3.2

Created with Sketch.
36 reviews
50%
would repurchase
2.8/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Got this in True Ivory as I’m very pale (NC15). New Zealand has a different shade range to other countries, so this may differ depending on where you live. Packaging is a nice classy glass bottle with a white lid, it has a pump too, which is great. (I recall using this product years back before the packaging and formula was changed, I remember I really liked it so thought it was time to give it another go). At first on the skin it looks really good and flawless, applies easily, creamy, colour match is perfect. However unfortunately it oxidised on me a ton! I looked at least three shades darker within hours, and it showed on my neck! Also it settled into every little pore on my face. I really wanted to like this product, but unfortunately the oxidation was a deal breaker. I usually use Revlon Colorstay combo/oily in #110 Ivory, so will be going back to this.

About reviewer (35 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGray



5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Oh Maybelline, the best drugstore brand I've ever had. I always wear this foundation at night outs, clubbing and to special events for years. Coverage is medium but buildable. It doesn't stay 24 hours on my skin but through the night/event it never fades. Urban Decay has a High End dupe (All Nighter foundation), it has much more pigments (=more coverage) but fades on my nose, and fine wrinkles after some hours. So, if you're torn between these two, I'd recommend you to get the drugstore foundation. It is definitely worth the price.

About reviewer (188 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I am becoming a Maybelline foundation fan. This is my second Maybelline foundation that I really like. For one, the shade selection is not too bad compared to the new North American version of this (Super Stay Better Skin) For reference, I am between NC20-25 and I am currently using the shade Nude. Blendability is amazing and the coverage is between medium to full. At first I was so scared to try this out since I have been reading some bad reviews about this foundation. However, my trick with any foundation that oxidizes is to wait for your moisturizer and primer to dry up!!! Yes ladies and gents - if you want your makeup to look great you have to wait at least 10 mins for your moisturizer to settle and about 3 mins for your primer. This is a fool proof way of making sure that your makeup stays and will not slide around. Overall, this is a great foundation. It is very comparable to Revlon Colorstay but less matte :) hope this helps!

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Really surprised this isn't getting more love. I have combo skin, with an oily T zone and big pores. I use this as well as the Maybelline Fit Me foundation (poreless and matte) for days when I don't want to use my expensive, HG foundation - Lancome Idole 24. I'm shade NC20 Mac, Desert beige 2N1 EL. I find that the 2 Superstay Ivory shades are very pale and too dark. So I mix True Ivory and Ivory to get my perfect shade. 2 pumps of the lighter shade, to 1 pump of the darker one (mine came in a pump). I have not experienced oxidation. It has medium coverage, so you need concealer. Matte finish. My pores look smaller. It's not comedogenic. It looks natural, even after setting powder. The coverage lasts for approx 5 hours before it starts to break down and some redness comes through. I start to get T zone oiliness from then also. It comes off easily with make up remover and cleanser. In terms of the finish: I wore this for a family dinner. I asked my sis and she said I had nice skin and couldn't see the foundation because it looked natural. :) 1 used 3 pumps for the whole face and I used a stippling brush. I use this for days when I'm out for a few hours and need coverage. Really pleased with the purchase. Definitely recommend.

About reviewer (160 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I've tried a ton of foundations and this is my holy grail! Gives instant coverage without feeling heavy, and you can build it up without it looking cakey. Looks so natural, because the finish is in between dewey and matte. I highly recommend this foundation, it has no flaws in my eyes. (oh except it doesn't have a pump)

About reviewer (9 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

This is a weird foundation for me to review because I have a love hate relationship with it. I'll tell you why... This foundation is so cheap and has amazing coverage the colour is nice it's neither too matte nor dewy but I don't know why some days it just doesn't suite my skin, some days it's very cakey and clings to my dry spots (t-zone) and I have used up two bottles and I still can't figure out why this is happening. I use the same applicator every time (a sponge). But for $12 I really do like this foundation it is much better than other drug store foundations I have tried.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Got fhis a week ago in the lightest shade. It has a great coverage and matte finish but oxidizes so fast and i turned a bit orange .

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I purchased this after reading reviews it stays on super long, oil free, won't clog pores I believe. I don't think I would say it's a "wow" product for me. It is a thick foundation and in some photos makes me look paler for some reason and cakey. Would not repurchase. Be careful when using as it doesn't have a pump and comes out quickly.

About reviewer (56 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

2 years ago this product was my holy grail. I was so excited to repurchase it, for $30NZD I thought it was a pretty great price. Until I tried it on, of course.... I don't know if it was the weather or the product itself, but it looked far from flawless. I put in on using a beauty blender and it looked great with a certain lighting, but as soon as I left my room and looked at my face and it looked extremely heinous and odious. It sat in every little pore on my face, every acne scar. In fact, I even discovered some new ones with the way your product brought them out! By the end of the day, to make matters worse, it looked vile. I just wanted to wipe it off. I felt my sweat making it sticky like old candy. Do you know how gross that is?? I would have rather not had being wearing make up! And that says a lot, coming from me. It has no smell, easy to apply. Just a shame it didn't live up to its holy grail status the way it used too. I am not a fan of the color. According to Maybeline, Ivory is Orange... oompa loompa like actually. It upsets me deeply as for an extra $10 could have got me some chichi foundation. That is a lot of money for someone like me, whom spend a long time saving for this way over-romanticized product . I feel as though people with oily/combination skin shouldn't purchase this product.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

Hugely underrated foundation. I absolutely love this! It stays all day and gives the skin a lovely finish. I would definitely repurchase and recommend highly

About reviewer (27 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us