3.5

Created with Sketch.
23 reviews
65%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I’m half a bottle into this shampoo at a once a week usage. I’ve used several “ flavors “ from this line now and years ago. I have bsl highlighted blonde wavy hair that I usually straighten and occasionally hot roll or damp bun. This smells okay lathers really well very clean hair for a few days. Then the itchiness begins. Leaves my hair too soft, all my hair toys slip. I will go back to chamomile tea rinses for shiny hair. Will not repurchase and probably won’t finish bottles. Plus didn’t notice any extra shine, I still needed to add oil to calm my hair down. For reference I keep going back to honey treasures but hate the fake smell. My hair loves the stuff chemicals and all. I can get a week of clean nice looking hair with pony tail last day. I’ve pushed to 10 days, less blow drying better hair for me. Not a daily product junkie. No hair spray.

About reviewer (78 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue



2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I wasn't into herbal essences at the time this was originally around, or maybe I just didn't care what I used on my hair being a youngster. So I went and bought this recently and wanted to find out what all the fuss was about. The scent is okay, nothing "passionate" really. I like their naked volume shampoo scent a loooot more, it's crazy delicious. The shampoo is kinda thick and lathers okay too. But once I rinse it out, my hair is left feeling dry... not too bad, but dry still and in these cases I have to use a lot of conditioner. I also noticed my scalp getting oilier a lot quicker and getting dandruff! So this was a no no for me! I'm now using it as a hand soap since I hate wasting products.

About reviewer (94 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I'm going to be forever grateful to the person who came up with idea to bring this back. I used to love it from 1996. It was sold since 1995 and got discontinued in 2006. Since then my hair had horrible life. I've tried lots of high end stuff: Redken, Oribe, Sebastian, Kerastase, Sysley, Original Mineral, Sachajuan, Rahua, Philip B, Moroccanoil, Label M, Biosilk as well as some drugstore / grocery store brands, but nothing compares to it. I'm not the one who reads about chemicals on the bottle, not anymore, or I'll be forever stuck with Oribe, Sysley, ect... I love stuff that works and products that makes difference. My hair is dull, damaged and disastrous. I have a bad hair genes, that means I have extremely dry hair. This shampoo is the SINGLE ONE THAT MAKES MY HAIR SHINE and look less dry. It is beyond amazing for me and I recommend to everyone with dry hair to spend 5-6 $ to try it out. You might thank me later :) UPDATE: One month of using it and I have patchy dandruff all over my head. I have to wash my hair every day for them to look decent (usually I do it every other or every third day). It's not the same product as it used to be or I got more sensitive. Whatever it is I passionately hate it!

About reviewer (667 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

To start off, I LOVE the scent of this shampoo, they need to bottle it up and sell it as perfume, seriously. Unfortunately, this shampoo was wayyy too drying for my hair. I would usually see myself clogging the shower drain because of the hair loss that occurred from attempting to gently detangle my hair as a result of all of the tangles due to the culprit, sodium lauryl sulfate. Seriously, stay away from that stuff. Anything that mentions "lauryl" in the ingredients is going to be extremely harsh on your hair. Needless to say, I had to stop using it because it was extremely drying and caused tangles. I might however try the conditioner because I can't get enough of the smell. Please get rid of the sodium lauryl sulfate and I might just repurchase.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairOther, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

After reading a few good reviews on this shampoo and the conditioner that had just been launched here in the UK I decided to try it out for myself and have to say I love the products. The shampoo lathers to a rich creamy texture and rinses off with ease. Makes my hair feel squeaky clean but not harshly so. The conditioner has the same rich feeling about it and when rinsed away my hair feels clean, silky and soft. blow drying my hair left it feeling sleek, soft and fresh. I took the shampoo and conditioner away with me on holiday and haven't used any other product since. I also got my daughter to try it out (she's very fussy about her hair) and she's also converted too. Am more than happy with Clairol's Herbal Essences Shine Collection shampoo and Conditioner and won't be changing now I have found such excellent hair treatments that I love.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I have thick dry and dull hair. This shampoo has great fragrance its not too much. My hair was getting oily suddenly and with this shampoo came nice shine, softness, and my hair is lasting clean longer! Wow! I am glad this is back! **Update 03/03/14** I am not sure if its because I have gone sulfate free these past months and suddendly went back to sulfates-or it's the new Shine collection formula, but I noticed that my hair started falling out!! I started noticing small hairballs in the shower drain!!! also, when I would brush my hair some strands started to come loose... :/ I left the bottle halfway and swtiched back to the Renpure shampoos (which does NOT have SULFATES) and with a big sigh of relief noticed that my hair stopped falling out during shampoo and brushing... FRom four lippies I put it at 1...wish I could give it -1...

About reviewer (227 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinNormal, Olive, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

This stuff is so amazing! Glad to have found this at Walmart and discover that it was brought back to the market (for once consumers win!!). So I got both conditioner and shampoo (yellow bottles) and it makes my hair look sooooo good. I brought it to my sister's house, she was so impressed that she started using it. When my mom came to visit, she loved it and now I've gotten her hooked! Trust me we are product whores and not afraid to spend money on high end and imported products so take my word for how great this is! I haven't tried the pink version yet because this works so well for me. I have tried so many high end products over the last twenty+ years beginning with the Sebastian spritz way back in the late 80s/90s, Aveda, Sexy Hair, etc., etc., etc. Trust me the list goes on and on and on as I used to be a beauty supply store junkie. Anyway, middle of 2013 I was jonesing for the old smell of this shampoo (we used Herbal Essence back in the 70s when I was a kid when it was green). Well, that smell is long gone but thinking this original style shampoo was discontinued (it was for a couple years when it was replaced by the kool-aid versions with the curvy bottles tried some, hated them all and the gross smells). This stuff is exactly what I wanted: no fuss, cleans hair simply, doesn't weigh my fine hair down, good price. Together with conditioner gives your hair a sheen that you only see on children under 10. AMAZING DRUGSTORE FIND!

About reviewer (97 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

My hair: Thick, curly, dry, shoulder-length (rockin' a bob) This product was terrible! Okay, I'll be honest...When I was washing my hair with this product, my hair felt soft and manageable. The scent was really nice. It rinsed out well and I had no tangles which made the detangling process so much easier. BUT once I dried and straightened my hair...Oh my god...my hair had the greasiest film and looked dull and thin. My hair was weighed down BAD and it felt gummy. Not soft. I really wanted to like this product, but I hated the way my hair looked after using it. I would not recommend.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Olive

HairBlack

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I was so happy to see the shampoo and conditioner in my local Boots (2 x 500ml bottles for under £4) after using it right through the 90s and really missing it when they updated their line of products. The smell is beautiful, clean and fresh but not synthetic. I think it is strong enough that my hair still smells great the day after washing but it doesn't interfere with my perfume. I find the formula very clarifying but it does not strip my hair at all. I have an oily scalp but I'm prone to sensitivity. This shampoo feels very soothing - I have been using it for a couple of weeks and there is no sign of dryness of itchiness. I tend to be fickle with shampoo and conditioner but as long as I'm able to purchase this line I will continue to use it.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I'm so excited to review this product, well I just recently purchased this when I saw it in stores, I was looking for any clarifying or gentle shampoo. I had gone through a bs allergic reaction to my previous shampoo and conditioner (matrix biolage hydrotherapié) I saw this and the smell really did allure me it looked fairly gentle and clarifying I do use this shampoo with the shine collection (pink bottle with rose hips) conditioner, I have been getting constant compliments on the smell of my hair. This shampoo has not failed to blow me away, since the first day I used it it took away my itch and red bumps from the allergy, my hair is so much shinier and luxurious it feels a lot cleaner and I love that the shampoo is in a gel type consistency rather than the latest shampoos that have a more thick pasty consistency! I love the packaging myself but I feel like it doesn't really catch a customers eye, I do feel like they should redesign the packaging to look a little bit more updated, not extremely flashy colors with funky bottle shapes like the modern herbal essences but still a clear bottle with more color! This product has really stolen my heart, my hair has stopped falling out too!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinOily, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us