Hakuhodo J5523 Eyeshadow Brush

Hakuhodo  J5523 Eyeshadow Brush
J5523 Eyeshadow BrushJ5523 Eyeshadow Brush

5.0

19 reviews

100% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 9/13/2018 11:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

The fact that this brand was difficult for me to obtain (small town in Canada) had me waiting a long time before making an order, after I missed out in finding the shop in Tokyo... turns out, yes, I did get hit with custom fees when ordering from Hakuhodo, on top of the shipping fee. Still, it was an experience like never before with saikoho!

I used to use brushes mainly available to me without being ordered online because I like to see/touch the brushes prior to purchasing, but I was glad I took a leap of faith (am I sounding dramatic yet) but these are honestly the softest goat hair brushes I have felt, and at such a reasonable price point! I can't believe how many backups of the MAC 217 I used to purchase before finding this gem. Honestly, there is no other way to describe it other than ':|' (Granted Mac does have one soft goat brushe prior to going synthetic with the MAC 222.)

I would purchase these again but the custom fees do make me cringe. I am definitely going to try to find the Hakuhodo shop next time I am in Japan as there is no IMATS that comes near me.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 6/21/2018 4:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This is the most used brush in my collection. It's the perfect shape and density for applying and blending powder shadows in my crease. The skin around my eyes is very sensitive and it is so soft that I don't need to worry about irritation. I'm purchasing several more as backups in my next Hakuhodo order.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Not impressed by MAC217 or want a better version of it, buy Hakuhodo J5523. This might be the best brush purchase you've ever made.
Like other reviewers mentioned it's super soft and dense at the same time. It's great for a light all over lid color application, it blends crease to perfection in no time. It's a perfect blending brush that everyone who uses makeup needs to have.
My eyes are super sensitive and Hakuhodo is the only brand that I have a pleasure to use brushes from. Luxury experience.
P.S. The brand claims that it's cruelty-free and they do not harm animals to harvest the fur.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is one of the best Hakuhodo blending brushes. I really love it; it is better than MAC's 217 and is actually cheaper!

I use mine on a daily basis and it is still good as new; is very easy to clean and has softest goat bristles. Doesn't shed and keeps better shape than 217. I could have about 4-5 of these in my kit and use them non-stop for all sorts of things (packing on colour, blending, applying concealer etc.). Very durable and well-designed brush. If you want to read more about my must-have Hakuhodo brushes, including J5523 then this post is for you (http://www.partyparrotblog.com/single-post/2017/11/12/Hakuhodo-Brush-Collection). Really hope my images and reviews help you guys!

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


on 11/28/2016 3:18:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My first Hakuhodo brush was an emergency (kind of?) purchase as I suspected that my cheaper eyeshadow brushes (*cough* Revlon *cough*) were scratching my eyelids so bad that it caused what feels like small cuts. I wanted a natural brush after finding out that they were much softer and much better, and after learning about Hakuhodo and how far better it was I was sold. And just touching it you can FEEL the difference. It's a pleasure to use on the eyes, and blends eyeshadow so beautifully. Will definitely purchase more from them.


on 7/6/2016 11:32:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Initially, I was dead set on buying a MAC 217 as my blending brush. I have used it before and was able to get a feel of how the brush would work. My problem was that (imo) the bristles were scratchy to get any real work done quick. I did my research and came across the Hakuhodo brand and what intrigued me was that they are an OEM of other high-end brushes. Crazy enough, they were talked about so highly- and I can see why. The price point for the quality is absolutely amazing. It is expensive but for a high quality brush, I think I can turn the other cheek on the price. If you're in the market for a high quality, real hair brush, check out Hakuhodo. Not just a phenomenal brush but the brand as a whole is great. Read more about it! You're missing out on an incredible experience.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 5/30/2016 11:21:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I discovered Hakuhodo brushes watching Tati on youtube. I was afraid they where going to be super expensive and to my surprise some of them where more affordable than Mac. The most expensive brush I owned at that time was a Mac 217 and I wanted more 217, so I decided to give this a try since they have pretty much the same shape and it costed only 19+shipping versus the 30CAD+txt I payed for the mac. I ordered 2.
The end of the story is that I gave away my Mac for feeling plain scratchy and pokey next to this one and went on ordering more Hakuhodo brushes. Now there's no going back for me.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 9/16/2015 9:23:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Look no further for the perfect blending brush. If you have the opportunity to acquire a Hakuhodo brush, go, actually run for it. The J5523 is the closest MAC 217 dupe made by Hakuhodo. It is made of white goat hair with a round-oval but flattened head. Also the J5523 is a fraction smaller than the 217. I have both and the Hakuhodo is far superior when you blend out your eyeshadow. It has just the perfect shade to fit into the crease and does its job so effortlessly. I find the MAC to be a bit scratchy, more expensive and it tends to lose its shape when you wash it. I know MAC is widely available pretty much everywhere, but once you try a Hakuhodo brush you'll never go back. They have become my weakness and I am slowly building my collection. If you are a brush fanatic, start yours!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 9/15/2015 9:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Amazing, so much better than Mac it's not even funny. If you don't have this you need to order it today...along with many other Hakuhodos. This brush feels like silk on your eyes and blends effortlessly. Can't live without.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

Excellent brush. It's really the better version of MAC 217. It is ever so soft but yet firm enought to apply the main colour onto the eye lid and blend it out to perfection. It does it all. I have been using it daily for the past 3 months and am going to purchase one more because it's really that one brush I go to in my stash and always think that I should get at least one (or even two) more :)

4 of 5 people found this helpful.


Popular Makeup Brushes


make-up brushes
make-up brushes
27 Reviews
Brushes
Brushes
105 Reviews

Popular Makeup Brushes

make-up brushes
make-up brushes
27 Reviews
Brushes
Brushes
105 Reviews
Back to Top