4.1

Created with Sketch.
51 reviews
76%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a month ago

I slept on this mascara for a long time, partly due to the fact that CG wasn't cruelty-free, and partly because I typically go for very dramatic lashes, and I'd seen a number of reviews saying that this didn't do much for volume. But I tried it today after running low on my Exhibitionist mascara (my HG), And I really love it! My modus operandi in terms of makeup as of late has definitely skewed more natural than before, focusing on lips rather than eyes. It's just easier, and I love the girl next door kind of look more than a dramatic, smokey eye or winged liner. Because of that, I wanted to find a mascara that didn't make my lashes look clumpy or spidery, but gave enough length and volume while still maintaining a more natural vibe. This mascara delivers on that. The first coat is unimpressive (as I find most mascaras to be), but the second coat yields a pretty, fluttery look with decent length, a little volume, and (true to its name) absolutely NO clumps! My lashes look fanned out and curled because of the curved brush, but not at all crunchy. I enjoy this on both my top and bottom lashes, since application is a breeze. I don't find I get a lot of mascara on my lid when using this, which is also a huge benefit for me, since I get pretty frustrated with the constant cleanup of blobs that I get from other mascaras. Others have mentioned that this mascara is dry, but I find it's more middle-of-the-road. It's not goopy or tar-like, but isn't so dry that it'll make your lashes look pixelated. Also, I haven't experienced any flaking, and it's been on for three hours now. Normally by now, I'd have flakes all over my cheeks if I was wearing a mascara that was prone to such an issue. The packaging is cute, but bulky. I do find that the tapered cap sort of makes it a little more awkward to hold than a standard cylindrical design. But, I love the wand. I mean LOVE the wand. It really does comb through the lashes as it applies product, which makes them look super defined and pretty. I paid about $7 USD for this at Walmart, which is insanely cheap for such a great mascara. There's also a primer that I'm interested in trying underneath this to see if I can coax more volume out of it, so we shall see! All in all, this is, to me, the perfect everyday mascara for those who are seeking definition, a bit of length, and a pretty, easy look. Again, it's not going to deliver on mega drama, but it sure does make my thin, sparse lashes look pretty!

About reviewer (514 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown



2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

I love the original Clump Crusher, but it's not the most dramatic mascara, so I thought I'd try this one out. I don't know if I got an old one out what, but I agree with the other reviewer who said this formula was too dry to accomplish much of anything. I have longish but wimpy lashes and not a whole lot of them. This didn't add length, which is weird in an extension mascara. It didn't add volume either, and wouldn't build up with a d***. I get better results with almost any other mascara I've ever tried. The best thing I can say for it is that it didn't clump and it's very black. Not worth it.

About reviewer (236 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I have very sparse, thin, straight and short lashes. For this, I normally layer a lengthening mascara and a volumizing mascara. I cannot stress how happy I was when I discovered it and bought it on a whim. It curls my lashes, and my lashes are twice as long. They brush my brow bone. The do not smear my brow bone or collect under my eyes. This is a drier formula, which is my preference. If you enjoy creamier formulas, this might not be for you. I do not get much volume from this, but I layer LashBlast Volume (orange tube) over it, and I get volume+lenghth+curl from this combo. This combo has been my go to for so long. I forgot my eyelash curler for months because of this. Every time I experiment with other mascaras, I regret it and always come back to this. The only other mascaras that work for me are L'Oreal Voluminous Original, L'Oreal Telescopic, and L"Oreal Double Extend beauty tubes (red and white one). Apparently my eyelash hairs aren't compatible with other mascaras. Mascaras that don't work for me tend to work for my mom, despite us having the same bare lash appearance (e.g. the maybelline ones work well for my mom).

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I seem to be in the minority here, but this didn't seem like a great mascara to me. The formula seems too dry and doesn't seem to lengthen my lashes much at all. I don't like the tube because it's so chunky, making it easy to fumble while applying. I don't curl my lashes so I can't speak to that. The applicator itself isn't terrible and, to be fair, this didn't seem to be clumpy. I didn't notice any flaking or smearing. The price is very reasonable. Mainly I look to my mascara for more lengthening than volumizing. This didn't perform well for me, so I won't be buying again.

About reviewer (312 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Forgot to pack my Guerlain mascara and bought this at Osco. My new HG! Excellent quality--doesn't look chunky on the eyelash, builds thickness and length, no flaking, makes even uncurled lashes fan out. I much prefer this affordable product to very, very expensive mascara. No irritation, either. At one point I had to stop wearing mascara, and I had been using Clarins. I hope Cover Girl never changes the formula--it's a winner.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairGrey, Other, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is mascara is great for distichiasis aka excess lash growth. Most mascaras clump my eyelashes together, especially volumizing ones. This one does a great job of separating and lengthening without volumizing. It's not the most lengthening mascara, but it's still nice. It removes easily at the end of the day. A trick that really gets this to separate is using the curved inside of the wand to apply and wiggling it at the base of your lashes. I can't attest to his curling power since my lashes are always like that. The garish green doesn't bother me, but the tube is kind of chunky and awkward to hold. I wish it was slimmer. This does flake a bit on me throughout the day.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Curly, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Love this mascara! It's definitely one of my all time favourites. I'm not a big fan of the bright green colour, but I can get over it because of how amazing the mascara is. I don't have nice lashes naturally - they're really short and thin, but this mascara helps to make them really stand out. It does add some length, doesn't flake, lasts all day, and holds a curl really well because of the shape of the brush. I don't even curl my lashes, and yet I still get a nice curl when I use this mascara. The only slight con is that it doesn't give a ton of volume, but I'm ok with that. It's great for an everyday mascara. And the best part is that this stuff really lives up to its name - it doesn't clump at all! Keeps my lashes looking gorgeous and feathery looking, with that flared, flirty, fanned out look that I love. Beautiful product for a really great price!

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This mascara will not dissapoint. I have had no clumping at all. Lashes have volume and this is great for an everyday look.

About reviewer (63 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I've tried a lot of mascaras (because I just can't help myself) and this one is definitely one of my favourites. It really gives a lot of length to my lashes and true to it's name, I don't experience clumping even when I apply several coats. Another thing I really liked about this mascara is it didn't make my lashes feel heavy or irritate my eyes, which is a problem I experience with a lot of mascaras. Instead my lashes feel light and luxurious. The packaging is a little clunky and I don't think the mascara delivers a whole lot of the volume but I don't mind. The length and intense curl I find it gives leave me more than satisfied. Plus, it never flaked or smudged on me and my eye lids are notoriously greasy and my eyes water a lot. I would definitely repurchase this and even prefer it over my higher end mascaras.

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I love this mascara. It's perfect for everyday use. The formula feels thin and I like that it isn't too dry or too wet. It gives me a little bit of length and a little bit of volume. It never clumps and it makes my lashes looks fluttery - never spiky or spidery. I love the brush. It's rubber with short bristles and it has a slight curve. It's not too big. I rarely get this mascara on my lid, thanks to the shape and size of the brush. I get good wear-time from this mascara. I never have smudges or flakes at the end of the day. This will probably smudge if you have watery eyes or end up crying, but the water-proof version might be a solution for that. The most important part (for me) is that this mascara is easy to remove. All I really need is warm water and my facial cleanser to get this off. It doesn't leave any dark residue under my eyes, which is a huge plus for me. Finally, the price is awesome. I usually pay around $7 for a tube and I can't find it at most drugstores and grocery stores.

About reviewer (65 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us