2.9

Created with Sketch.
793 reviews
46%
would repurchase
3.5/5
package quality

price range
$27.00 on Sephora
Shop Now

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

6 days ago

Godawful stuff that im amazed still exists in this day and age! Toners have moved on a long way on since the days of alcohol-laden paint strippers. I ended up taking this back as it caused my skin to have an enormous break out. Also too harsh, it actually made my skin red and splotchy. Good job Clinique have a returns policy as this wasn't cheap!

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium Brown

HairBlack

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I have been using the Clinique Scruffing Lotion for men (which is identical to the Clarifying Lotion) for 3 decades. I absolutely love it. Regardless of what Paula Begoun says this is one of my favorite products of all time. After applying this I use Paulas Choice Resist Toner. AMAZING RESULTS.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily

HairBrown

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

the best way to use this is by throwing it in the trash. witch hazel is horrible for the skin. do your research. it "tightens" your "pores" which is not a good thing, breaks down the lipid barrier and causes irritation in the long run. Clinique added this to their products and why they did I have no idea? They have great moisturizers and wonderful cleansers. Did they bump their heads and forget that witch hazel is a big NO in skincare? Your pores don't open or close, and your skin tightening is all wrong. Throw this in the trash as quick as you can and get some cetaphil or vanicream, only use that. Moisturize and cleanse your face once or twice a day and you'll clear up. Not need to be wiping this toxic stufff on your face.

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

I've used it twice and got the worst breakout!! I had put some on my neck and chest and I broke out there too, and I never get acne there. So embarrassing at 42 years old to have to deal with type of thing! Don't use!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairRed

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

its 100% true... its pure alcohol ...i can say stronger than alcohol....waste of money...i have tried many products from clinique... i never ever imagined like this....total waste of money..that too very expensive... don know what to do with this

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I had the same experience when I first tried this product - thought I was deceived and received a bottle of liquor instead. But apparently not and I am just going to continue using it along with other camomile toner, that is more moisturizing. Since I read it actually helps with oily skin, I will give it a try! I don't know if I would buy it again yet since I just started using it.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Pure alcohol works as a toner too. I mean, sure it would wreck havoc on your skin but it could technically be used. It can kill bacteria causing acne. I'm not sure that you could tell a difference between a bottle of Isopropyl and this product if blindfolded and asked to sniff. That's about how strong this is. It has the same feeling burn as well. I don't know who approved this for those that fall into the "Dry to Combination-Dry" skin types. It belongs to those who are quite oily because it will strip that off your face. And smell like a fire hazard while doing it.

About reviewer (76 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Really bad, was completely filled with alcohol. I only had the trial size, but it lasted me for a few months, maybe 3-4. At first it was good for my sweaty skin in the summer, but as summer passed, it started to completely dry out my skin. I liked the fact that I could unscrew the lid and just pop it onto a cotton pad. But essentially it is just overpriced alcohol. Will NOT buy.

About reviewer (48 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is like putting pure acid onto your face! I stopped using it as it was so harsh, over time of using it my skin was becoming dry and spotty and it was an unpleasant experience toning my face (usually I love how refreshing it is!) as it stings so much. Last night I had run out of the toner I’d replaced it with, so I went back to Clinique thinking it couldn’t be so bad. I applied it to my face, swept across my eye area and panicked that I had accidentally picked up the nail polish remover bottle and not the toner, THATS how much it stung! I actually poured the remaining half bottle away so that I’d never be tempted to use it again. Foul stuff!

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Fair

HairBlond

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Too much alcohol in this. Over prolonged use, it leaves my skin dried and ramps up the oil production, which in turn increases breakouts..

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.