L'Oreal Total Repair 5 Damage Erasing Balm

L'Oreal Total Repair 5 Damage Erasing Balm

4.1

151 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

aqua / water / eau cetearyl alcohol behentrimonium chloride amodimethicone candelilla cera / candelilla wax / cire de candelilla cetyl esters glycerin isopropyl alcohol parfum / fragrance phenoxyethanol trideceth-6 hydroxypropyl guar arginine glutamic acid linalool hexyl cinnamal cetrimonium chloride serine chlorhexidine dihydrochloride benzyl salicylate hydroxypropyltrimonium hydrolyzed wheat protein benzyl alcohol limonene amyl cinnamal citronellol 2-oleamido-1,3-octadecanediol alpha-isomethyl ionone ci 19140 / yellow 5 ci 15985 / yellow 6


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

HELLO ! Firstly, I am 22 years old and up until this years, I used to dye my hair a lot.
My hair is (thankfully) back to its natural shade of blonde now though!

Anywho, I wanted to share my story on thinning hair with you all.
I am only 22, and I recently have been diagnose with Lupus.
It hasn't been too hard on me, except my hair is thinning!
Yikes.
So I have tried the cheapest and most expensive stuff out there. You name it. All the way from Walmart to Sephora to specialty sites even.
My hair (from lupus) is dry and flaky, this is why I was told I must stop dying when I found out.
Though a year of organic oils, shampoos and conditioners just didn't do the trick for me, personally.

I bought this conditioner at my local store about 6 days ago.
And I am soooooooo soooooo in love with my hair.
I won't say it cures thinning hair or balding, I have no evidence of that sort.

However, I could not be happy. My hair feels so full, my thinning has ceased (have only shed a couple hairs, even when combing knots out!)

I would recommend though (let your hair dry naturally or use the hair dryer on cool)
I found blow drying does (obviously) reverse the conditioner's effects a bit. I mean, any intense heat is bound to do that anyway. It dries you out!

So on and so forth, ladies or gents, buy this!
It is worth the simple $6 dollars you pay, trust me.
Remember, this is coming from a girl who is experienced with thinning and damaged hair.
If it can help with a medical condition like mine, it will certainly help your hair as well <3

Stay happy loves.
XXX

oh one teeny con: packaging! It comes with a twist off to. Which is a bit messy if you are showering rather than bathing. I highly recommend once you get the desired amount of product into your hair, seal it back tightly. Because it isn't an easy close lid, water gets in and can ruin the texture of the creamy/thick product. I usually sit it outside of the shower once it is in my hair until the next use. <3 other than that, all is well.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 6/7/2016 3:02:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Grey

This is the BEST conditioner in L'Oreal's "Advanced" haircare line, hands down. It's a bit more expensive than the conditioners in the 12oz bottles, but this one is one is labelled as a "weekly" treatment-type product. Ingredient-wise, it's almost identical to the "Total Repair Extreme Emergency Recovery Mask " in the tube (the ONLY difference: the other lists "lactic acid" in the ingredients while the "Damage Balm" does not). It's also very similar to Garnier's "Damage Eraser" (same company).

Like the other "Advanced" conditioners, this one is very well-formulated. It has good slip, and like the others, I have no trouble wet-combing this through my thick, curly, coarse hair. The consistency is VERY thick and rich (like cake icing). However, it does seem to have some extra conditioning/moisturizing benefits that the others don't, because my hair feels exceptionally soft after using it --even the next day. Someone with problem hair could very well use this as a daily conditioner.

Bottom line, it's an EXCELLENT product at a reasonable price. Recommended! :-)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


To Read all 151 Reviews, Login or Join


Login with Google



on 5/27/2016 3:52:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

A truly amazing deep conditioner for beautiful hair! I requested sample sizes in the mail of the Total 5 shampoo, conditioner and this damage erasing balm. If I hadn't asked for it I would have missed out on a great product line. Love the shampoo and I do feel because of how unique the shampoo works it is important to use it along with this product. I honestly couldn't believe how soft, shiny and pretty my hair was after using this. I have color treated hair with highlights and it is long and very naturally curly. So this combo means dry hair. My hair was getting brittle and the breakage was getting really bad. Just from using the sample I went crazy over this product. I then purchased the products but I may leave out the regular conditioner next purchase and buy the balm only as my conditioner. Once in awhile I thought I didn't need to use a deep conditioner every time I shampooed but I also don't shampoo my hair daily anymore. Since I'm disabled I go longer between washes and have been deep conditioning which has helped with breakage big time. The price point fits right into my budget however this balm works better than some of the expensive deep conditioning treatments I have bought and used over the years. I have used plenty of deep conditioners that are popular and some costly before becoming disabled and could afford whatever I wanted to buy. If I was working still and not disabled this is still the product I would be buying. No doubt at all. This combo has helped with breakage and losing hair. The breakage is minimal now and likely losing only the amount of hair that everyone normally loses daily and all I need is this balm now.

