Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay in Place Makeup

Filtered by hair type : Straight
Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay in Place Makeup

4.1

254 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: water/aqua/eau, cyclopentasiloxane, trimethylsiloxysilicate, peg/ppg-18/18 dimethicone, butylene glycol, tribehnin, polyglyceryl-3 diisostearate, magnesium sulfate, tocopheryl acetate, polymethylsilsequioxane, methicone, laureth-7, xantham gum, alumina, sodium dehydroacetate, disteardimonium hectorite, cellulose gum, propylene carbonate, pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate, phenoxyethanol, [ /- iron oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI77499), mica, titanium dioxide (CI 77891)]

Start your review


on 3/6/2013 7:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Now, if you had asked me to review this a few months ago, i would have called it the God of all foundations, the ultimate, no comparison, untouchable, the list goes on, but what they have turned this once flawless foundation into has completely broken my heart, and caused nothing but absolute despair.


After suffering with very bad acne for the majority of my life, and going through 15+ years of using several different foundation brands to find the match that suited me, i finally came across this about a year ago *how i did not know of it sooner... wow...*, not only did it cover up every spot, every scar, every blemish, and every hint of redness on my face, but it did not oxidize into an orange blobish mess, stayed put even when swimming, through heat, through cold, rain, sweat, everything, but it lasted all day, and to finish it off a little would go a loooong way. It was the first foundation that matched my very pale skin tone, and the first to not break me out... WHAT ON EARTH HAVE YOU DONE?!


For the first time in over a decade I had confidence, I had heard of this foundation from Cassandra Bankson who at the time was a young woman who had suffered from the worst cystic acne, ever. She appeared on the news after she had received many Youtube hits for her video on how she used this makeup to hide ALL of her redness *and she was as red as a tomato*, her scars, everything Needless to say I rushed out and tried this because if it could cover HER FACE and make her look FLAWLESS then WOAH.


But why? What possessed you to change the BEST FOUNDATION EVER CONCIEVED into this complete travesty? And what is even more disturbing is the price remains the same? Yet the quality is that of some of the cheapest drugstore brand makeup? Disgusting, deplorable, inconceivable, why why why why WHY!!?!?!
So MANY people with abysmal acne problems have used your foundation for a very long time and have come to rely on it to have the confidence to show their faces in public, why would you do this to us? After years of searching for such a gem and you do this? Not only have you lost and will continue to lose many customers, but you have also lost a huge amount of respect for your foundation to turn out like the rubbish Avon produces it makes my mind boggle


This new formula causes breakouts, barely has 1/3rd of the staying power, oxidizes into a grose blotchy mess, is much thinner and does not cover anywhere near as well as it used to, has no SPF, the old colours have been replaced with new ones that are no where near the colours of the old versions, with the lighter colours like Shell removed completely *and the lighests colour now doesn't even come close*, and it does not apply well at all how you could market it for the same price is its just a complete scam.


For the love of everything, bring back the old formula, and bring back the old colours, DONT FIX THAT WHICH ISNT BROKEN!!!!

13 of 14 people found this helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my new HG foundation! I'm one of those unfortunate people who can only buy oil free foundations because any foundation that has oil, oxidizes and turns orange or darker on me. And it's because of this reason I started to use BB creams more than foundations. This foundation gave me excellent coverage for a flawless look that I love. I apply this foundation with the Real Techniques buffing brush. Rattan 2W2 is my perfect shade! No oil, no orange, no breakouts and it's transfer resistant! I also use this with Laura Mercier foundation primer, so I don't know how it would hold up without, sorry ladies. Although I have dry-combination skin, this does not accentuate my dry spots because I tend to really moisturize my skin prior to applying. And this foundation is also great on photos too since it has no SPF, so no white faces! Haha! Only cons I can say about this foundation are that it's not easy to blend and you can really feel you have foundation on your face! My previous HG was Kat Von D's Lock-It foundation, but I find that this is a better color match and last longer as well.


More about my Skin Type and Other Concerns: Light-Medium, Neutral-Warm (yellow) undertone, tans easily (hardly burns), easily irritated, clear/no breakouts(only during menstrual cycle), dry-combination and very little to no wrinkles.

Other foundations tried or did not like either because it oxidized(orange), made my skin oily, or has a pink undertone regardless of how warm and yellow it claims to be: Urban Decay(worst highend), Nars Sheer Matte, Kat Von D Lock It, Cover Girl, Revlon, Almay, Laura Mercier, L'Oreal, Prescriptives, Bourjois, Maybelline(Worst drugstore found), MAC, Chanel, Christian Dior, Cargo, Shiseido, IMAN, Make Up For Ever

MY Shades in other foundations:
Kat Von D: Medium 52
MAC: NC-30/35
Christian Dior: Linen 021
Urban Decay: 2
Laura Mercier: 3(Powder Foundation), Sunny Beige(Liquid), Ochre Tinted Moisturizer
Nars: Ceylan
Chanel: 40 or 50
Shiseido: O20 or O40 (Ochre)
L'Oreal: Nude Beige
Bourjois: 52 Vanille
Revlon: Sand Beige
Covergirl: Nude Beige 832
Make Up For Ever: HD Invisible (120), Mat Velvet (No.40), Face&Body (Alabaster Beige 32)

10 of 11 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Full coverage, long lasting foundation, no breakouts or skin irritations, fully covers my redness (mild rosacea) and several melasma spots = what's not to like? So glad you asked:


1. the bottle - really EL folks, come on - get into the 21st century and put a pump on it!


2. price - nuff said.


For reference, I'm : MAC = NC15; EM (semi-matte) = Fairly Light; Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 hour = #100 Ivory; Revlon ColorStay = #150 Buff; Avon Smooth Minerals Pressed Foundation = T04 Nude; EL Double Wear = Desert Beige; Jane Iredale = pressed base in Bisque; Lumene CC Cream = Fair; Smashbox Camera Ready CC = Fair.


I am usually all about finding the cheaper dupes for the expensive products, but in this case, I will spend the extra $ and here's why:


1. Coverage lasts about 14 hours if I don't seal w/ Urban Decay All Nighter. Coverage lasts about 10-11 hours w/out. Since I will always have UD, this is not an issue for me.


2. I no longer have to use undereye concealer for my undereye circles OR color corrector to hide my redness - this foundation completely covers both which is THRILLING regarding my redness because I absolutely HATE HATE HATE my redness showing through!!! This product has taken a 3 step process and reduced it to to 1 step = saves me time + $$ :) (PS - also fully covers my 3 melasma spots) :)


I apply w/ my slightly damp BeautyBlender sponge = I get fabulous,even, non-cakey full coverage. I haven't tried any other application method since this one works so well for me! On days that my redness is less red, I can thin this out by using a more damp BB sponge = love the options! UPDATE = I now exclusively use my Real Techniques Miracle Sponge since its far cheaper and performs exactly the same as my BB :)


Now - about the stupid bottle - I purchased a MAC pump top purported to fit this bottle (I actually purchased off Ebay for $7) and WHEEEE - it fits like a glove! Comes w/ cover and a locking option for travel!!


Do be aware that I obtained samples from 2 different department stores that lasted me about 1.5 months so I really got to test drive this product before investing in it. I suggest having a SA apply to a spot on your face and then take 1 of their mirrors and go stand outside to get the true color. The first SA I visited applied 3 different colors to different areas and gave me the absolute wrong opinion as to which shade was appropriate for me. I didn't figure that out (it looked fine in the store) until I checked outside in my car = lesson learned!


Finally - I did also test drive EL Double Wear in Light (01) - see my review - I like the regular DW better only because Light didn't 100% cover my redness and there is no way to increase the coverage level w/out going back to using a color corrector whereas w/ the regular DW, I can thin out the coverage if I want to as discussed above.

10 of 10 people found this helpful.


on 7/24/2015 8:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue


I often swap between MAC Studio Fix and Estee Lauder Double Wear as my two main foundation staples - these two foundations are my favourites. Ive broken down pros and cons below.

COLOUR - MAC Studio Fix has a larger variety of shades/depths which personally results in a better match to my skin tone. Estee Lauder Double Wear has quite a distinct WARM/COOL colour to their base and I personally find matching a little harder (only a tiny bit!). This really is just a minor point.

COVERAGE - MAC Studio Fix is VERY buildable - you can layer it when going out or wear it lighter for the day. You can reapply to cover spots/blemishes/under eyes very easily over and over throughout the day without noticing the layering. * When you re-layer Estee Lauder Double Wear I find that it appears to shows the layers a little more, with slightly darker/lighter bits- its as if the Estee Lauder Double Wear layers and seals on the first application, so if you add another layer it doesnt sit as well. If you layer Estee Lauder Double Wear up on your FIRST application, it does last very well.

CONCEALERS - the MAC Studio Fix concealer mixes well with MAC Studio Fix Foundation but often creases under my eyes and rubs off on my nose it doesnt handle grease on the skin very well. The Estee Lauder Double Wear concealer (double wear) is lovely and really compliments the foundation - it smooths on so easily and matches perfectly - a REALLY good concealer with this foundation - a must have love it!

FINISH - MAC Studio Fix is quite a natural finish it looks lovely when first applied but can get a little greasy as the day goes on for my skin. Estee Lauder Double Wear does not get greasy and has a lovely sheer luminous coverage from start to finish (dewy not glowy!) it lasts!!!

POWDERING - if you powder MAC Studio Fix the consistency and texture doesnt change much, as long as you use a light powder then it shouldnt cake; a heavy one can start to show a little. Estee Lauder Double Wear has no caking at all when powdered.

STAYING POWER - Estee Lauder Double Wear definitely has more staying power. MAC Studio Fix tends to rub off as the day goes on and is more transferrable than Estee Lauder Double Wear. My MAC Studio Fix will often transfer onto my boyfriends face after a kiss, the Estee Lauder Double Wear doesnt!! I feel confident that my face will stay put 100% with Estee Lauder Double Wear - even when Im hot.

Ive tried Lancme Tient Idole, Chanel PERFECTION LUMIRE and Matchmaster from MAC and so far my two favourites are MAC Studio Fix and Estee Lauder Double Wear.

If i HAD to pick one - it would be Estee Lauder - for the lovely finish (its lush!) and the staying power! xxx

PS. I do wish it had a pump - but i just tip it onto my brush/fingers or use a little brush to get it out. :)

8 of 8 people found this helpful.


on 3/17/2015 12:57:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have tried literally every high end foundation at Sephora and I keep coming back to this one (I am on my fourth bottle). I have extremely oily skin and have been struggling to find a long-wearing foundation that will not separate because of the oils on my skin and this appears to be the only foundation that does not do that. When I say EVERY foundation at Sephora, I literally mean every brand. I think that the ELDW is the closest to a holy grail for me. Keep in mind, my skin is literally so oily that I need 7 oil blotting sheets a day, along with constant powdering or else I will literally look like an oily frying pan. No foundation lasts for more than 5 hours on my face, and I feel the need to take off my entire face makeup and re-do because my skin is THAT oily. The only downside to this foundation is that it will accentuate your dry patches (especially in Western Canadian weather), so you really need to moisturize and exfoliate well before application. In addition, the packaging has no pump which makes it really messy and I tend to get it everywhere, especially when I'm starting to run out and have to flip it upside down to get the bits out. Overall, I REALLY am in love with this foundation and would keep repurchasing until I find something better to control oily skin.

8 of 8 people found this helpful.


on 10/13/2014 11:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

*UPDATE* January 2015: This foundation causes clogged pores! I wanted to love it. I really wanted to keep using it but I've ruled out everything else and ever since discontinuing the use of this foundation, my face is finally clearing up. I didn't realize I was breaking out since I'm on a strong antibiotic for acne so the new pimples on my face don't last long and they go away really quickly. However, I did notice I had TONS of clogged pores after about a week of use of this foundation. I had clogged pores all over my forehead -- somewhere I NEVER break out. I haven't had a pimple on my forehead in years!!! I tried to rule out everything other than this foundation because I loved the finish it gave me, the longevity, the shade match, and everything I ever wanted in a foundation but unfortunately something in this product breaks me out. My face is still recovering from the clogged pores it gave me, they're only coming to a head now-- about a month after they got clogged. It's honestly such a disappointment because I love this foundation so much but I can't keep using it. Thank God my hyper-pigmentation is fading so I don't need to use such a full-coverage foundation but even so, I loved the finish this foundation gave... Ugh. Just a warning for any extremely acne-prone ladies out there!

8 of 9 people found this helpful.


on 8/28/2014 3:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This foundation, along with Nars Sheer glow are my Holy Grails.

Over the last few years, I have used TONS of foundations. Especially those of high end, since I find many drugstore foundations tend to run pink or does not provide the coverage and finish that I like.

My skin type: I have dry skin in the winter and oily skin in the summer.

My coloring: Usually NC25 (can be NC30 in the summer), light-yellow Asian undertone

In the Winter, I wear 2W1-Dawn
In the Summer, I wear 2W2-Rattan

I also wear these foundations: Nars Sheer glow in Fiji, Nars Tinted Moisturizer in Alaska, , Mac Studio Fix in NC20, Bare Escentuals in Light, Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation in 3.0.

This foundation glides over skin, provides a Matte and glowy canvas that adheres to the skin. I find that it provides medium coverage, that is very good at oil controlling. I have used the older formulation and do notice a difference. The old formulation dried quicker, was more matte and better at oil controlling. However, this new formula has more colors and is thinner and more runny. I talked to the Estee Lauder rep and though it does not say there is spf on the bottle, it does indeed have SPF 10 in the new formula. However, under FDA guidelines, cosmetic companies cannot disclose spf if it is under SPF 15. So, this foundation would not look well under flash photography. I love this foundation because it creates a perfect canvas, is long lasting as I hate to reapply, is oil controlling, and provides flawless coverage. I also notice that my face looks glowy-er as they day wears on but not oily. This foundation comes in a glass rectangular bottle with no pump which is not travel friendly. However, you may buy a pump from Mac for about $10 that fits perfectly.


This is one foundation that I will never be without.

8 of 8 people found this helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Definitely one of my top 3 foundations of all time. I didn't give it a perfect 5 star rating because I don't use it by itself anymore, I always mix it with either one of my other 2 favorites (Lancome Tient Idole Ultra 24hr or L'oreal Infallible Pro Matte). I used to use this foundation by itself in the old formula years ago but my needs and preferences in foundation have since changed and this doesn't quite fit the bill on its own anymore. But when mixed, the combo becomes holy grail for me.

For reference, I have mostly oily, sensitive, acne-prone skin but can have some dry patches here and there.
All the info down below is based on the foundation by itself, not mixed and applied with a flat top brush (Sigma F80).

--Texture & Application--
Not very thick, a little runny but it's not too thin either. You don't need much, a little goes a long way and it blends in very smoothly and very easily. I don't find it dries too quickly but that depends on your skin and it's still best to work in sections.
--Coverage & Finish--
High medium/medium-full coverage depending on your skin but it definitely can be built up to complete full coverage (it's best to build up in thin layers - careful not to build up too much or it can go cakey). The finish isn't too matte, it's more of a natural matte or demi-matte. I feel this foundation can work for almost all skin types, including dry depending on how you prep beforehand. I find it to not settle in pores or lines for me and it looks overall very smooth and flawless. It takes a couple minutes for it to set completely on me and a smidgen of slight tackiness still remains so in my opinion, it doesn't dry down to a powder finish and it's best set with a light powder. It doesn't tend to look cakey on me but it's not a super natural foundation. Though because it's not too matte, it doesn't look overly unnatural either. Out of all 3 of my favorites, this is the most forgiving in terms of dryness. It's not quite as apt to clinging onto things as much as the other two can. Really pretty finish.
--Feel & Wear--
It's not the most lightweight foundation (not as lightweight as the Lancome or L'oreal), I can sorta feel it on but neither is it too heavy. It wears really well, the current longest wearing foundation out of my 3 favorites. Sadly, it's not as long wearing as the original formula though. It wears well in heat, humidity, sweat and water. I could wear it for a full 24 hours if I wanted (though it probably wouldn't look very good). Oddly enough, it's oil control though, is not quite as good as the Lancome or the L'oreal - probably due to it not being completely matte. It still has good oil control but not the best I've come across. I don't find it to dry my skin out at all either.

Overall, I love this foundation and it's worth the money. I notice a huge difference in the way my skin looks with this foundation vs a lot of cheaper foundations, it just looks way better. The color selection is also very nice and the undertones it comes in matches my skin tone perfectly which can be hard to find for me. But seriously Estee Lauder..you're going to increase the price from $34- $38 in just a matter of a couple years and still not put a pump on it?? Please, please..just put a damn pump on it, please.

7 of 7 people found this helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

After hearing so many wonderful things about this foundation, I thought I'd give it a try. I got some samples from the Estee Lauder counter, and found a match for my skin tone in Cool Bone. That is pretty much the last good thing I can say about this foundation. As a woman with mature skin (43, combination, large pores, fine lines, orange peel texture in spots) this foundation was a NIGHTMARE. It literally accentuated every single thing wrong with my skin. It sunk into my pores, gooped up around my nose and into the orange peel textured skin between my eyes, it also accentuated every fine line around my eyes...it was literally a hot mess on my face. I used this with 3 different primers, thinking it may help, it was the same with every single one. I think if you have great skin, and you just need something to cover some redness or a few blemishes then this will probably work for you, but if you have some bigger issues, well....GET A SAMPLE first, because it could save you from making a costly mistake.

7 of 8 people found this helpful.


on 9/18/2015 8:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I WANTED TO LOVE THIS SO BAD.

I read numerous reviews on how this didn't break people out and how it combatted oil all day and still looked natural but THIS ABSOLUTELY 100% DID NOT DO THAT FOR ME.

I'll start with the good because I feel like it is an amazing and luxurious foundation, it just didn't work on me the way I wanted it to and thought it would have.

First off, the shade I got was a PERFECT MATCH for my fair skin, I got the shade 1N1. So it's pretty light and ridiculously fair. I applied it on freshly washed, dried AND moisturized skin with some Benefit's Porefessional on my T-zone and my Almay primer (the one with the green and purple swirl on the inside). I then used a damp Real Techniques makeup sponge and began to blend the product all over my face.
I don't know if it's just me (it might be, judging by the reviews on this) but I found that with a light layer of this on, it didn't cover any acne or acne scarring for me. Yet, when I would add more foundation on, it just looked too cakey.

Ahh, here's the best part. The wear throughout the day. It was HORRIBLE for me. My skin is SUPER OILY, and it didn't combat that at all. The oil separated the foundation on my face and left me shiny really badly and it even separated badly on my chin, around my mouth, on my nose, and my forehead. It looked disgusting, and when I got home, I was mortified that I was walking around campus all day looking like that! It was gross!
I gave this a go a few more times and I kept getting the same result: gross and oily.

Oh and this broke me out super bad all over my forehead and all over my chin. The best part is that I just got rid of my acne and now it's back. It took 2 years to get rid of it all, too. Back to square one, I guess. Ugh.

I have yet to find a concealer/foundation that won't break me out and won't separate all over my skin. I'm still on the hunt for one because I am DESPERATE.

Overall, I personally wouldn't purchase again. It was too expensive anyway for the amount you get, too.

7 of 7 people found this helpful.


Back to Top