2.7

Created with Sketch.
487 reviews
40%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range
$6.99 on Ulta Beauty
Shop Now

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

It feels like it contains silicone and is very slippery, feels as though its clogging my pores however does a great job of hiding my enlarged pores. Gives the illusion of very smooth skin however I don't like the feel of it on my skin.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue



4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

I am 54 years old with great skin (see my pics). I was previously using Revlon Prep and Protect as my primer, but just found it a bit too tacky feeling for my liking. I changed over to the Maybelline recently as I wanted a product that would go well with my Zinc based foundation Invisible Zinc Sheer Defence in Light SPF50+. The product itself is clear in colour and has a very slippery silicone feel to it. I use a pea sized amount for my entire face, so the tube itself is a bit small if you consider that there is probably about 20 applications in the tube at the amount I use. However, it is a very cheap product to buy, so I can overlook this. In Australia, we pay anywhere from $8 to $15 for a tube. I start my morning routine by wiping my face with Bioderma Hydrabio H2O micelle solution to get rid of any overnight gunk on my face. I follow up with the Maybelline Baby Skin and then apply my foundation which is also a very effective sunscreen. I never apply powder as the combination of the Maybelline Baby Skin and my Invisible Zinc foundation leave me with a satin finish which is my preference. It does seem to even things out and make my skin look smoother. Occasionally I will use a powder foundation and I find this also works very well under the powder. I have tried so many primers and I find they are either too thin or just too tacky and hard to apply. This is the perfect in between consistency that spreads easily and seems to work under many products. I use this all the time now. Love it!

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 months ago

It's one of the best daily use of BB cream. For amazing makeup products visit https://worldofwomen.net

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 months ago

This is my favourite blurring primer, it is very comfortable and smoothing on the skin. Gives foundation a very smooth and soft look. removes a lot of texture and all my pores. Does feel oily at first but once it sets it is no longer oily feeling, just super soft. It has a gel like texture and it is clear, so it won't add any tints to the skin.Is literally one of the easiest primers to find because everywhere in my area carries Maybelline and this primer.

About reviewer (163 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Be very careful using this. It broke me out, I at first could not figure out why my neck and face were turning red (I was in the yard and then had to hurry up and get ready to go to store to get mulch because I can’t go to the store without make up on :), but finally figured out it was the primer when I tried it a couple days later.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

This is a perfectly fine alternative to something like Smashbox photo finish or Porefessional. To me it is no better or worse than those. It's really silicone-y which gives a very smooth finish but can feel kind of greasy and can ball up. It also won't play well with some kinds of base makeup. The pores on my cheeks near my nose are pretty noticeable barefaced but this covers them up well. One tip is to apply it by kind of pushing it into your skin at first, then rubbing it in. That seems to make it fill in pores better. I probably won't buy it again because I prefer a green primer for redness, but this does the job.

About reviewer (56 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

Greasy, but does the job for cheap. I'm pretty sure this has silicon in it, which isn't great. This plugs up your pores and gives it a greasy feel, and your makeup overtop will slip. It IS very cheap and does do what it says in a pinch. If you have to use this, do so over your makeup, and not under. It does look pretty good over foundation for about two hours.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

Stocked up on this because it was cheap! In the garbage now. Hope it can be recycled, lol! My skin broke out for the first time in over 40 years and it did NOT blur pores and made my foundation pill up in a weird way. Three strikes and you're out! Threw away several foundations which I blamed (by mistake,) and had to retrieve them from the garbage. Sorry, Maybelline, you totally missed with this one...Luckily, I had a spare Smashbox Photo Finish (which got me hooked on a prim EDIT!! I seems like any brand of primer makes me break out when I didn't before as I'm a 69 year old senior...Perhaps all have silicones and that topped with foundation is enough to clog the skin...? Anywaym I have to give Maybelline a break because others have caused me the same problem and they are $$$$!

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

Slightly better than the 'Becca Ever Matte Poreless Priming Perfector' which I reviewed yesterday but not as good as Benefits' Porefessional which I'll write up on later. I picked up Baby Skin for about $7 at Ulta and used it especially for filling in pores as I've read that it's good for that and can basically do what Porefessional can do... but at a fraction of the cost. Unfortunately in my case it didn't fill in or minimize the look of pores on my nose (which are pretty big!). The pores either side of my nose on my cheeks it did disguise but not the biggest ones I have which are on my nose. Yes it did help keep makeup stay on a few hours longer but that wasn't my main reason for purchasing. Keep in mind I used a compact foundation over this - not liquid as that would probably create an oil slick over something that has a texture like this! It's fragrance free, has a very silicone-y texture and spreads super easily to create a smooth canvas, as anything with this much silicone in it would do I guess. I'll probably use this just on the rest of my face before foundation and leave my nose to the professional...sorry I mean Porefessional. Selena x ~ My HG list ~ (As I've sampled 100s of skin, hair and m/u products over the last decade and a half, I thought it might be useful to share my top 10 must-have products, subject to change if and when I come across something more effective. I love constantly trying out new stuff - usually sample sizes via e-bay, also plenty courtesy of a friend who works at Sephora) 1. Hair Loss Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Hair Oil 2. Lip Balm: 'Nuxe' - Reve De Miel Lip Balm 3. Pigmentation + Anti-Ageing Treatment: ‘Divine Herbal’ - Facial Treatment Serum 4. Cleanser: 'Paula's Choice' - Skin Balancing Cleanser 5. Concealer: ‘Mac’ - Studio Finish Concealer 6. Athletes Foot Treatment: 'Margaret Dabbs' - Foot Hygiene Cream 7. Foundation/SPF: ‘Juice Beauty’ - Stem Cellular Repair (warm glow) 8. Foot File/Callus/Heel Treatment - 'Microplane' - Colossal Pedicure Rasp Foot File 9. Ingrown Hair Treatment - 'Priva Shave' - Post Hair Removal Treatment 10. Hand Cream: 'Origins' - Make A Difference Rejuvenating Hand Treatment

About reviewer (567 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I have used this primer for years and it really provides you with a smooth canvas for foundation! This for me is a dupe for benefit porefesssional!

About reviewer (57 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.