3.2

Created with Sketch.
15 reviews
33%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

I wanted to like this because of the all-mineral active ingredients and the tint worked on my NC-20-ish skintone. But this sunscreen just would not set -- even after hours. It felt very silicone-y -- like I had a greasy coating on my face and it rubbed off on everything that even slightly touched it -- fingers, clothes, etc.

About reviewer (50 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Still not entirely sure about this. LOVE the ingredients. Love the percentage of zinc oxide and titanium dioxide. Love the silicone-y satin matte finish. However, when I wear it with nothing underneath, it looks a little too bronze toned (I'm NC 25/NC 20). BUT-- if I wear a serum underneath (like ZO's non-tinted C-Bright serum), this strangely looks a bit chalky/white. After a while the chalkiness settles and it looks nice and natural-matte, but I don't like that about it. Considering this is tinted, I'd imagine the un-tinted version gives even more of a white cast. But, it protects well, which is important, it's tenacious, it's cosmetically elegant to apply, and it does blur pigment to create a more even skin tone.

About reviewer (22 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

This product has a few things going for it but a few things that I personally really dislike. Pros: -- super natural finish -- almost totally undetectable on the skin (these are two really important points for me which is why I'm bummed about the cons). Cons: -- SO MUCH SILICONE, UGH I absolutely hate how siliconey it feels and how it sits on the skin. I put it on just to go to the grocery store and I feel like taking it off right away. That being said, I don't use primers or anything with silicone in it generally so I might be more bothered by that feeling than others. -- This is entirely personal and only a con for some skin tones but I find the color leans slightly cool. My undertones are fairly neutral, but leaning slightly more to olive than to pink. So although this color totally works and others probably wouldn't notice, the undertone is just slightly off. Someone with strong olive or yellow undertones might have a harder time. FYI all of the above, good and the bad, I find to be true for the SPF 30 as well as the SPF 50 tinted cream. Overall I think this is a very solid product for someone who doesn't mind the strong silicone texture.

About reviewer (56 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Curly, Coarse

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I tried a sample of this from sephora. I've been looking for a sunscreen to wear under my mineral foundation. I didn't really like the tint, but I would definitely try it again without the tint! Otherwise, I didn't wear it the entire day, but I only got a little more oily than I normally would. It smelled a little like sunscreen, but not too noticeable, and that wouldn't deter me with this product. Makeup application over this was okay as far as I remember.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I so badly wanted to love this after endlessly searching through every sunscreen product out in the market. The tint is warm toned and the mousse-like texture is similar to a primer. It doesn't break me out and gives a matte finish until I take it off at the end of the day. My skin seems to badly break out even after just one day use of chemical sunscreen, and this is the first physical one that didn't give me a white cast (I'm warm toned, around NC40) and wasn't too oily or heavy. However, all the silicones in this product sucked the moisture out of my skin! The result: dry, flaky, rough skin. I tried my best not to mind it, thinking it could be HG material but after the second day, my skin was not only uncomfortably tight - it was actually painful. My skin was visibly covered in flakes. I had to discontinue use.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Tan, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

While this has a great percentage of zinc, there are two major flaws with this sunscreen. 1) The "tint" offers little coverage, and 2) it's way too siliconey for me. It seems to never dry on my skin. That said, I do have combo skin, so if your skin is on the drier side this may not be a problem. I prefer Paula's choice tinted, or Biore aqua rich BB for better coverage and a more matte finish.

About reviewer (57 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Other, Not Sure

