4.2

Created with Sketch.
9 reviews
89%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I bought this in "Midnight in Paris". The color when I swatched on my hand was a beautiful dark blue with some hints of green shimmer. I like the texture of this in that you can easily glide it on or smudge it out. If you have oily eyelids this will go everywhere so you need to prime. This does enhance my dark brown/ black eyes but apart from that I'm not exceptionally blown away by the color. I'm one to finish things so I will finish this but will probably try to find another color to test. The 4 lippies is really for the texture and pigment of the liner.

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I'm not a traditional eyeliner person, never even was when I was younger.. I prefer a more natural look, and when I don't want to use a metallic shadow to line my lower lid, I reach for these! I have a few shades, and prefer the more copper/bronzy type , or the Berry to lightly line my lower lid..these are super smooth, and don't budge once in place. Definitely recommend.

About reviewer (239 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This eyeliner is a gorgeous colour - it's a medium depth warm purple with lots and lots of shimmer. It looks great on my brown eyes but also imagine this would look awesome on green eyes. It can be smudged into a sheer wash or layered up (you need two layers to make it opaque). My criticism is in the delivery - it's a twist up gel-type eyeliner and so you really can never get it into a sharp point. It has a little sharpener, but as soon as you do half a swipe it goes down into a flat nub because the formula is so soft. On the other hand, the formula is very soft, easy to use, never skips, blends like a dream. So. If you like a thicker or smudgier line, this is great but you're not going to get thin lines or very much precision.

About reviewer (89 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Other, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

The staying power of this series of eyeliner is amazing. This is also a really cute colour - love it against my asian skin.

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love this eyeliner! Having brown eyes (with a small hint of green) and auburn hair, there isn't a whole lot of options as far as fun colors for eye makeup goes, so I tend to stick to shimmery nudes, browns, bronzes, golds, and purples. I really love the color of this liner--it's unique but somewhat subtle once applied, and I always get lots of compliments when I wear it. It's a great color for both day and night--it's soft enough that it never looks "heavy" or garish, but it's also pretty enough that it looks great when paired with more dramatic "going out" make-up, too. I really like pairing it with pinky-coral lip colors. It stays put, doesn't fog over my contacts, and looks amazing for hours! My only complaint is that I tend to use up my highliners so fast--so they can get expensive if you use them daily. I do think they are worth the splurge though. Love!

About reviewer (103 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairRed, Straight, Coarse

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

First of all I love MJ's gel eyeliners - own two other colors. Jazz is too red for use around my already reddish eye area. I had hoped for a more blue-purple. Returned it. btw - did you discover the sharpener in the tip? Very clever but didn't figure it out for weeks!

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinVery Dry, Fair-Medium

HairSilver

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

My third eyeliner from Marc Jacobs (and probably not the last) I find this color unique and very attractive for my brown eyes. It is a purple with a hint of pink or burgundy but does not make my eyes look tired at all - just pretty. Like the other liners I have purchased in this line, this one is vibrant and once smudged or placed on the eye, it stays put. I can even wear these liners on my water line without any irritation and again - it stays put. He recently expanded his line and I did buy a silver/metal color as well. Much preferable to Urban Decay's 24/7 liners - the only others that come close are Nars' and MUFE. I will buy more.

About reviewer (484 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I love this color; very unique and the texture is like butter, as the previous reviewer said. It's a purplish pink with some orange or bronze. After I soften the line, it doesn't budge. I wear it above my crease line as an alternative to the usual gray.blue or brown neutral shadow. It pops out and I love it. Will try the other colors along lower lashes which is where I usually wear eyeliner, because it goes on like a dream in an uninterrupted line, almost like a gel marker. Very unique application and I can do it consistently and evenly on each eye, as I cant do with my other expensive liners. EDIT: the color is just a little too unique, a copper, and I'm not reaching for it anymore.

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Other, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I love violets and purples so this caught my eye right away. It's a medium pinky-purple, more pink than purple. The berry description is very accurate, it almost looks like a lightened cranberry shade. Shiny metallic finish with shimmer, although I can't really make out the shimmer very easily. It really reads as more of an intense metallic than anything with sparkles or shimmer. No fallout at all and once it's set it stays put all day. I tested it on the back of my hand first at Sephora before purchasing because a lot of smudging is a deal breaker for me. But after giving it a couple seconds to set I tried to scrub the color off with my fingers and it didn't budge. Once I wore it on my eyes there was no transferring or smudging. It glides on like butter, very similar in consistency to an Urban Decay liner. No waxy texture or thickness. I'm able to get an even, rich line in a single pass with no skipping. The pigmentation is impressive despite it being a lighter color too. I've worn it with some matte, light grey shadows and it stands out beautifully. The packaging has an attached sharpener on the end and the liner itself is retractable. I love retractable liners because I can be lazy about sharpening. Because this has a pinkish tone it can be tricky to wear. I like how it makes my hazel eyes pop but if I had even the slightest amount of red in my eyes from allergies or being tired this could really be unflattering and make me look all the more exhausted. But it's a gorgeous color and a nice alternative to a traditional purple eyeliner.

About reviewer (554 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel