2.8

Created with Sketch.
32 reviews
44%
would repurchase
3.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

They reformulated and the new formula is crap. I bought my first bottle of this in 2017. It was amazing, it really did almost completely eliminate frizz which is a difficult thing to do for my curls in the Florida humidity. But now with the new formula it does nothing. There is no hold to it at all and that makes it pointless and certainly not worth the money. The changes they made to the formula: water is now the first ingredient, the old formula had their patented ingredient as the first (OFPMA). Fragrance moved up a spot on the list and a couple other ingredients got shuffled around but are still present. Some fragrances got added like geraniol. The texture and smell is still as I remember it but it just doesn't work the same anymore which is a huge disappointment because it was honestly the best hold product I had ever tried. I emailed Living Proof about it asking for confirmation that they reformulated and they haven't answered me.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue



3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 months ago

I should have read the reviews on MakeupAlley before buying! This stuff is crap! Made my curls ugly, stringy, gummy. Total waste of money but fortunately, returnable at Sephora. Junk! OOPS - changing my mind! I may have been too hasty. I tried this again over a better moisturizer and used some gel on top and I'm very pleased with the results. Confusing! I'll have to experiment with this.

About reviewer (44 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is amazing!!! I use Moroccan oil as usual first, then I use about a nickel size amount of Living Proof (shoulder length thick curly wavy hair) and comb it thru!! Scrunch up... diffused and had nice results with this!! Beautiful soft curls...no hard hold...but hold! Lasts a long time.... doesn't weigh down hair. Probably depends how much you apply as most products.

About reviewer (111 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This is HG for me to reduce frizz when I blow dry my lots-of-fine, wavy-to-kinky hair straight. Really helps keep it from recurling or frizzing. I use in combo with a little bit of some serum (trying to use up various ones). In winter, I use their Volumizing Mousse at the crown and top of my head with this before blow drying, and in summer I use their Anti-Humidity spray as a finishing touch. Since I only use at most 1/2 teaspoon each time and blow-dry every other day, this lasts me at least 6 months. I will also use a tiny bit on second day hair. Might be better in a stand up tube, but I wouldn't want them to reduce the size.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I don't know what it is about Living Proof products, but they just don't work for me, including this Serum. I had heard great things about this serum in particular, so I wanted to give it a try. I used it for about three weeks before I just gave up. It did nothing for my hair and I actually think it dried it out a bit because it felt rougher. In addition, it didn't tame my frizz and did not see any results. It smells amazing, but other than that, not worth it.

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlack


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Agree with the previous two reviews. I air dry-after putting this on I had a halo of frizz (a soft frizz) a la Grace Coddington. I have wavy, shoulder length haie, and usually rely on Shea Hair milk. Which I will continue to do. Thank God for samples.

About reviewer (137 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Olive, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

Wow, I've never tried a product that so thoroughly did the opposite of what it claimed. Following the directions, I applied it to towel dried hair and blowdried as usual. I ended up looking like a stuck my finger in a light socket--and I have fine, mostly straight hair, so that's no easy feat. I had to triage with Bumble and Bumble Brilliantine and all-over heat styling before I could think of leaving the house. Thank god for samples. Won't be buying this, ever.

About reviewer (29 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Other, Not Sure

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I keep getting LP samples from Nordstrom and I just don't get it. This stuff is terrible. Anti-frizz? It causes frizz! I tried different amounts at different times and always the same nasty result. So bad, I just toss the free sample.

About reviewer (39 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

I have thick, wavy hair that's been frizzing really badly in the humidity this summer. My typical routine for humid days is layering moroccan oil under HE totally twisted gel on damp hair and air drying. It only kind of works and does nothing second day. Moreover, the silicone+gel combo makes my waves a little stringy. I tried this stuff out to see if it would work better. First, I put a lot of it on its own into wet hair and let it air dry as an experiment to see how it works in isolation. My hair was really soft and fluffy but there was still frizz. Second day hair was a poofball. Next, I tried it mixing with gel for hold to see if that would help keep things in line. This was a winning combination. I went out yesterday to a bbq where it was hot, misty and drizzly and then spent the night on my porch in cooler, foggy weather. There was only a tiny bit of surface frizz which is amazing considering I got lightly rained on for hours. Second day hair is a success. This works considerably better than silicones for air drying frizzy waves. However, it needed to be mixed with a hold product. I'm impressed by how moisturizing it is. My hair is much softer and glossier than it would be with gel alone. BTW, on my hair it does not loosen out the curl as it did for some other reviewers. Too bad it's so expensive because I will be definitely be getting more when I run out!

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Olive, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I received a small tube of this in a hair kit from Ulta. It smells clean and light, plus it gives lots of shine to my hair. It helps moderately with frizz for me and works better if I heat style with it rather than using on damp hair and allowing it to air dry. It does pull out some of the curl in my hair so I might have to pass on this as a styling cream for daily use. Overall, it tamed my hair and made it look presentable. Not sure if I would buy a full sized tube of this yet.

About reviewer (2203 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us