3.3

Created with Sketch.
245 reviews
55%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range
$39.00 on Macy's
Shop Now

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a day ago

I use it nightly but it Doesn't work for my very dry skin. It just sits on my face without getting absorbed so i can't use it under makeup. Very disappointed since i have the largest bottle and it's too expensive to throw away. One star is for the scent - smells very medical which i like.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesOther



4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 days ago

I tried many moisturizers and always come back to that one! It makes my skin supple, hydrated, it does a great job under makeup, I don’t break out, I just don’t want to be without it ! The pump is very convenient too...honestly, I haven’t found one better than that one..

About reviewer (290 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 days ago

First used this in the 90's when my skin was much oilier and needless to say it hated this! I don't know if its because the ingredients have changed or that my skin is more on the combination side but it loves this now! On days I don't use Body shops Vit E cream, I use this and my skin drinks it up in seconds. Theres no fragrance in here and the packaging is nice but just tricky to get the last bits of lotion out of the bottom. This doesn't give me any kind of breakout and my skin feels really good after using this, especially dry patches or chaffed areas. I would highly recommend this, just don't use the clarifying lotion by Clinique - its awful!

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium Brown

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

Edit: I upped my tretinoin use and THIS lotion is the ONLY MOISTURIZER that doesn’t sting (aside from Vaseline and squalane oil). CeraVe, ordinary natural moisturizing factors, all the ones they recommend, ANYTHING else stings right now. This gets rid of my flakes and soothes my face and makes it look normal. I use AM & PM and also reapply as needed. DDML+ is a light-textured, basic scent free and yet *very* effective moisturizing daily lotion... definitely for VERY DRY to dry skin! It would leave a greasy mess if you don’t need major moisture! The newer clear DDM jelly is just a watery hydrating serum. It has no occlusive agents to seal anything in and thenceforth needs something over it to prevent evaporation and trans epidermal water loss (TEWL). The gel version for oilier skin, also amazing - that does have silicone to seal in hydration which IMHO makes it much more suitable for normal skin (The jelly is marketed for normal skin; gel for oily. I beg to differ since I’ve done them side by side). The gel is a great moisturizer for warmer months when you’re not super dry; I love the gel for that and mostly loved and used it when I was 35 and under & not using actives in my skincare. This product though, the DDML+, is the most emollient of the 3 (not counting the DDM cream in the jar which is TOO rich for me). It is a perfect super hydrating lotion that isn’t thick. Definitely the most moisturizing I’ve found for such a light consistency. The occlusive ingredients in the lotion+ are mineral oil and petrolatum. Which are the 2 best things for sealing in moisture that you can find, thus preventing TEWL. They are not, contrary to belief, pore-clogging. DDML+ also has sodium hyaluranate, lanolin alcohol, urea, sunflower seedcake, glycerin (my skin loves all of these). The moisture lasts all day or night. They come in wonderful large sanitary pump bottles. This has no bells and whistles, no ceramides or anything etc, but I do not care about bells and whistles since I use a million different skincare products in my routine. I appreciate an amazing emollient basic daily lotion that can serve only to moisturize. And this does it well! You’ll need your own customized anti-aging products and spf to fit in there... which is great for me. It can be used between c serum and sunscreen in the morning; also after whatever steps I use at night, whether tretinoin, or an acid, etc. I like the no fragrance aspect: aside from scents being potential irritants, I don’t want something on my face and nose I’ll be smelling all day or night. It never ever stings when I go too hard on exfoliation or retinoids and get sensitive. It makes the skin glowy plump moist and youthful looking. It masks lines. It certainly doesn’t clog or accentuate pores. I think many people would find it too shiny to wear under makeup unless your skin is parched. I recommend this lotion wholeheartedly, for those not looking to multitask and in search of a generic yet effective moisturizer. For normal to oily skin, choose the gel. This lotion+ makes me shiny in a snap when I don’t need the extra moisture. I do not recommend the jelly for anyone. But if you did buy it to try it like me, use it as you would a hydrating serum, before a proper lotion (like this one I’m reviewing).

About reviewer (387 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Tan, Warm

HairOther, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

I didn't expect to like this yellow lotion (Very Dry to Dry Combination) when I got it as one of the pieces in a holiday bundle. But I do. It cured my dry, flaky and irritable face in less than a week. Here's a list of its pros and cons based on my experience: What's Great? 1. Back To Basics 2. Very Nourishing 3. Comfortable After-Feel 4. No Pimples 5. Large Bottle For A Good Price 6. Well-Designed Packaging What's Bad? 1. Not A Pleasant Smell You can read full review and product recommendation at http://bit.ly/373o3p3. I'm also comparing it with my experience in the past (in my 20s). Hope this would help someone in her beauty purchase.

About reviewer (134 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

Note: according to my pH strips this is slightly basic. If I used it long term I'd combine it w/ acidic toners or serums. So the thing about DDML is it's practically the only high end, cosmetically elegant-ish face moisturizer that uses a good amount of petrolatum/Vaseline (La Mer being another one!) - well-proven to be the world's best substance for slowing transepidermal water loss (w/out completely stopping it, which we don't want coz that stops skin barrier repair). And in combination w/ glycerin, perhaps the second-most proven moisturizer ingredient, and also a little bit of urea (though I suspect maybe not enough to really help). I seriously searched Inci decoder for a combo of these three, and this is pretty much it. It also has some lanolin alcohol, another really good well-proven and dirt cheap moisturizer. It also doesn't have any fingered-as-comedogenic ingredients (isopropyl palmitate, isopropyl myristate etc - though those studies + ratings are sketchy and should be taken w/ a huge grain of salt). It's maddening - pretty much everything in it is dirt cheap, and the product certainly isn't, but if you seriously want to deal with dry skin this is a super safe bet on paper, and my skin after 2 days of only this (sample bottle) seems to concur. Will update. So far looks & feels great, flaking greatly diminished, no pore congestion (yet). UPDATE: I've been using this 2x/day for a week now, and. haven't broken out or had any reactions. Pores are a little congested, but I'm 99% sure that's due to using my sunscreen daily, since that always happens when I do. My skin has been flaking a lot less than average. No problems with foundations over. I use about 1/4th of a milliliter for the whole face each time - I measured, it feels like a lot more than that. I don't get greasy. Conclusion is still: worth trying if you have dryness issues and can't try Essex lotion first or want something higher end-looking. Still wary of the pH tho. I'm going to try Essex lotion next, which also combines petrolatum & glycerin w/out anything objectional. Some pharmacies here in Sweden sell it compounded with different % of urea, but that gets fairly expensive (not per ounce, but for me this is mostly for my face, so in actuality). Another option is to take an ointment like Aquaphor that's petrolatum-based & has lanolin alcohol, glycerin & panthenol added (not sure how much of the latter 2 though) and mix in palm like 1:5 or even 1:10 with a lighter moisturizer - but it's an extra step each morning & night... But in the US that could be a good way to find out how your skin takes to these particular occlusives.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

Pros: +great texture(a lotion which sinks in fast) +doesn't make my skin look oily or feel very tacky +it's very light weight and doesn't feel heavy +moisturizes normal parts of my skin very well and it's moisturizing effect lasts for +10 hours on normal regions +it's scentless +comes in a very nice pump packaging +doesn't break me out when I don't pair it with too many different products Cons: -it leaves me with dry patches two hours after application -it contains color which I believe is the most unnecessary thing in a face moisturizer -it makes my skin itchy sometimes -causes one or two tiny acne sometimes -it's not cheap -it's not available where I live I had to order it online (Clinique isn't sold in my country) since I heard it's one of the best moisturizers for dry skin.I believe it may be a nice option for normal to slightly dry skin types but won't be enough for very dry ones There are a lot of things about it that I love and on top of them I can name it's light weight and lotion like consistency.most products out there for dry skin are thick/rich creams,I don't have anything against them.I like rich moisturizing creams as they form a protective,lasting film on my sensitive,dry skin but it's always nice to have a moisturizer that sinks in fast and doesn't feel heavy on skin.this was doesn't feel tacky on skin but it's slightly tacky when I touch my face after putting it on(eventhough it's yellow colored it looks white when I'm rubbling it on my skin but absorbs while rubbing and doesn't leave any white cast),it doesn't look oily even a bit(at least on my dry skin) and I love rubbing it on my face and see how my dry skin drinks it Each time I used it I had a bad reaction,sometimes a flare up started,sometimes I saw one or two red zits appearing on my face the other day so I thought it's breaking me out.I stopped using it but again reached for it after a while as I LOVED it's texture.recently I decided to give it another go(I have a 125mil bottle of it and less than one third of it was used and I hate wasting things),I decided to keep using it for a week and keep my skincare routine as simple as possible.every night I washed my skin(with Yves Rocher Nutritive Vegetal Velvety Ultra Rich Cleanser or Uriage Xemose Cleansing Soothing Oil),then sprayed organic rose water or Cuadalli Grape Water Spray,patted Clinique Even Better Essence Lotion while my skin was still wet.waited for 20mins and then rubbed Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion Plus,this way there was no bad reactions or break outs anymore and I could continue using it so probably it just didn't go well with other products I used to pair with it..it still makes my skin itchy sometimes but I can get along with that as it rarely happens and isn't followed by a more serious reaction My cheeks,forehead and nose are almost normal parts of my face and feel perfectly moisturized until 10 hours after application but around my mouth,my jaw,and 3 centimetres below my eyes which are the dry parts still feel dry within 2,3 hours.I can feel dry patches when I touch that parts and they never feel so dry a few hours after using any of my other moisturizers even Yves Rocher Hydra Végétal Gel Cream which isn't marketed for dry skin,or St.Ives Collagen Moisturizing Cream which is lightweight(and a cheapie),I have to reapply it 5 times or more in a day on my dry patches and considering that it's summer now and my skin isn't in it's driest mode makes me decide not to repurchase it.but I can't say that firmly.if I finish this bottle without any breakouts I may repurchase it at some point and find something more moisturizing to pair with it.right now I sometimes put La Roche Possy Lipikar Baume only on my dry patches half an hour after applying DDML+ and they seem to go well together About using it as a makeup base,I tried twice and each time it made my foundation peel and ball up but now that I saw in other reviews that so many people love it as a pre foundation moisturizer I'm going to try it again.maybe I had used a lot of it or hadn't wait enough for it to completely absorb in my previous attempts.I will add to report the result All in all I like it and for me it's much better than Moisture Surge Gel Cream (I also loved that ones texture but it wasn't able to keep my skin hydrated for even an hour and left my skin drier than usual) but I'm un decided yet that if I'd repurchase it or not but I'm sure there are many better choices for normal to dry skin out there with better moisturizing effect and much cheaper(to name one,Bioderma Atoderm Creme,the one that comes in a white bottle with blue pump,I find it better in literally every single aspect just that it's consistency is very slightly thicker/more on cream side less on lotion side than this one),If I could I'd give it 3.5 not 4

