Lumene Vitamin C+ Illuminating Anti-Age BB Cream

Lumene Vitamin C+ Illuminating Anti-Age BB Cream
Vitamin C+ Illuminating Anti-Age BB CreamVitamin C+ Illuminating Anti-Age BB CreamVitamin C+ Illuminating Anti-Age BB CreamVitamin C+ Illuminating Anti-Age BB CreamVitamin C+ Illuminating Anti-Age BB Cream


127 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$


Octinoxate 6.0% Alumina, Ascorbic Acid, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Boron Nitride, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Caprylyl Glycol, Chondrus Crispus (Carrageenan), (CI 77891) Titanium Dioxide, Citric Acid, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance, Glycerin, Iron Oxides, Laureth-7, Lecithin, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate, PEG-20 Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate, PEG-8, Phenoxyethanol, Polyacrylamide, Rubus Chamaemorus (Cloudberry) Seed Oil, Silica, Sodium Hydroxide, Sorbic Acid, Sorbitan Stearate, Stearic Acid, Tocopherol, Triisostearin PEG-6 Esters, Water, Xanthan Gum.

on 7/17/2016 10:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is the first BB cream that I've been not only getting along with, but also been loving! There's really only one bad thing about it, and I'll get that out of the way right now: the colour selection. Or rather, the lack thereof. It's available in two shades only; light and medium. As a northern, fair skinned person, I've appreciated Lumene specifically because of their range of light shades. But in this case, the shade light in this BB cream is NOT light at all. At the start of a so far mostly rainy summer, I can barely get away with using it. I look a little too bronze-y, a little bit too dark, and the shade is really too warm as well. In the winter there's no way in hell that I could ever use it. So, shade range is really shit, essentially.

The formula though, is everything that I've been wanting in a BB cream but never found before. It evens out the skin beautifully, it sets well (I sometimes don't even use powder to set it, which is a first), it doesn't settle pores and lines weirdly, but also doesn't slide around on top of the skin like other BB creams tend to do on me. It's not completely matte, nor dewy - it just gives a bit of a glow without looking oily. The staying power is impressive as well, and even when it does wear off a bit it does so very gracefully. My nose and my chin are places where foundation and BB creams always tend to get patchy and wear off weirdly during the day, but not with this one. Again, if it wasn't for the crappy shade range, this would be a perfect 5/5.

+ Cruelty free
+ Has some natural and beneficial ingredients
+ SPF 20
+ Evens out the skin in a very natural looking way
+ Fairly buildable for a BB cream
+ Wears really well throughout the day
+ Generous size (50ml / 1.7 fl oz)

- Only two shades, and the light shade isn't very light at all

3 of 3 people found this helpful.

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this bb cream. It has a very nice finish too it, not too dewy and not too matte. I like to set it with a powder and it looks great. I don't really like wearing thick or heavy foundations so this is perfect. It isn't too thick or heavy, it feels pretty lightweight. It also has great coverage for a bb cream and has spf for sun protection. I really like how flawless this makes my face look, I even got complimented at work on how smooth my skin looked. This is definitely a keeper!

3 of 3 people found this helpful.

To Read all 127 Reviews, Login or Join

Login with Google

on 5/21/2016 11:32:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love it. Have tried numerous other brands and this one is by far the best one for my dry "red-headed" pale skin. Even more expensive brands have not compared and I am ready for my third tube.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.

on 4/30/2016 4:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I'm impressed by the quality of this BB. Best one I've ever yet tried so far and I've tried many (among the ones worth mentioning are lumene CC - too thick and full coverage, etude house cottonfit - their darkest shade still too light on my NC40, missha #27 - too oily and wouldn't stay put on my face no matter the baking).

Someone was throwing this away on a local Huuto cuz she was complaining that the medium shade looks rather too dark, so I was like what the heck and purchased it for a mere 4e (including delivery). And I'm so glad that I did cuz i found this to be my complete HG!

Despite the fact that it's supposed to give a dewy finish (which it did), it didn't slide, transfer, easy to set and gives a pretty tightening finish as if you were just wearing the vitamin c serum from the same brand.

At the end of the day, it still looks natural, didn't feel icky that I needed to take it off right away. And i got compliments regarding my skin. They probably though I was using some dior or armani illuminating foundations. But for even the original price, this beats it.

Lumene might have mixed the matte and the dewy formula. Since the matte one is like oil slick and suitable for more dry skin. And this one I found to be very oil skin friendly.

Im so thrilled that a local product could beat my inclination towards Korean BB and even found a shade that matches nc40! Will always repurchase.

on 4/16/2016 10:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this BB Cream to get more anti-aging properties than what I had been using (Aveda) and also to (hopefully) get a lighter feel on my skin. It was cheap enough I figured I 'd give it a try. I used it for a week and then ended up throwing it out. The color was OK, but it was just too thick and heavy. As soon as I got home after work each day I would immediately need to wash it off my face because I just couldn't stand the thicky (thick and sticky) feeling any longer. I ended up just using a foundation instead. Shouldn't BB/CC creams/ tinted moisturizers be lighter since they aren't "real" makeup? Back to the drawing board for me to find an spf 30+ daily no makeup makeup.

on 4/10/2016 12:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've tried several BB creams but none provide enough coverage for my ruddy complexion. This BB cream is slightly thicker than most and has decent coverage, not quite as much as my usual Chanel foundation but enough for a casual look. It did tend to accentuate my dryness a little so would probably be best for oily to normal skin (my skin is SUPER dry). But mixed with a little moisturizer the "Light" hue gave a lovely finish though it was a bit on the "warm" side color wise, not the best for my very pale with rose undertones. I your skin is a warm hue, and you don't have very dry skin I think you would love this.

on 3/22/2016 10:58:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Ok I'm really digging this! The texture is somewhat thick but blendable. It has a somewhat dry but cushiony and luminous finish if that makes sense. I did recommend this to a friend but it was too dry for her skin. I think this is ideal for combo/oily skin although if you use a really good moisturizer or serum I think this could work on dryer skin but what do I know about that? I find this blurs pores and discolorations fairly well makes my skin look healthy and natural.
When I first picked this up in MEDIUM shade I realized it was too dark and orange for my winter skin NC25 so I bought the LIGHT shade and thought it was great until I looked at my face on sunny day in my car - too pink. The good news is I found a way to really make this work for me. I have a little yellow concealer wand by Physician's Formula that I use for pigmentation spots so I mixed a couple dabs of that on the back of my hand with a dollop of the Lumene BB and it not only corrected the color problem but it added a little more coverage while still keeping the natural look of the BB cream. I'm going to try and find a larger yellow concealer for this because the one I have is a twin so it's not a lot of product and I will run out too soon I'm afraid. I also use a tan mineral powder to warm this up a bit but the color of this combo matches my neck perfectly - LOVE IT! I'm already thinking ahead now to summer. I want to try adding a little covergirl 3 in 1 in a tan shade to warm it up to NC30-35, make it last longer and mattify it a little because I am worried that this might be too dewy for me in humid months.
I can't speak to the the therapeutic properties (VIT C) of this because I haven't been using it long enough but I did read on beautypedia that the sunscreen in this is not adequate. That doesn't bother me much but it's good to know if you are going to be exposed for a period of time to double up with a good spf.

2 of 2 people found this helpful.

on 2/25/2016 5:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my HOLY GRAIL product and have been using this for years. I will never go back to any other bb creams or foundations. I have combination skin and this tames dry spots and stays well on oily spots. To explain it better: when my skin gets oily I don't sweat through this bb cream, but INTO it creating an airbrushed look. This bb cream looks even better after you've sweated into it.

I use the Light shade and it is a little orangey but I wear white Cerave face sunscreen which takes away the orangeness completely. However this is NOT for very fair skin, it is much too warm.

My skin looks 100x better than it actually is when I wear this bb cream. This IS on the dewey side, you will not look matte at the end of the day if you have oily skin. When I was in high school I used to wear CoverGirl's clean foundation and I remember it feeling and smelling so icky. This bb cream never feels icky, even on the hottest summer day.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.

on 1/21/2016 3:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

An amazing product! It is my first BB cream (and first Lumene product) and I decided to try this since it had pretty good reviews and I wanted something lighter than foundation. It is very light in consistency, between a tinted moisturizer and light foundation. I am very cool toned (NC 25-35 in MAC for reference) and this is perfect for me, does not oxidize or look orange / dirty on me (I purchased it in "light").
I have applied with a stipling brush, a paddle foundation brush and my fingers and all methods work well. I can wear it with or without face primer. Product is easy to spread. I do let it "sit" on my face for a couple minutes before I set with powder. Ive been using this for two weeks and I have not broken out or had clogged pores at all (I think my skin may look better actually). I can wear this all day and it doesn't separate on my skin, get cakey or rub off.
I guess its a little pricey for a drugstore product (almost $20 USD) but I think its worth every penny, and has replaced my $60 bottle of Givenchy foundation. I will definitely repurchase. This just may be HG for me.

on 1/15/2016 5:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

The texture is a little bit strange. It takes time to blend it. The lightest color is too dark so that may as well be a case. The final finish is beautiful. More dewy than Lumene CC cream. For the price it's great. It doesn't accentuate dry patches, has a good spf. It's more suitable for dry skin

Back to Top