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

This has been working so amazingly well for my normal to dry, acne-prone skin! I used to think silicones were bad or clog pores but this is silicone based and works so well for me. Silicone actually prevents moisture loss from the skin - I guess that is why my skin doesn't feel dry throughout the day when I have this on... it doesn't get shiny in my t-zone throughout the day either... it just feels NORMAL which is amazing for my problematic skin! I have been using it for just a few weeks and really have seen so much improvement in my skin. It just looks so much fresher and more calm! I love that I found a zinc oxide based mineral sunscreen that works for me for every day! Also, NO breakouts whatsoever! Zinc oxide is an antioxidant and anti-inflammatory and due to this it can actually make your skin less acne-prone! It reduces the inflammatory response of acne-prone skin to clogged pores, irritation, etc. It is even shown to be great for wound healing. (I have also been taking a daily 22mg zinc picolinate supplement for years - best basic supplement for acne/skin/hair/nails!) My only issue is that this isn't the best moisturizer to wear under makeup when worn alone. I have not tried it over a moisturizer yet but plan to, to see if it wears better under makeup that way. The product has a very smooth silicone type of feel, almost feels like a primer... but again, it is not drying at all and just seems to bring balance to my skin. I just feel I would need extra moisture if wearing makeup, so I would use a different moisturizer or use this over moisturizer if I was going to wear makeup. Most days I don't wear makeup though and am just concerned with broad spectrum SPF to protect my skin, and this hits that mark while greatly improving my acne-prone skin! I think they are right when they say this is suitable for acne-prone, sensitive skin types and really any skin type! I previously used Cerave AM SPF30 moisturizer for a couple years until I discovered it is actually NOT broad spectrum and does not protect sufficiently against UVA / early skin aging / cancer from the sun. What a bummer to find I was not really protecting my skin that whole time! I also purchased the SPF 50 version of this product which has an identical ingredient listing. I was curious how that product is SPF50 while this one is SPF30 when they have the same amount of active ingredients an same exact inactive ingredients, so I emailed the company. They explained that the amount of the inactive ingredients differ and the amount of antioxidants in the formula can make the SPF greater. These products contain pomegranate, cranberry, and green tea extract as antioxidants so I guess maybe the SPF50 has more of those to give it a higher SPF rating. I actually prefer the SPF30 because it is tinted so I don't have to spend as much time blending it into my face. The SPF50 is good as well and doesn't really leave a white cast if you blend it well, but I still prefer the tinted version. I ordered this from Sephora online and am really glad I recently purchased their free flash shipping for 1 year promotion so I can re-order this again and again! I love the packaging too with the brightly colored bottles. I don't find the product to have any scent really (it is fragrance-free).

About reviewer (64 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I had a .25 ounce sample from Sephora that lasted for a week or so and I liked the product so much I ordered the 1.7 ounce size. I debated again and again paying $32 for 1.7 ounces, but this product works so well for me I went for it. I'm NW20-25 and very, very oily, even at the age of 54; and, finding an SPF 30 that doesn't go on greasy and stay greasy has been impossible. This goes on matte, stays matte and keeps my makeup looking fairly un-shiny most of the day -- better than any other similar product I've tried - HE or DS. Like others have said, it comes out looking somewhat dark, but it lightens considerably when applied. It gives me enough coverage that I apply a lighter layer of foundation. I suggest that before dispensing the product, always shake the tube well then roll it back and forth between your hands to mix the product well and avoid the watery liquid that comes out before the tinted cream. Also, it is tough to remove, which is fine with me -- I need something that stays on my oily face. I've tried washing it off with my Neutrogena make-up removing cleanser but it didn't budge. So, I remove it with Jergens makeup remover before cleansing and that takes it off. I would probably repurchase, but dang, this stuff is too expensive for the amount of product you get... but it works, so...

About reviewer (94 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairSilver, Straight, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I received a one-use sample of this. My skin is combination/oily and very acne-prone, but it didn't fight me on this sunscreen. It dried down reasonably matter and I really have no complaints about it. However, I didn't find that it alleviated my need for foundation over it. it looks tinted coming out of the packaging, but disappeared on my skin. Perhaps it would make a difference for someone with a drier complexion or a different undertone (I'm absolutely neutral), but this didn't sway me from my preferred sunscreen (EltaMD UV Clear).

About reviewer (209 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinOily, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

While I love that this has a super high percentage of zinc oxide (17%) and that it is non-comedogenic, tinted, and paraben-free (my 4 requirements for a sunscreen), it stings and also feels like it never fully sinks in. As other reviewers have stated, it is full of silicones, and it definitely feels that way. It slides around and off my face so easily--if I even touch my face it comes off. I wind up with raccoon eyes because my mascara sticks to it. I will continue using this on my neck, just to use it up, but it is not pleasant to wear. The color is more tan/yellow than pink.

About reviewer (76 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone

HairBrown

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us