About reviewer (202 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I enjoy using this as a serum and first step in my nightly skincare routine. What I do is cleanse my skin, apply this, then cream. It works really well. This is also great as a primer and final step in the AM. I call this my “final step” moisturizer or my first step. It adds extra oil that seals everything in or a starter to get lipids in the skin. It’s a sealing moisturizer basically. This is also great for anyone who doesn’t like the heavy feel. It’s light-weight, love the packaging which is very cute. They also make tubes that are purse-friendly. Coloring should be eliminated, however that’s cliniques famous thing. This is good for anyone who wants a light feel, but beware it does look greasy due to the sesame oil in it. Be careful too if you have rosacea. Make sure to always apply to cleansed skin, and you won’t have an issue. I don’t, as long as I cleanse with a low-Foaming cleanser. Since putting this in my routine my skin looks great. A dupe of this is Cetaphil Lotion in a large bottle or Eucerin Calming Creme in a tube. In fact, Cetaphil is more moisturizing. Very greasy though, but works like a charm. More product, less money. I just like this bc I do love my Clinique and it’s more concentrated in oils, if your lipid barrier needs helps. And I do love Macy’s too btw. They get me every time. It also sits as a wonderful primer. My skin looks really clear and it’s awesome. Clinique is generally good when it comes to Moisturizing. If you don’t like a heavy feel on your skin, this is it.

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I have dry, sensitive, eczema prone skin but even this moisturizer seems to be a little too greasy for me. I initially wanted to try the Gel version, but the lady working at the counter strongly suggested for me to try this one, given my skin type. Just 30 minutes later my forehead is a shiny mess and my face feels super oily and greasy. It definitely leaves my skin moisturized, but also leaves me with a need to wash my face ASAP. Glad I only bought the travel size, will try the Gel version as initially planned next.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Tan

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I love this. Many years ago I tried the DDML and hated it, I'm not sure if it was the old formula or simply because I had different skin back in the day. But these new ingredients are the bomb. I like layering products, but if I absolutely had to pick one product I would use the DDML alone and still have moisturized, supple skin. This is the only moisturizer I take with me when I travel, it doubles as a hand cream and body lotion as well (2 travel sized tubes last for 1 week of vacation). The best part? Clinique is pretty much available everywhere I go. I travel a lot for work and even if I forget to bring my beauty products, I can get this lotion at every duty-free shop around the world. 3 pumps is more than enough to cover my face, so the 4.2 oz bottle lasts a long time, a well spent $28. I apply it to wet skin for best effect. I like mixing it with moisturizers/lotions/serums that pill: the Hada Labo Skin Plumping Gel Cream and Origins Mega Mushroom Face Serum. It eliminates pilling completely. It also has no fragrance, in case anyone is sensitive to fragrances. For reference, I have combo (normal/dry) skin that is clog-prone. I focus entirely on moisture, actives irritate me too much.

About reviewer (112 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.