4.5

Created with Sketch.
193 reviews
86%
would repurchase
4.5/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

My brows don’t need much- they’re pretty dark and thick already so all I do is perfect their shape. This pencil is my go to. I have the shade 40 Brun Cendre, my favorite shade for filling in my eyebrows: neutral-cool dark brown. The pencil is neither hard nor soft- perfect in between. Along with the spoolie, makes the application process easy and quick. My eyebrows stay put and look good. Are there equally good cheaper alternatives out there? Yes. But aside from paying for the brand, the quality is just great. Wooden pencils last me for a long time- I recently bought Benefit Precisely My Brow and it lasted me for a month, whereas a wooden pencil will last for half a year, or even more. So, essentially, I think it’s worth the money.

About reviewer (243 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I don't see how anyone except die-hard Chanel fans would be willing to repurchase it. This product hasn't changed in last 15 years while the brow industry did a big step forward. You're paying for the name, not for the performance. This pencil is soft, too soft to be used on the oily skin and even on my dry skin/dry brows is smears like nothing else every time I accidentally touch it. Due to the pencil softness, I have to continuously sharpen it to make it work on my naturally thin eyebrows. Literally every time I use it! I also have a very hard time making it look natural. 4 shades just do not cut it. The spooley is big, it's designed for people who have great full eyebrows. Nothing like what I have to work with. I prefer more precise, low maintenance and long-lasting products.

About reviewer (667 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

A few years ago I first tried pencil instead of powder for coloring my brows. I have only tried $TF & Hourglass, believing that the wedge shaped pencil would be more natural. Chanel's is a traditional pencil, but for me, I have a lot more control than with the other 2 and this one lasts on my brows until I take it off, while the others fade noticeably. I have #30. My brows are tinted a medium taupey brown. The #30 matches very well and looks completely natural. Recently, I have gotten a fair share of compliments on my brows and I think part of the reason is this pencil.

About reviewer (315 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Bought this several years ago along with some other items for my wedding makeup. There was a Chanel artist event at Nordstrom, and one of the gentleman gave me the best, most beautiful brows I have ever sported using this pencil and what felt like a thousand of the lightest application strokes using this. Of course I bought the pencil after that! I haven't been able to recreate his magic entirely, but I come as close as I can. I am fair skinned and use the blonde color. Works well whether I am (fake) tan or not. Love love love the spoolie, love that it has its own cap. Will I repurchase when I use this one up? Yes. It's not cheap (duh, right?!) So I may have to budget, but that is far enough in the future that I will cross that bridge when I come to it.

About reviewer (47 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Didn't anyone try Brun Naturel 30?? I tried to buy 40 Brun Cendre but the SA at Dillard's insisted they don't make it anymore along w CC.in 20 Beige she vehemently denied its availability but I saw it on chanel.com?!!!!). Thanks chanel for the spiffy sharpener urs are the best & I keep losing mine. 30 is a good color buy I think 40 would've been a better match I blind bought it but it's a pale brown w Red not crazy about the reddiishness I could do without this would be great for ideal for strawberry blondes or redheads I need a darker more blonde yet darker shade like a taupe I'm horrible at describing this but I'm going to try to find blonde cendre on eBay for not too Much moolah. I am used to the chanel brow powder cake palettes but I got this for a song. A good redhead color (30 ) great brow pencil I'm not faulting it because I dicht get my color the formula is very long wearing & creamy. It's an awesome pencil I can still make do/work even tho a bit reddish :-)

About reviewer (2417 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

This is another staple of mine, been using for absolutely years and years. Great formulation and a little goes a long way. Long wearing. Easy to sharpen the pencil and it comes with it's own sharpener as well inside the box. The brush at one end is stiff and perfect for brushing up brows and shaping. I've never felt the need to look at anything else to own as you get everything you want in one buy, though I have used other products e.g. Suqqu has great brow products, but they are hard to come by. Chanel is easier found and a winner. The lightest colour they offer is Blond Clair and it's brilliant for blondes, being a great taupe ash blonde colour which just matches natural colour so well. The best brows in my opinion are ones that are naturally highlighted and thickened, with colour that is added in with feathery strokes, for a look that is barely detectable but done.The worst are brows obviously "painted" on. This just looks awful but it's surprisingly common. Technique aside, you'll get a fantastic natural look with this pencil and it'll last for some time.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

A Chanel MUA used this on me during a makeup demo and I got compliments on my brows for the first time ever that day. This blows other eyebrow pencils out of the water. It has a waxy texture that also acts like a pomade, so it defines and holds without smearing or fading. I use #10 Blond Clair and it is an ashy taupe that looks extremely natural. $29 at Nordstrom for a 5 inch pencil, and comes with a spoolie and sharpener.

About reviewer (925 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Price is way too expensive, but the product is pretty darn good. I am blonde with a cool, light (not FAIR, just light) skin tone with pinkish hints on my face, but a warmer tone on the rest of my body. I have this pencil in 10 Blond and it lines my brows beautifully. When I'm too lazy or don't have enough time, I can also fill my brows in with this. I just use light upward strokes and then blend with the spooly. Man do I love that spooly. It is what makes this pencil. Without the spooly, I would not use the pencil as it is a bit too blonde for me. I combine this with the ABH Brow Powder duo in Blonde (which is probably not the best shade for me but it's not too bad since my hair is light blonde). BACK TO THIS PENCIL, the staying power isn't great...smudges easily. I do not use a setting spray because for $30, I feel like this should work on its own. Sigh. Still the best I've found because of the spooly. Maybe I'll just keep the spooly and buy a new brow pencil....

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I love this brow pencil so much and will buy more in the future. I got this in 30 naturel for $29 and come with sharpener at Macy. This brow pencil color match my hair color so perfect look so natural. Very well done Chanel finally I found my favorite brow pencil. I will never buy others brand again.

About reviewer (128 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I've been using Chanel Crayon Sourcils Sculpting Eyebrow Pencil for years. This is by far the best eyebrow pencil I've ever used. My brows have become almost invisible as I've gotten older and this pencil is a lifesaver. I have tried others but have always come back to this one. The key is the waxy texture which prevents me from making a mess. I just hope that Chanel keeps it in their line up forever!

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Relaxed, Fine

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us