3.6

Created with Sketch.
92 reviews
62%
would repurchase
3.8/5
package quality

price range
$32.00 on Sephora
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I just came back to BareMinerals this summer because it was so hot/humid the IT Cosmetics CC cream I normally wear was sliding off my face. I thought I'd give it a try, but was kind of concerned because I was afraid it would settle into wrinkles and pores and make me look older. I prepped my skin with Murad Invisiblur and went in with one of my IT Cosmetic powder brushes. My skin looked airbrushed and amazing - I couldn't see where my pores were like liquid makeup tends to do and I used a light hand around my mouth so as not to highlight my wrinkles. Had lunch with a couple gay guy friends - who always tell it like it is - and they said "I don't know what you're doing to your face, but don't stop doing it, you look amazing!" How I put it on - the aforementioned Invisiblur primer, I have a travel IT cosmetic powder brush with a head less than an inch across that I use to buff in the BareMinerals. Then I go in with a concealer brush with more BareMinerals to cover any random freckles or veins. I'm still using this even though it's December and my skin looks great. I love this makeup because out of all the foundations I've tried (MAC Studio Fix powder and fluid, Revlon, IT CC cream, Makeup Forever) it seems that this is the most "invisible" on my skin. I'm also still somehow slightly oily at age 56, and this helps with that as well. For now, I'm loving it.

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesHazel



3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I absolutely love the way this foundation looks. Unfortunately, it is the only makeup I have ever used that makes my face insanely itchy. I tried the matte version, no itch with it, but it lacks the beautiful natural glow. I have tried several products under it , and it still drives me insane because I cannot handle the itch on my face.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Tan, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

Nc42 using Tan Nude love it! Color is spot on. Looks natural lasts all day! Keeper

About reviewer (35 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I upped this to 5 stars and you can find my most recent thoughts on this color’s page (warm tan). It’s the only thing that I have found that is a perfect color match to my skin ... and more. Just search bareminerals warm tan if you wana read. I’m using “warm tan” on my tanned face of around an nc42 or a shade maybe even darker. I’d used this eons ago and received compliments on my complexion by like random rednecks haha — in other words not fellow makeup sisters but men who wouldn’t know a mascara wand from a loose powder. I stopped using it I think cuz the bismuth oxychloride made me itch when I sweated. Well my skin isn’t sensitive anymore and I’m always cold and don’t sweat so I gave it another shot. I use a gigantic elf powder brush - look at the elf brushes and you’ll know the one - to buff in like they say. Yes I do the swirl tap buff just with a huge fluffy brush. I’m attaching a pic because I’m ONLY wearing the foundation and it is VERY LUMINOUS and beautiful and matches my skin. I don’t feel the need to put anything else on: concealer or bronze/blush/highlight or powder..... I’m wearing a red shirt and am tan and have a buzz cut. I’m 40. I buff in one section at a time to build a natural true medium coverage. I like the ginormous brush to diffuse the product. I don’t have eyes or lips done as to highlight the skin finish. Wears all day. I subtracted a star because it’s kinda messy and leaves brown spots in my sink under the mirror.

About reviewer (389 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I love this product. I have mature, dry, sensitive skin and rosacea. This is one of the very few foundations that I can use without inflaming my skin. I use it with the Bare Minerals primer and the mineral veil as setting powder. I honestly feel like my skin looks better after I take it off than it did when I put it on. I deducted one lipstick to give it only 4 overall because I feel it has a learning curve for use. They provide videos and explanations for application, and it works that way, but to really get it looking good I think you have to play with it and various brushes to see exactly how it works best for you, or at least I did. For example, I apply the primer with a small foundation brush, then go in with a flat eyeshadow brush and work the powder into problem areas as a sort of concealer/ first layer, then I go in with a second layer and “swirl, tap, and buff” my whole face. I’ve also had to experiment with the best way to put on the mineral veil. It took a bit of time, some wasted product, and a few days of being dissatisfied my makeup before I figured out what works best for my skin but I’m glad I stuck with it. I absolutely love it.

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

10 months ago

LOVE this foundation!!!!! Can’t believe i waited this long to finally try the bare minerals ORIGINAL!! I was actually introduced to the bare mineral brand a few years ago, only using one product, the matte version and I was in love with it so much. My skin is easily clogged so I was trying to use as minimum base product as I can cause I’m a flight attendant and have to wear make up a lot. I was only using the press powder before and even that clogs my pores. So i went looking for some other product to try. I was actually scared to use anything liquid as they were known to clog pores. So i went and picked up the matte version at bare minerals and oh my god, i was in love! I kept using it for quite some time. It didn’t clog my pores at all. BIG difference I felt in forever!!! My skin also improved so much and got soooo clear. (I also started taking more care of my skin and be as gentle i could with the skin) Then, as i was so out of date then with make up and after hearing people talking about how foundation products have improved nowadays and are non-comedogenic. I wanted to open up and give liquid foundation a try and went trying so many different liquid foundations. Nice and everything but they still do CLOG PORES. Even some skin tints do. So i came back and try my bare minerals matte again. I feel my skin clearer with it but after trying all the glowy liquid foundation, I’m not used to my skin looking matte anymore. So, i wanted to try the original. So i finally went and picked it up. And BOOM! Life changer! Amazing product!!!! You buff it really well and it blends in, the particles in the products will start to reflect the light making your skin glow and look natural. Even more natural looking with liquid concealer or blusher or any other liquid products. Sometimes, i put a bit of the by terry cc serum on top to give extra glow. It goes well with liquid as it isn’t really a powder product, just in powder form. It also lasts sooo long! 7 hours flight plus maybe 4-5 hours pre and post flight preparation. And still looks amazing after, without having to touch up. So, I’d say 12 hours stay!!!! I heard a lot of people say it breaks them out. And trust me, I do know how that feels, after buying expensive beautiful Armani foundations that works on everyone else but you! :/ So, that was one of the reasons I took this long to try cause I was scared to risk getting breakouts, and worse, scars from it. But luckily, this is the product for me. And my skin loves it! My skin feels so nice, so clean and clear right now and I also get my make up to look so amazing and glowy and natural at the same time. I’m just so EXCITED for this!!! AMAZING product!! Definitely recommended!! I also picked up the complexion rescue tinted gel along with the original. Tried it and also love it. (Though, original definitely has more coverage.) I feel this brand is super friendly to my skin. I’m super happy about that! :)

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I really wanted to like this foundation as I used to use this on when I was in high school and it worked well for me then. I have very sesntive skin that it prone to breakouts. My face has recently gotten to point that I feel confident not wearing may makeup. I was looking for something that woule be sentistive of my acne prone skin but woud still give me coverage, I tried this out yesterday, and omgsh it gave me the worst rash and small whtiehead breakouts. I dont understand why it would do this as it only has about three ingredients? well wished it worked for me but nooo, back to chanel!

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I've recently come back to this after many years as a summertime makeup. For every day I mostly wear a tinted sunscreen. Elta MD's tinted UV Clear or Sun Bums tinted mineral cream. I often add pigment drops or a liquid bronzer to adjust for my skintone but wanted a little more coverage for the summertime without the weight of another cream or liquid product that will hold up to heat and humidity. This is perfect for that and doesn't disappear if I sweat and has an added bonus of additional spf. I dont have skin irritation or breakouts from this product and combined with a bit of concealer it doesn't take much to achieve the medium coverage I'm looking for that lasts all day. I wore this to the beach and it still looked good when I got home 8 hours later after light swimming and running around after a toddler in 90 degree temps. Ironically when I was younger and my skin was oiler my face got shiney within a couple of hours when using this now that I'm older and my skin is more combination with dryer cheeks this can actually he a bit drying if I dont moisturize. I doubt I could use this in winter when my skin is dry. Primer keeps this from emphasizing my pores but that's also true for most foundations. Setting spray also helps melt this into the skin for a natural satin finish.

About reviewer (283 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Other, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

bare minerals foundation was my first experience with mineral makeup after years of using liquid foundations... and, it was quit good :) At first I was a bit afraid of loose powder, because did not knew how to use it properly, but after couple youtube video watching I start to catch up fast :) My skin became healthier, I felt more natural, became happier. For first experience of mineral powder it was really great.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I tried this out as it’s supposed to be safe for seborrheic dermatitis, and it caused me to break out terribly. The colour was very nice and matched me perfectly, but it was difficult to apply to my oily skin and went on very patchy. When I applied it very sparingly and layered it on little by little instead, it seemed to go on a lot smoother and looked very nice. My pores looked noticeably smaller and it evened out my skin tone, but after a few hours when the oiliness came back it looked patchy again. After the third day my face had started breaking out in little pimples and getting dry, flaky patches (possibly caused by aggrevated seb derm), and applying the foundation made my whole face itch and turn red. I stopped it for a few weeks and my skin cleared up, and when I tried this foundation again to see what would happen I got the exact same reaction. I stopped using the powder and had to throw it away, which was a shame because I really wanted to love it and it’s not very cheap either. I feel like the reaction was due to the bismuth oxychloride but I’m not sure. I liked the packaging a lot, and how you could turn the inside “dial” to close off the holes so no powder would come out by accident. If only every company did that! I feel like it’s not suited for oily or combination skin, but if you have a normal skin type then it can work well for you. I will not be repurchasing because of my reaction to it but I can definitely see the appeal.

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us