Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick - Rapture

Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick - Rapture
Revolution Lipstick - Rapture Revolution Lipstick - Rapture

4.6

21 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
Urban Decay is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Oh how I wish I could repurchase this beautiful lipstick but my review is for the original "Rapture" in the "Revolution" formula, which has been discontinued. The packaging of these lipsticks was luxurious with a solid heft; the new ones (rebranded as "Vice") are plastic and not nearly as nice. I purchased "Rapture" blush from UD and then figured "Why not get the lipstick as well?" It's a very flattering pink-leaning plum shade and feels great on the lips and wears really well, like most of that wonderful "Revolution" line and I've not experienced any bleeding into lip lines with this one, even without a lip liner. I've not tried the newer Vice lipsticks yet but I'm sad that the Revolution ones were phased out (I bet they were a lot more costly to make because of the better quality packaging that was also, IMO, considerably more elegant).

4 of 4 people found this helpful.



on 5/2/2016 11:06:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I enjoy Rapture a lot because it lies somewhere between a statement lip and an everyday lip. On me (dark hair/eyes, medium olive skin), it reads as a midtone plum with hint of dustiness. It's on trend while still being very flattering, and can be worn at work and into nighttime activities with equal amounts of appropriateness and edge. The formula is great, very low-maintenance, creamy, long(er) wearing, wears off evenly, isn't too drying, doesn't settle into lines or flakes. Fades into a nice stain. I have 6 of the Revolution lipsticks and they're some of my faves, but I do wish they had a pointy bullet. Their flat shape isn't the easiest to apply.

That being said, these are being discontinued (the sheers and mattes too) and are half off at a lot of retailers right now if you want to stock up...I highly recommend Bang (orange-red), Rush (rose-mauve), and Rapture!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 12/20/2015 12:02:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a beautiful plummy shade that I liked a lot when I spied it in Ulta. I knew that this formula is very popular on the makeup board and so is this color so I had to take the chance and buy it. I'm in my 50s and try not to wear dark lipstick anymore because it makes my lips look thinner. However, this is a medium shade so I thought it would probably be OK. I did line my lips (Dior Sparkling Beige) before I applied this lipstick so that it wouldn't feather. I ran my errands and was shocked to discover an hour later that my lips looked like a clown. This lipstick had totally migrated into every fine line around my mouth and it looked just awful. I decided to try something else, so the next time I used it I tried the Urban Decay clear lip pencil (Ozone) before again lining my lips with the Dior pencil. Unfortunately, this lipstick did the exact same thing and feathered terribly. I do love the color but the formula doesn't have enough wax and is therefore too creamy for me. I can't have lipstick that seeps into every fine line so I returned this one to Ulta with regret. I'm still searching for a similar shade but in a formula that is a bit drier. My favorite lipsticks are Nars, Chanel Rough Allure and Guerlain so I think I'll stick with one of those. This experiment was an epic fail. If this UD lipstick doesn't work when used with an UD pencil, then there's truly no hope. I definitely don't recommend this formula if you have lines around your lips. Right now, I'm loving Nars Velvet Matte lip pencil in Bettina, which is my go to mlbb color. It's perfect for my coloring and lasts for hours with no feathering. I sometimes layer it with the satin pencil in Rukigien for a little extra oomph. I'm disappointed this UD lipstick didn't work out because the color is perfect for the fall and winter. Ah well, my search continues.


on 11/7/2015 3:42:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a beautiful shade and formula that works well with my fair skin.


on 8/14/2015 12:26:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'm not impressed with this lipstick. Yes, it's creamy and soft on the lips, but it feathers into every fine line 15 minutes after I apply it. This is a nice rosy color, which is what I was looking for, but it's worthless to me because of the feathering. I recently purchased an UD Ozone lip pencil, which is a clear lip liner, and maybe that will make a difference in the lipstick's performance. I also don't like the actual lipstick bullet. I prefer a pointier shape. The flat shape doesn't make it easy to apply the lipstick to my cupid's bow and it's somewhat messy generally. It would work better if I used a lip brush but that's an extra step, which doesn't make me happy. I would have to carry the lip brush in my makeup case and, trust me, there's no room, lol! I can't imagine why a cosmetics company would intentionally shape a lipstick that way. It makes no earthly sense! All in all, I'm relegating this lipstick to the makeup drawer in my bathroom, where all the items I don't use go to die. Unfortunately, no one wants a used lipstick. I should probably return it to Ulta, huh? I do like the color, which is perfect for my complexion, a nice medium rosy shade, but I just can't get over the feathering. I had it on for maybe 30 minutes, during which time I attended a meeting. But by the time the meeting was over and I checked in the mirror, my lips looked like clown lips. I was mortified!! i definitely don't recommend this product and won't ever purchase an UD lipstick again.


on 6/21/2015 4:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely adore this color. It felt like a little mix of a lot the different color types out there. I felt this lipstick can do both a daytime and nighttime look. I bought this and the sheer version and love both!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I adore this lipstick. This was the second in the line that I bought (after Manic, and I'm testing Naked today--see separate reviews). Yes, at $22 (at Ulta), these are spendy, but oh oh oh, I think they're worth it.

As others have said, Rapture is a pretty medium-dark mauve tone (I hate mauve, but this is not THAT mauve). It definitely pulls to the cooler side of the spectrum. It's a good day color, but could easily do evening duty too. It goes on so smoothly, with super pigmentation. You do not need to reapply often but may, like me, find yourself wanting to because it just feels so lovely going on. It wears off evenly (and slowly), and leaves something of a stain behind.

I don't notice any smell to these lipsticks, but that usually doesn't both me much anyway. I love love love the heft of the tube. It feels like you're holding something solid. The lid slips off easily, and almost feels like it pulls itself back on when you're done.

While all of the colors are gorgeous, I'm betting that Rapture is going to be one of the colors that stays around longest, or is most-sold. The color would suit a wide range of complexions, and lots of ages (although I'm doubting the very young would want to wear this).

I will definitely repurchase. This may actually reach desert-island status and I NEVER feel that way about lipstick. Never.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 5/22/2015 1:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely love this product. I have a number of Urban Decay's Revolution lipsticks and this is one of my favorites. It's a relatively neutral color in the sense that it's not one of the bold ones. It's a very nice dark pink and does not have an unnatural look to it. It's very easy to apply, keeps my lips moisturized, and has a cool case. It has pretty good lasting time without having to reapply and even through eating I generally only have to do small touch ups. The only complaint that I really have is the cost as one tube at Sephora is $22.


on 3/9/2015 6:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this lipstick because it was similar to swatches pf Kat Von D Lolita and Cathedral studded lipsticks (both of which were sold out). Although the swatches looked one way this lip color looks completely different on me than i thought. I assumed it would be a plummy brown but it looks like a mlbb pink on my lips! I'm NC50ish and I have two toned lips. It has just enough brown and pink in it to balance my natural coloring and it is opaque so my lips don't show through. When I first apply it, it looks purple but after a few minutes it softens to a natural pink for my skin tone. I definitely recommend woc try it.

The texture is smooth and creamy. The finish is lustre/glossy. Similar to a Mac Sheen Supreme. It feels like a lip balm going on, and it hugs and adheres to lips well. It will smooth out any roughness as long as you're wearing a natural color. It does transfer a but, but its not bad and it wears as long as a lipstick the is texture tends to (about 4 hours without eating.) I live and die by a matte lipstick but I'm so glad I tried this out. The formula definitely rivals Nars Audacious as far as comfortable feel and smooth texture for $10 less. I wish there were more colors that appealed to me :/

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 12/18/2014 9:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Silver, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I can't believe how much I love this color and this lipstick! I generally go for more neutral shades (wear Rush from same line quite a bit), and don't often go for darker colors. But, this color is so beautiful, very flattering to my light, cool coloring, green eyes and silver streaked hair. The texture is somewhere between a lipstick and a balm, decent staying power and beautiful finish. My new favorite winter color, looks great with all my darker winter clothes. I have already re-purchased to have a spare to keep at work. Like Rush and Fiend too, but Rapture is definitely my favorite!

3 of 3 people found this helpful.

Back to Top