3.8

Created with Sketch.
9 reviews
78%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

This sunscreen is "clear' because it contains so little zinc oxide which is only good for short incidental sun exposure. It's not good enough for prolonged periods under the sun, especially where I live, as the active ingredient is only 5%. Not good enough for UVA protection which is the more damaging rays even though it's advertised as "broad spectrum". Also, this is so oily and shiny that my face looked like a grease ball right after application. The oily look didn't dissipate even after the sunscreen dried. Since I already have an oily complexion, the finish is not ideal for me. It also stings slightly upon application. Not sure what ingredient is causing that. The only positive thing I can say is it doesn't feel tacky even in the high humidity where I live and it has no scent but that's about it. I picked this up as an emergency since I ran out of my HG sunscreen and it was very cheap. I only wear it around the house and for running short errands. For that purpose, it's adequate.

About reviewer (151 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I bought it for my daughter who burns no matter what sunscreen we use. It 100% worked. I applied it generously and as directed and walked away from a full day at the beach with a very happy kid who didn’t have to deal with sun burn rituals and days of peeling.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

Do not buy this product!!! Just wanted to warn all about buying this product. I bought this for my trip to Colombia and really learned my lesson about buying generic sunscreen. Not only did it not protect me from the sun, but everyone who used this product got far more burned than anyone else we were with including the people who weren't wearing sunscreen at all with similar or even lighter skintones. Now note that I'm super anal about sunscreen and always reapply every 80 minutes as instructed and after getting in the water as needed. This product somehow attracts the sun and does not at all protect your skin!!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

price is right, NO white cast! hardly any sunscreen smell or any other fragrance

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

On my dehydrated-normal acne-prone facial skin, I do experience a slight sting when I put this on but it goes away quickly. It also stings when it gets into my eyes, but in my experience that is normal for chemical/chemical-physical sunscreens. As advertised, this goes on clear even on my medium skin which is amazing in itself, and I find the initial dewy finish (it goes down later) to work well on my face. This rubs in exactly like a regular lotion (perhaps one on the thicker side) and is very easy-to-use, even under makeup. It also doesn't have a tell-tale sunscreen scent and overall I think this would be a great choice for anyone who doesn't normally like to wear sunscreen. I'm currently looking for something that doesn't sting my eyes since I like being able to put sunscreen right up to my lash lines, but I still think this is a good product that I may come back to in the future. It may not be suitable for sensitive skin due to the stinging, but CVS has a good return policy so it's worth giving a shot if you're unsure.

About reviewer (219 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This was stinging my face so badly upon application that I had to remove it immediately. I do not think this will happen to most people because I have very sensitive skin, but it may not be for everyone.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This stuff is AHMAZING. I've been struggling with acne ever since puberty, but over the past year I've gotten serious about skincare as I've had to fight breakouts AND wrinkles. I've been hunting for a good sunscreen that won't break me out ever since I decided to give retinols and AHAs a try. My criteria was: 1) A physical sunscreen (because no matter how careful I am to keep it out of my eye area, avobenzone always feels like someone rubbed hot peppers in my tear duct by the end of the day) 2) No white cast (I'm an NC50. Ashy Ghost Face is not a good look on me.) 3) Dries matte enough that I can wear it under my makeup in place of primer. 4) Didn't break me out. I'd just about given up on finding anything and was looking into Asian products when I saw this at my CVS. Dries clear? Less than 8 bucks? Yeah right. I figured if it sucked too, at least I could get my money back. This stuff totally blew me away. I slather it on and after 10 minutes it's almost completely gone. I do have to give it another light massage, but it really does dry clear. It works so well under my makeup I don't even bother with a primer anymore. Best of all no breakouts and no viciously stinging eyes. I'm about halfway through my tube, and I've already repurchased it since they were on sale BOGO50%. This is definitely my HG.

About reviewer (38 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Dark, Neutral

HairBrown, Kinky, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

The first reviewer is right about *almost* everything. I have worn this with liquid foundation (clinique perfectly real) and it did not become a mess! Amazing! I have lived 15 years with wearing a farmers hat because I had cystic acne skin that needed to be kept out of the sun to avoid further darkening and scarring. Dorky nerd with hat? That's me. Every sunscreen or skincare with sunscreen either caused mad burning or MORE zits. Lumpy zits. And I don't mean just on my face, but my arms too! You can imagine the agony that was my trip to Australia, land of thin ozone and crazy sunshine. Now that I am older, and I finally stopped breaking out except for an occasional pesky deep zit, I started using things to fade discoloration. Before, it was like, what's the point? Then I figured, look, if I'm spending money on fade things (like Clinique and Elure serums), then I had better invest in a sunscreen or all will be for naught. So there I was looking at diaper cream in the drugstore, and I saw for $7.99 a tube of CVS clear zinc. CLEAR ZINC? I had never heard of such a thing. So I bought it. Tried it on my hands. Then my arms. Then my face. It feels like regular sunscreen, but then over the next 10 minutes kind of goes clear. How? I don't know. Anyways, it's now part of my regular routine and it seems to be working out great.

About reviewer (229 reviews)

Age

SkinOther

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

Adding this as a preliminary review and for others to review : ). Picked this sunscreen up at CVS and I can't recall the exact price but I know it was pretty cheap and of course I had extra bucks so even better. Not sure if this is new or not but this is my first time seeing this product, it comes in a tube. I am PPP but breakout prone and just struggle to find a sunscreen that works on my face. I am currently trying out a few that work ok but I have given up using anything on my chin for now. I have honestly only tried this as a patch test on my arm but the results of that were good so I might try this on my cheeks next. This is a physical/chemical combo sunscreen with 4% octocrylene and 5% zinc oxide. So not the highest PPD protection but it does claim to be spf 50. I really want to protect my skin but I am at my wits end as far as a facial sunscreen goes so high ppd is on the back burner for me anyway..plus I can't justify spending any more money on $$ high ppd euro ss that just don't work for me. OK back to the CVS sunscreen. For me I see zero white cast once it sinks in. Does not feel heavy or sticky at all. A bit silcony but not as much as others I have tried. No added fragrance and the product itself smell is subtle. Will update when I venture to try on my face or to actually test it out for sun protection effectiveness on my body. UPDATE: so did get around to trying on my face. Not perfect but definitely better than many I have tried and for the price point I am rather impressed. So far no noticeable breakouts but time may tell on that. This product needs time to sink in but when it does I don't see much of a white cast. I wouldn't use the word "burn" but this did tingle slightly on my sensitive skin prob. due to it being part chemical and I also did a chemical peel yesterday so my skin is likely more sensitive than usual. It went away and I forgot about it, not irritation etc. I can still feel this on my skin all day but its not overly sticky . Someone shiny but not greasy. I used mineral makeup over this and had no problems. I think applying liquid or cream foundation over this might lead to a heavy, greasy, mess so not even gonna try.

About reviewer (211 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue