3.6

Created with Sketch.
14 reviews
64%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I love this! But the claim is slightly deceiving, I feel like this could only possibly work as a moisturizer if you had oily skin. I use this for its SPF benefit overtop of my daytime moisturizer. It goes on smooth, leaves a nice matte finish and does not leave a white cast. If Sephora decided to call this a sunscreen and give it a higher SPF it would be perfect, but it's definitely not hydrating enough to be a moisturizer on its own.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue



1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I purchased this once hoping to get a 2 in 1. this dried my combination skin out and was definitely not wearable on eyes (one of my dryer areas ) it stung so bad! I wouldn't recommend this. instead use a seperate sunscreen and moisturizer for the same effect. most facial sunscreens are lightweight these days.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Like many others, it's always been hard for me to find a moisturizer with sunscreen in it that doesn't make my face super oily. I was so excited to try this product out. The first time I used it though, I used it on my entire face and it made my foundation turn bright orange. We're talking oompa loompa Snooki orange. It was extremely noticeable. In the summer, I don't think it would be as big of an issue since I'm a little tanner. But for right now, using it all over is a no go. So what I do now is put on my normal moisturizer with sunscreen and then just use this one in my t-zone and it's wonderful. Keeps me matte all day for the most part. It does feel kinda drying which isn't a problem for me since my skin is oily anyways. But just keep that in mind if you have drier skin. This moisturizer is kinda pricey for me but since I just use it in a few spots, it should last a really long time. Depending on the foundation you use, this might not make it oxidize but just be prepared for that.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This was given to me by a friend who didn't like it because her skin is dry. My skin is super oily and acne prone. Pros: 1. does have some oil control. Definitely not 8 hours. More like a few hours depending on your skin and the temperature outside. Considering it was 95 degrees when I tested it, I think it did a great job. 2. it has spf, which is great. It's hard to find spf that doesnt immediately make you shiny. Cons: everything else. 1. It feels like a primer. My face feels suffocated and mask-like all day. Feels uncomfortable on my face, I couldn't wait to wash it off. 2. Made me look older and emphasized any dry areas. Emphasized my pores unfortunately. 3. Hard to apply my mineral powder makeup over this as it doesn't stick to it at all. I guess this isn't a con unless you wear powder foundation like me. 4. Irritated my face upon application (face turned red) which went away after a minute. Later in the day my face looked irritated and blotchy when I looked in the mirror :( 5. The smell of this product is a very strong almost floral perfume scent that doesn't really fade. Migraine sufferers beware. I got a migraine from the smell. 6. Worst of all, it made me break out **so badly**. I haven't broken out this bad in a long time. Needless to say I would not recommend for anyone acne prone or migraine prone. I gave it away to a friend.

About reviewer (112 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I've purchased this moisturizer 3 times so far and have no plans to stop. It is part of my morning routine which is a few layers, and it works great. My skin feels moisturized and its nice to know its protected. Also, my face stays matte and I don't have to blot with oil papers through out the day. My morning routine consists of a Salicylic cleanser (DHC), antibiotic gel (I dont know why or IF i even need this, i'm just too afraid to stop using), SEPHORA 8HR MATTIFYING MOISTURIZER SUNSCREEN, smashbox bb water, then MAC studio fix powder. My fiancee uses it every morning. He has incredibly oily skin, and he has asked me to repurchase when we have run low. Apparently he is a fan.

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I saw another review that said the Canadian version doesn't have SPF, but I can honestly verify that it says SPF20 broad spectrum right on the tube and bold letters that read "made in Canada" on the back. With that out of the way, I think this product is better than many primers and moisturizers out there! It's like a sunscreen sort of thick consistency, but absorbs nicely and feels very lightweight. The struggle I face is actually finding a good base for Mac's face and body foundation; the finish is too shiny for me. This tones it down just enough but still leaves a bit of glow. The smoothness of my foundation is something you wouldn't believe, making this combo a HG for me. My foundation looks flawless! I've ditched my laura mercier primer, and I've also ditched my face lotion because this product does both! I love everything about it, and it's a staple in my collection from now on. Edit: I still have to blot every 2 hours in the heat, but if I'm in AC all day, 8 hours control is no problem. I've tried double layering it, but it starts rolling off. I also find that this doesn't work well with other priming products, mainly the MUFE mattifying primer and Laura Mercier oil-free primer (things starts rolling off). Still.. I like the consistency and the included SPF, but it kind of forces you to rely solely on it.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I was looking for a new daytime moisturizer with SPF and decided to try this one out. It said that it would be suitable for sensitive skin and I liked that it had a pump. While my skin is combination (dry cheeks, oily t-zone), I found the "mattifying" to be really intense. It made my skin look really dull, even in the oily areas. I also did not find this moisturizing enough on its own. Also, this product does not advertise the SPF in Canada, I am not sure what the laws are regarding that, but I usually prefer to use a sunscreen that has broad spectrum protection anyways. I think this might be an okay moisturizer for someone who has really oily skin without any other sensitivities. The fragrance is not overwhelming, but could possibly irritate one's skin if it is sensitive. This is kind of a "why bother" product, in my opinion. Thankfully Sephora has a great return policy and I was able to get my money back.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I'm going to start by stating my skin is some sort of funky. Most foundations, minus powder, apply to my skin as if it's dry. I have combination skin where most of it's normal and I get oily on my forehead, nose, and cheeks. It's not blotting bad but I do get fairly oily. So I thought I'd give this a try. It was suggested that I use a pump to a pump & a half for my entire face. Now I just applied it like I would a typical moisturizer. I was sooooo dry that day. It caused my makeup to show flakes on my chin that I don't have. It dried me out through out the day and yet I ended up an oil slick. Maybe I used too much...? I need to re-try this only in my oily areas and go from there. I'll update this when I get the guts up to try it again. But I'm worried about drying out my skin again :\

About reviewer (739 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I am one of the oiliest people you've ever seen. You could use my forehead as a mirror. Srsly. I'm also acne prone and my pores are huge and always clogged. This is the ONLY sunscreen I've found that doesn't break me out, ACTUALLY mattifies, and has a non greasy matte finish. I still get shiny after 3 hours, but nothing on earth would take away all my shine, so this is as good as it gets, especially because sunscreen usually makes me oilier. I use this under my hourglass immaculate foundation, and I only have to blot once throughout the day at the 4 hr mark. Before I discovered these 2, I would be an oil slick in 40 minutes, no joke.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

...I'm afraid to say how much I like this for fear it will jinx the amaze results I've been having! Ok, so I am supes oily! Like...all day errr day. I have never found a product that controlled it and pretty much everything breaks me out. I have to stick to super simple products. I was afraid to try this because I thought it might break me out, however, I have been using for about a week and a half and I am IN LOVE with this stuff. After an 8 hour work day I'm slightly oily! It has made such a dramatic difference in my oil production...which also, I think is contributing to much fewer breakouts! So far so good, may be my fav ever.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us