My skin does get oily throughout the day esp T zone area, but I think it's normal. The staying power of this foundation is pretty good (I use Nars translucent powder to set the foundation), but, I never wear my foundation more than 8 hours. But during that 8 hours, it stays and I only need to blot a bit with blotting tissues. This foundation always makes my skin looks incredibly good. It looks natural and it actually brightens up my skin. And because it's a perfect match for my skin, I look like wearing nothing. It's pricey, but honestly I think it's worth every penny. One bottle for me lasts a pretty long time. My suggestion is, if you want to try this foundation, get the sample either from the store or Sephora first before comitted to a full size.

About reviewer (50 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I tried this recently on my combination skin. I usually use loreal infallible or bare minerals foundation but fancied a change and got a trial bottle of this. The packaging is lovely, but the price is on the expensive side. The foundation applies really well, good colour match for my fair/medium skin. I have redness in my cheeks which it covered pretty nicely. This felt very moisturising and evened out my complexion very nicely. I would say it's probably not for people that want a full coverage as there is a degree of sheer/dewiness left behind. You can build on the coverage somewhat but it is never full coverage. It lasted pretty well and I was generally pleased with this product. For the price I don't think I would buy again as there are cheaper products that do as good a job, however it's definitely worth trialling if you don't mind a sheer/medium cover. I just don't think it's worth the money, however it might be for others.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

My overall experience with this foundation was - meh. I actually purchased it three times, continuously because I loved it so much at first. However, last winter when I hit the lightest my skin gets throughout the year, the shade that actually matched my skin was terrible. I looked ghostly. The next shade darker was much too dark. It was unfortunate. I still have almost the entire bottle of very light YSL foundation sitting in my cabinet :( The other con is the smell. Oh my goodness, I used this when I was pregnant & I thought it was just morning sickness that was going on. Months after I had my baby, I tried to use this foundation again & the scent was overwhelming. Coupled with the awful, ghostly appearance it gave my skin...the honeymoon was over.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel