4.5

Created with Sketch.
22 reviews
86%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

A mood.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

First off, I am a huge fan of duochrome nail polishes. Essie's For the Twill of It is one of my favorites. For the longest time, I put off buying this one due to the price. However, once I finally gave in and bought it, I keep finding myself coming back to it throughout the year. In outdoor lighting, I find that it looks mostly purple with a greenish-blue cast to it. Just when I think it couldn't get any prettier, I go to harsh fluorescent lighting and it is just as captivating but with more depth as the peacock feather shades look even darker and more complex. Truly oilslick and it is divine! Yet hard to explain. In my dim bedroom lighting, interestingly, it looks mostly like gun metal dark silver. I think shape shifter would have been a more appropriate name for this polish. I basically can't stop staring at my nails at that point. The application is even and beautiful. It dries quickly and the brush is the perfect size to make this any easy one to apply. It takes about three coats to get it to be completely solid in color. After a little experimentation, I found that layering this shade over Sinful Color's Mauvelous, makes it last longer and doesn't seem to change the color of this. LOOOOOVE this one. Will buy again and again.

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Olive, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Love this duochrome but until Essie's prices come down, this will probably be my last Essie polish purchase. For the $9, I'm just not impressed with the brush or formula. I know I like Sally Hansen and Wet n Wild's formulas so much better for much less. I do like the unique colors Essie sometimes has (like this one) but there are dupes. I found the first coat of this shade to go on nice and light, but seemed to want to dry extremely quickly. So much that after one swipe, i almost couldnt paint over a prior area to get the side of the nail, it almost wanted to smudge the polish off. Very strange. Second coat made some areas of my nails look globby. I find that Essie's polishes are either thin/watery or strangely thick and globby. Really pretty color, but on my nails it almost pulls more gunmetal. I can still see the duo but I think the globbyish second coat made it pull too dark. Might be a one coat only polish for me. Essie's Twill Seeker in the gel couture line is similar to this (in swatches it looks really close) but now that I have this one, I prefer Twill Seeker. Its a more purple plum with a light green duo vs. this one pulls more gray. I may debate buying a SH plum color (Clean Slate) and paint one coat of this over to duplicate Twill Seeker without spending the $11+ Again, probably my last Essie. I bought a SH nail polish at the same time as this one and the application and formula was 10x better for $3 less.

About reviewer (428 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Such a gorgeous metallic duochrome!! I'm in love!

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Love this alien chic sparkly mud nail polish so much. It reminds me of outer space and also an oil slick and a mood ring.

About reviewer (53 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesGray


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

Beautiful duochrome polish with slight shimmer. The colors reflected include green, purple, brown and in some lights even black. I also see some red shimmer in certain lights. I think this is unique and a very good duochrome. It is a bit runny so you will need to be careful with your application. The texture is nice and smooth. My first coat was quite streaky but the second coat offered full coverage for me. At this point I am not sure about the wear but I will update after a couple of days. Typically I get good wear with Essie, but due to the holiday I will be doing more cooking including lots of chopping as well as some additional cleaning, so that will without a doubt change my wear experience. Nothing unique about the packaging on this one. Typical Essie square bottle with a standard nail polish brush. I got this at Marshall's for around $3.99 which is a good price for Essie. I would repurchase should I ever use the whole bottle. As I mentioned, I find this polish one of the better duochromes I have used, but I did reduce it by a lippie due to the runny formula. UPDATE 11/27/2015 - I got great wear from this polish. After having my hands in and out of water for hours, chopping, peeling, cooking & cleaning I had one chip on my right thumb. I patched that up and the rest of the mani is still going strong. Definitely good & impressive wear with this one.

About reviewer (817 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This is a great metallic polish, with lavender and silverish green hues. It's really unique but also not too in your face, if that makes sense. This looks amazing on stiletto and coffin shaped nails (not too over-barring, just right), and ditto for the toes (gives a cute pop, esp. with open toe shoes or sandals). Actually this is one of the few metallics that look good on both short and long nails IMO. I do feel it takes a bit to build it up but hey, that's not a huge biggie, given the price. I have had a few CC polishes over the years very similar to this one at a much higher price point and in which are now all discontinued, so this is an excellent alternative to those for me.

About reviewer (497 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

One of my favorite fall/winter polishes! PROS: -color is a beautiful duo chrome purple/green/brown -easy to apply, not streaky at all -long wearing -dries quickly CONS: -can chip, it's not life proof, but most nail polishes aren't

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This is a very pretty color. The application isn't too bad. It's a bit thin. I need three coats to make it completely opaque. Chipping isn't bad. It lasts about four days.

About reviewer (47 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairBlack, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

- super cool colour, holographic - nice shaped brush - one coat is enough

About reviewer (2 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown