3.6

Created with Sketch.
25 reviews
64%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This review is for the NEW IOPE cushion, the 2016 version with a smaller package, the one that is actually pictured here above! First off, I love this cushion! I've tried many meanwhile and the problem I always had was that most are offered from shade range 21 and above - which is altogether too dark for me. I was so happy to see that with the new range there is a colour "13 - cool ivory". I bought this in the "natural glow"-version, because I wanted llight, natural coverage and a healthy glow. And what can I say? This is so perferct for very pale women like me. I really have kind of natural snow-skin if you want, and everything in the drugstore is simply too dark for me, even the Korean cushions from shade range 21, all too dark for me. This here isn't. It fits perfcectly for very fair skin, it has a lovely light coverage, no cakey look at all, it moisturises the skin the whole day, it doesn't creep into small wrinkles, I can even use it on my undereye-area, where I (37) have first small wrinkles, and it doesn't creep into there and covers dark circles perfectly. So for anybody really fair, who is looking for a cushion with a very fair shade, a cushion that moisturises the whole day, looks soft natural and gives a glowy finish - give it a try! I bought the version with an extra refill and I reordered it already, this can never run out.

About reviewer (118 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel



3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

The only good thing, package is pretty and convenient! Otherwise, the whitening glow is not that nature, coverage is low, doesn't even out skin texture.

About reviewer (55 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I really expected a lot from this because of all the hype in Korea, I have acne and a lot of hyper pigmentation and I have oily skin but still manage to have tons of dry patches , this bb cream looks amazing when you first put it on but after about 1 hour it will start to look oily af and make you dry patches EXTREMELY VISIBLE. The sponge is amazing tho, I now use it to put on my other foundations and it works great. Overall i wouldn't recommend this to people with problematic skin (e.g oily or dry), but if you have clear and normal skin this would probably look great on you. But this foundation is made for more eastern asians so people with darker skin would not be able to use this product.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

OMG is this my next HG foundation / BB cream whatever? I just got this and i quite like the finished look on my face. I got this in N21 (the light version not the cover vanilla that is the rage) for my NC20-25 skin. I have oily combination skin and am the typical yellow tone chinese living in a hot tropical country. Upon application, i love the feeling of the product on my face. it feels cool to the touch (remember i live in a hot tropical country) and the sponge requires me to keep dabbing my face as it only picks up a little product each time. This could be a con since it takes me longer to do my make up but the plus side is that i get a more even skintone. Initially the product makes my face looks whiter, but after about less than a minute, it sinks into my skin and leaves me looking radiant, mositurised, dewy as if i had woken up looking this way. It looks really natural but still manages to cover up some of my pigmentation. the cons of this product is that it doesn't last for a full day. By mid day (about 4 hours later), my face looks pretty bare, as if i do not have anything on. But i face this problem with almost all of my barely there make up foundations, be it the expensive chanel vitalumire aqua or the faceshop aqua bb cream, so i won't nitpick on this. its either 1) a full blown make up face with heavy make up like the faceshop power perfection bb cream or my usual MAC foundation where it last more than half a day or 2) this sort of barely there glow that fades out after half a day. with the nifty packaging, its easy to retouch up and i will update when i do later! i will also test it out under face primer to see if it works and if it lasts! meanwhile, for the price (about 40 dollars for this and a refill), its not a bad price. i am not sure if it has enough SPF though but honestly, you can't expect much SPF from make up. so note to self, remember to put the sunblock. updates: erm i am having a little bit of breakout. i am not sure if its entirely attributable to this product but will monitor and update.

About reviewer (97 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

I bought this a year a go and have worn this throughout a year on and off as my skin changed as I was on the course of accutane. Review: -oily skin: won't work, it will become VERY transparent and your face will be very greasy. DON'T try putting powder on top of this one. It will get blotchy and cakey due to the formula of the bb cream inside of the compact. -dry skin: The wet look will dry off withing 30min-1hour and all dry patches will appear. -normal skin: glow will stay for 4-5 hours until it fades away. The coverage version can cover slight redness or hyper-pigmentation, building up on acne is not a good idea. This is a very sticky&transparent product, I don't recommend around eyes. I'm a NC10-15, lighter shade was noticeably too dark for me and could only be worn in a very light layer. The perfume used in it bothered me a lot as it stayed for very long and was very strong and resembled a window washing liquid.

About reviewer (55 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Other

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

USD$40. I'm obsessed with cushion foundations currently, and after finishing the Sulwhasoo version, I moved on to this because of all the hype. Price point is ok. You get two cushions per package, and each of the cushions last a while, so the value is quite good. I purchased C21, based on the reviews and it's a shade too dark for me (I'm MAC NC20/C2, pale east Asian skin). In fact, my skin kind of looked orange-y when I applied it. I was really surprised as this is an Asian brand and I thought would have more yellow tones. I think in Asia, you can get one that is a lighter shade, so I'll try to purchase that next time I'm in that area. The scent is very light and goes away quickly. The texture is slippery and I had to put on finishing powder (currently using Givenchy prisme libre) to try to lighten the color and to make sure it didn't budge. If it rubs on your collar or clothing, it'll be very hard to get it out - the stuff stains like crazy! Coverage is about medium and won't cover the darkest imperfections, but I don't feel like I have on foundation. It also has good spf (but I still layer sunscreen underneath). For me, my skin looks pretty natural when just wearing the foundation with no powder (but as stated above, I just can't deal with it coming off on my clothes etc without the finishing powder). It also lasts through the day, and most amazing, you can re-touch up without the foundation getting all caked up. The case is a very pretty, translucent white with a simple IOPE logo on top. But it's bulky and fairly flimsy plastic, so I have be really careful when carrying it. I'm willing to repurchase this, in a different color (if I can find it), but if the lighter color doesn't work out, I will move on to another brand. UPDATE: http://img.makeupalley.com/7/1/6/6/2792216.JPG After having tried the three major Korean BB cushions available in the US, I've concluded Iope is just not for me - it has the most pronounced pink/red of all; Laneige is orange-y. Sulwhasoo had best tone but still a shade too dark.

About reviewer (238 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I bought this product quite some time ago , Ive just recently started using it again and I like it , its good for just like an everyday look. PROS: -Im obsessed with the scent , its very subtle and nice. -The coverage was a lot better than I had expected -Easy to apply -Reasonable Price Cons -Feels sticky on the face -Not suitable for oily skin -Clings on to dry skin (SO ANNOYING)

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I was hoping to like this and use as an option for light-weight coverage, but it didn't work for me. After all the hype, I thought it would be an HG, but it's nowhere close. I tried it very sheer, heavier, all on it's own, after moisturizing, and even over primer but it never worked for me at all. Pros: Applies beautifully and feels great on the skin. The light citrus fragrance is pleasant and refreshing. I have color C21 and it gave a bit of sheer coverage and evened out my skin tone. My skin feels very soft, supple and hydrated just after applying this makeup. Fantastic SPF in a mineral form that doesn't irritate my skin. Love the packaging - so chic, sanitary and cleverly put together. Cons - Lightest color still a tad dark on my NC15 skin. Does nothing to brighten or smooth my skin at all. Not overly glowy, but the shine in it is still unflattering to me -- looks greasy and dirty. It doesn't settle in lines but somehow highlights and exaggerates dry areas, large pores and wrinkles. Weird that something so "hydrating" can make your skin look drier than it is. It makes me look OLDER and fine lines much more noticeable than they are without it. Ouch! And the price tag is high, which in this case is certainly a con. Apparently my skin needs a foundation with more silicone and slip to it, something that will glide over lines and/or fill them in better to make them less noticeable. I also like a foundation that brightens and covers sun damage at least a little bit. My face looks better without anything on it than using this. I'm glad this isn't the first foundation I ever tried, because I would think my skin was pretty hopeless if that were the case. Thankfully, other lighter weight foundations (Ponds Luminous Finish BB Cream, CoverGirl/Olay Tone Rehab Foundation) are flattering and smoothing and make my skin look great. I'll stick with those.

About reviewer (50 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Olive, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I've experienced great ups and downs with the IOPE Air Cushion - one of Korea's current HGs. I was obsessively researching on this product before settling for the C23 (darkest out of the 2 shades available; with most coverage). I have been using it daily for 2 months now and still cannot make up my mind about how I feel but I felt it necessary to share my thoughts with those who are thinking of making the purchase. THE GOOD: - Great coverage: Much better than I expected. I still dab a little concealer under my panda eyes and on the acne scars near my jawline but the coverage is great without looking cakey - No grey cast: I'm about an NC20-25, always stayed away from Korean bb creams and foundations because most gave me a thick unnatural look. Although it is a tad light for me, this is the first Korean foundation that I did not throw away just after a few uses - Does not sink into fine lines: I get really annoyed when foundations sink into my under eye and laugh lines (sometimes even in the lines on my forehead!). This foundation gives me an airbrushed look - Easy to reapply: If I need to go out after work, I would reapply some on my cheeks/chin and it would still look natural - No need to apply sunscreen: I'm guilty - I don't usually apply sunscreen on my face unless I'm spending a lot of time outdoors. To help with this big no-no, this foundation has SPF 50! THE BAD: - Not suitable for oily skin: My combination skin became an oily mess after 5 or so hours. A touch of translucent powder helps without looking cakey (using a kabuki brush, I would LIGHTLY go over my forehead, nose, and upper cheeks with the MUFE Microfinish Powder. Baby powder works too. Just make sure there's no cornstarch or else it could set into any fine lines) - It moves A LOT: Don't touch your face after applying it. I would suggest either doing your eye makeup first or use the included puff to rest your hand on your face while the other hand does the eye makeup (I hope this makes sense!) - A makeup look: I am all for the natural but polished look. I don't mind when people notice that I have foundation on but I definitely don't want it to be the first thing they notice. Although my skin looks so much healthier using this foundation, I wasn't happy when the boyfriend noticed I had "put something on my face" (NOTE: he did not dislike it but said my usual foundation looked more like natural skin) - NOT photo-friendly: If you're like me and prefer a matte look in pictures while still exuding a healthy glow, stay away from this foundation. Your face will look shiny. The shine also made Mommy Dearest comment on how unusually wide my face looked. That was definitely not the look I was going for but it was something I fixed by lightly contouring underneath my cheekbones. FINAL VERDICT: I would definitely buy this again for the winter season. The puff that comes with the compact is great and it's the first time that I did not feel the need to use my BeautyBlender with a liquid foundation. A new puff comes with every new refill you purchase. Careful not to press too hard for the product - a little goes a long way. Whether my face looks wider or if I look like I had "put something on my face", it is still ultimately my choice and I choose to have healthy looking skin. The MUFE HD liquid foundation is my HG foundation but it can be drying at times. I noticed the difference during the past Christmas holidays: MUFE HD made my skin look much drier compared to IOPE but the IOPE can be too glowy at times. If you have fair, combination to dry skin, and like the very dewy look (a la Korean actresses), I would suggest giving this foundation a try!

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Bought this off of Amazon a few months ago. Cost was about $35 if I remember correctly. I have dry skin, and foundation often sinks into lines or clings to dry patches. I bought this because it promised a smooth finish. It definitely delivered on this, there was no visible texture after application. However, the finish was WAY too shiny on me. However, that wasn't the worst. The tone of the foundation was way off. And combined with the shininess it just made my face look strange and mask like... By the way I have medium yellow-toned skin, and I ordered the beige 23 shade. Before I returned it, I didn't try it with powder which I regret. After a few days of wearing it, I noticed it was breaking me out in big bumps. Sad :(

About reviewer (50 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown