Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle

 Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle
Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle - List

4.4

27 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water/Aqua/Eau, SD Alcohol 40 (Alcohol Denat), Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetrimonium Chloride, Fragrance/Parfum, Cetearyl Alcohol, Amodimethicone, Cyclomethicone, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Panthenol, Trideceth 12, Sodium Benzoate, Methylisothiazolinone, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Courmarin, Hexyl Cinnamal, Linalool, Limonene

Start your review


on 6/11/2018 3:21:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Got this as a sample in a Birchbox and I would spring for a full size. It leaves a light yet penetrating coat on your hair so you can comb the snarls out without ripping your hair. The fragrance is a strong Pink Sugar (sweet caramel) fragrance that is nearly edible. Like pretty much all leave-in conditioners, my hair was a bit gummy the next day (I have baby-fine, color-treated, thyroid-med-destroyed fragile, aging hair. That sheds like crazy.) But this was much lighter than the Unite products I had been using post-Brazilian Blowout (same scent, though). This one is definitely worth a try.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 2/1/2017 7:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this product I bleach my hair and my natural hair is dark this stuff leaves my hair so soft and I really think it has a lot to do with my hair finally growing and looking so healthy it is my BABY!!! I am on bottle 5!!!! never will I go back to anything else... they would have to top this .. oh and the smell my hubby loves the smell.. kinda fruity I LOVE THIS!! I spray it on my wet hair after my shower and before I run a comb through it I have Med/Thick hair....

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 7/1/2016 12:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When it comes to my hair, I am very very low maintenance. Besides using shampoo and conditioner, all I usually do is blow dry it to give my hair a little more volume. I have fine, straight, oily hair and have always pretty much had problems with tangles.
I got a sample of this in a monthly sub box and liked the idea of trying a detangler again as it's been years. Boy, do I love this product! It smells amazing and it really does the job for me. I like that it protects my hair from the heat of the blow dryer, protects my color and detangles. I spray a few times around my scalp (about 4 inches away) and it does its job. I am definitely going to be buying this in a full size. I wish, however, that you could purchase this somewhere besides Birchbox.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This stuff is gold. My hair is fine and damaged, and I've never seen anything help my hair like this without making it greasy or flat. My hair is glossy, soft, and bouncy, even after air drying. Magic, I tell you. It does have a strong vanilla smell at first, but that quickly wears off. I get migraines and have issues with a strong scent, but this is worth it. I'm completely obsessed.

Update: After about a week, I started getting little zits all over my cheeks and chin. Total horror story. I couldn't figure out what was happening - I've got a tightly controlled skin care routine that keeps all acne at bay. I stopped using this stuff, and my skin is back to normal. Warning for anyone with acne-prone skin: avoid at all costs. I'm still trying to fade those awful marks on my cheeks.


on 3/1/2016 6:35:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This was a really nice product. I can only attest for the detangling aspect, for I don’t use heating products on my hair. I applied it after I washed my hair and it had air dried just a bit for it to be damp, sprayed it, and all my knots were very easy to detangle, and something I also noticed was that my hair didn’t frizzed up and when it was completely dry, it was very smooth. What I definitely don’t like about this product is the smell, it is a weird sweet, like old lady vanilla, and I can’t seem to tolerate much, the good thing that it does dissipate.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 2/16/2016 8:37:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I got this in my very first Birchbox in the spring of 2013 (I didn't subscribe for long). I believe this brand is exclusive to Birchbox. They really went for the gusto in the first box, and except for the fact that I couldn't spray it, I really liked this. It smells like cotton candy. It really isn't an effective detangler, so I stopped using this in favor of another product (Philip B. detangling spray) for a while, because if I sprayed too much, it also made my hair look greasy. But then, I decided I needed to use it up about a year ago, and I still probably have at least a month's worth left, even using it every day. Most days, I use two sprays on each side of my hair down toward the ends. It is by no means a miracle product, but I like it. I would buy it again if it was available somewhere other than Birchbox.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 1/23/2016 11:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Like many other reviewers, I too received this in travel size spray bottle in one of my monthly subscription boxes. I just sort of set it to the side for a while because with my super long waist length, thick and tangly prone, curly Corse mess of a mop these hair samples are (99% of the time) usually disappointing. While doing some organizing last week I found this again, noticed how cute the lil' red and black bottle actually was, and decided to give it a go. Well! To my surprise and joy, I am so glad I tried this! That same day I went online and ordered the full size - YUP! It's that good!

First off, this product does exactly as promised. It detangles, softens, and reduces frizz. It also smells insanely delish - when I use this I can't keep my friends from sniffin' my head, it's pretty funny to watch. It's also paraben and sulfate free and vegan and cruelty free - how awesome is that? While I can't vouch for the heat protectant promises bc I air dry and avoid heating tools, my presumption is it does as advertised being as how it checks the boxes with every other claim. I have absolutely no complaints or negatives to say about this product and I highly recommend it!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I received this product in one of my Birchboxes. I am in love! This works wonderfully on my thick long hair. It leaves my hair super soft and silky & smells so good. Kinda similar to the "Pink Sugar" perfume. Will definitely be purchasing the full size. Highly recommend!!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 8/21/2015 7:30:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I received this as a sample from Birchbox, and it works really well for my hair type (color treated, thinning, limp and fine). My usual leave in conditioner (Wen Replenishing Mist) will likely be replaced by this fantastic product.

The fragrance is really nice, sweet without being overpowering, and it really lasts.

The product smoothed my hair and made it silky and shiny without weighing it down at all. My hair looks phenomenal after using this, without even trying to style it!

I cant attest to how this performs as a heat protector as I dont use any heated tools to style my hair, but as a conditioner this is one of the best I have tried.

I would absolutely recommend this if you have fine hair and it gets weighed down easily with regular conditioners.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG detangler! Prior to this, I was using It's a 10 Miracle Leave-In Product. As nice as that one smells, it does not untangle my hair. Now, Beauty Protector Protect & Detangler.. now we're talking untangling! I am generous with my spraying post-shower and my hair has NEVER been easier to comb through. Where have you been all my life you wonderful detangler? I lose SO much LESS hair now. I love you. I'm on my 2nd bottle and have already bought some for friends as gifts!

One note about the scent- not sure what everyone is raving about because the scent smells straight up like a candy store to me. It IS a bit overwhelming but the detangling power-goodness of this product is so good that I can set aside my woes regarding the candy scent. Definitely will continue to buy this product as long as they produce it!

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


Back to Top