2.7

Created with Sketch.
2759 reviews
36%
would repurchase
3.3/5
package quality

price range
$15.00 on Ulta Beauty
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

Edit: I upped my tretinoin use and THIS lotion is the ONLY MOISTURIZER that doesn’t sting (aside from Vaseline and squalane oil). CeraVe, ordinary natural moisturizing factors, all the ones they recommend, ANYTHING else stings right now. This gets rid of my flakes and soothes my face and makes it look normal. I use AM & PM and also reapply as needed. DDML+ is a light-textured, basic scent free and yet *very* effective moisturizing daily lotion... definitely for VERY DRY to dry skin! It would leave a greasy mess if you don’t need major moisture! The newer clear DDM jelly is just a watery hydrating serum. It has no occlusive agents to seal anything in and thenceforth needs something over it to prevent evaporation and trans epidermal water loss (TEWL). The gel version for oilier skin, also amazing - this does have silicone to seal in hydration which IMHO makes it much more suitable for normal skin (The jelly is marketed for normal skin; gel for oily. I beg to differ since I’ve done them side by side). The gel is a great moisturizer for warmer months when you’re not super dry; I love the gel for that and mostly loved and used it when I was 35 and under & not using actives in my skincare. This product though, the DDML+, is the most emollient of the 3 (not counting the DDM cream in the jar which is TOO rich). It is a perfect super hydrating lotion that isn’t thick. Definitely the most moisturizing I’ve found for such a light consistency. The occlusive ingredients in the lotion+ are mineral oil and petrolatum. Which are the 2 best things for sealing in moisture that you can find, thus preventing TEWL. They are not, contrary to belief, pore-clogging. DDML+ also has sodium hyaluranate, lanolin alcohol, urea, sunflower seedcake, glycerin (my skin loves all of these). The moisture lasts all day or night. They come in wonderful large sanitary pump bottles. This has no bells and whistles, no ceramides or anything etc, but I do not care about that since I use a million different skincare products in my routine. I appreciate an amazing emollient basic daily lotion that can serve only to moisturize. And this does it well! You’ll need your own customized anti-aging products and spf to fit in there... which is great for me. It can be used between c serum and sunscreen in the morning; also after whatever steps I use at night, whether tretinoin, or an acid, etc. I like the no fragrance aspect: aside from scents being potential irritants, I don’t want something on my face and nose I’ll be smelling all day or night. It never ever stings when I go too hard on exfoliation or retinoids and get sensitive. It makes the skin glowy plump moist and youthful looking. It masks lines. It certainly doesn’t clog or accentuate pores. I think many people would find it too shiny to wear under makeup unless your skin is parched. I recommend this lotion wholeheartedly, for those not looking to multitask and in search of a generic yet effective moisturizer. For normal to oily skin, choose the gel. This lotion+ makes me shiny in a snap when I don’t need the extra moisture. I do not recommend the jelly for anyone. But if you did buy it to try it like me, use it as you would a hydrating serum, before a proper lotion (like this one I’m reviewing).

About reviewer (389 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel



1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

I have dry skin and live in a cold climate and this... is really not enough. Using this in winter my skin became so dry it was peeling off really bad and I had to change moisturizer to another brand. (Luckily that worked) So if your skin is very dry and/or you live in a cold place, don’t buy this.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGray


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 months ago

I love how this moisturizes my skin, and helps lessen my dry patches. It's made my combo skin kind of a more uniform type; dry patches are fewer and less flaky, and my oily t-zone is a little less oily - but this is all after using this consistently for a few weeks. It got my skin on the right track. I know a lot of people have trouble with this product, but it seems to be right for my exact certain skin type. I have so many travel & trial sizes that I pop them into my bag and use them as HAND LOTION! It helps my cuticles a lot, but I know this isn't for everyone because it does leave my hands just a little more greasy than a normal hand lotion. I know, it's a bit weird to do. And I actually kind of like the "scent" of this unscented product. It reminds me of how band-aids used to smell; that certain plastic-y scent. To summarize, I would give this an 8 on a scale of 1 to 10.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBrown

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is good stuff if it doesn't make you break out. Unfortunately, it did make me break out...badly. Noooo thanks. My skin loves Glamglow moisturizer and doesn't freak out my skin.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

The ingredients list here was super out-dated. I updated it with the ingredients listed on the box of my newest bottle (1/2019). When I was younger I would get countless little bottles of this every "Clinique Bonus Time" and I never used it. I didn't need moisturizer back then. I used steps 1 & 3 of the "Type 3" system, which didn't have the Dramatically Different Gel till about 12 years ago (if I remember correctly). I was thrilled with the gel, but now that I'm 53, my skin gets dry enough in the winter time that I feel I need a heavier night moisturizer. I LOVE this lotion. Nothing I've found (and I try everything) makes my skin feel softer or look healthier. I have this with the new "Custom Blend" cartridges (I have purple (plumping) and orange (brightening), and I believe this is the finest moisturizer, ever. I use Elta MD Clear SPF 46 everyday, and, at night, Tretinoin (for discoloration treatment) a couple days a week, and this moisturizer every night. Clinique skin care has worked beautifully for me since the 1980s (when my mother started me using it as "Estee Lauder for young women"), and now my 11 year old daughter is combating her acne with Clinique (and for moisturizer she uses the newest Dramatically Different Hydrating Jelly)...which is fantastic for me too, for daytime and hot weather. Ingredients 2019: Water\Aqua\Eau , Mineral Oil\Paraffinum Liquidum\Huile Minérale , Glycerin , Petrolatum , Stearic Acid , Glyceryl Stearate , Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Oil , Urea , Lanolin Alcohol , Triethanolamine , Hordeum Vulgare (Barley) Extract\Extrait D'Orge , Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract , Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seedcake , Propylene Glycol Dicaprate , Sodium Hyaluronate , Butylene Glycol , Pentylene Glycol , Trisodium Edta , Phenoxyethanol , Yellow 6 (Ci 15985) , Yellow 5 (Ci 19140) , Red 33 (Ci 17200)

About reviewer (825 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Olive, Warm

HairRed, Curly, Coarse

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is very weird! It has a strong and unpleasant chemical smell. Normally Clinique does fine with unscented products, but this is icky. And it absorbs terribly. The first time I used it, I actually paused and thought, “is this a joke? Or is this actually hand soap?” Because it seemed actually to foam and become more visible on my face than it was in my hand. It eventually rubs in, and once it does, it seems to moisturize ok. If I had paid for it, i would return it, but I got a large free sample, so I’ll stick it out. But I wouldn’t buy again. Too weird! And normally I am a huge Clinique fan; their sunscreen and face washes are staples of my routine, and I’ve liked many of their other moisturizers too.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairOther

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This was a disaster for me. It was okay at first but then my face became horribly red, swollen and irritated almost like having a very painful sunburn. Not sure why I had such an extreme reaction to this. Ended up in the dermatologist’s office so definitely would not ever use this again.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is a horrible reformulation. The ingredients look sexier than the older version but the lotion itself is now both thin and greasy. Broke out one day after wearing it, and to add insult to injury, it didn't moisturize my hands. Waste of money.

About reviewer (111 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

My friend bought this for me because I had complained about my skin being dry and she had heard good things about it. I guess I didn't have dry skin before because after using this, it's extremely dry. After the first use, I was okay, but by the second day, my skin felt raw, hot, itchy and extremely dry. I stopped using it, but after a couple days, my skin still hasn't healed and feels dryer than it's ever been. I feel like I burned the top layer of my skin off. I'm so upset that I ever tried this product and I wish I stopped myself from using it once I smelled the product (it smells like an unused lotion purchased in the 90s). I don't have sensitive skin in the slightest but perhaps I do now!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I wanted to believe so bad! But damn did this make me break out beyond belief. It seemed to do a good job at moisturizing and hydrating at first. Skin was in good condition, then got so much acne, it’s been really difficult to clear up, leaving so many nasty scars. And my skin is usually pretty dang resistant to most products...

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us