But this product right here smells so good and is a light scent, really sinks into my hair and I am trying not to comb through my hair during shampoo & conditioning anymore. The balm doesn't weigh my hair down at all. I still even use a leave in after rinsing this off. With some deep conditioners I felt the only way my hair was absorbing the deep conditioner was by combing it through but with this product that isn't an issue for me. It just soaks in and grabs the hair and does it's miracle, no comb through. (I was at my stylist about 5 weeks ago and she brushed through my hair after coloring it and before highlighting and she said no hair came out at all and this is what I have been trying to achieve)

What is hard to understand about this line (I'm sharing ii case anyone has concerns), the Total 5 shampoo has sulfates yet makes my hair soft even prior to using the balm and works better than my sulfate free shampoo. Much better! Again I mention this because if I use any other shampoo the combo doesn't work as well. Then this balm does have alcohol in it and yet it is a true repair balm. If you're on the fence, for the price I say buy both and give it a try. Use it a few times and see how your hair responds. If you don't like it you can give it to someone else. (Like I also bought the regular conditioner and really prefer the balm so I think sometimes till I use up that conditioner I will try doing a cowash with it just to use it up) I now want to deep condition every time. This product is light enough yet deep conditions so well that I can do that.

I also find it easier now to leave my hair naturally curly and not use any heat at all if I don't want to. It just makes my curls look so good. The top of my head isn't ever greasy at all. Just wonderful. I can't say enough good about this balm.


on 5/24/2016 6:42:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I've been on MUA since the Stone Age but I've never been motivated to write even one review. But this stuff blows the competition away.
I've tried high end conditioners and CO washing but they just don't compare. This product gives great slip, unbelievable shine but even if I go three days between washing, my hair never gets that gunky feeling of buildup.
Next time I go to Walmart/Target, I'm stocking up!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is a dream! It does everything I could ever want it to do: adds shine, gets rid of frizz, and makes my hair so incredibly soft. My hair is naturally pretty dry, so it feels like I've tried every product out there to make it look 1/4 as good as the commercials on TV. Well this hair mask certainly does that and more. I apply this at the beginning of my shower, after shampooing, get on with my business and rinse it out. I like to leave it on for about 10 minutes or so in the shower to let it really work into my ends. I never apply this above my ears as I feel like it could weigh the hair down. It's super thick, so you only really need a small amount. A little goes a long way with this product, even for someone with dry hair such as myself. Once my hair is dried it feels silky smooth. I love that my hair doesn't feel heavy or weighed down when I use this, which is a problem I find with many deep conditioners. I also enjoy the scent. It's a floral-y sort of scent, but nothing too overpowering. I wish the packaging could be improved; I hate the jar when I'm in the shower. It makes it slippery and difficult to close without getting water mixed in with the product. Other than that small gripe, this is perfection. For just a few dollars, you can't go wrong!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2016 8:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This definitely helped my brittle color-treated hair. It's inexpensive and smells pretty good. My hair always feels really soft after usage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2016 2:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Quite good. I picked this up after seeing it recommended on a long hair board, and it does (most of) what I need it to. Smooths, shines, makes hair feel soft. Scent is light floral, barely notice it though. I wish it was a little more detangling, but it's such an all-around performer that's barely a ding. Will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/11/2016 8:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I loooove this. smells great, makes my hair feel amazing, and it makes me feel better about using heat on my hair. I put it in, throw up hair up in a bun in the shower, and by the time I've rinsed off, my hair feels like a million bucks

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this, I use it after I use purple shampoo since leaving shampoo in your hair can be very drying. It doesn't smell like anything, maybe a nice light scent, and has a medium thick consistency so its easy to apply to your hair. Afterwards, hair feels alot softer and easier to brush through. I dont notice any residue or anything.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2016 5:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Love this stuff! Have repurchased several times now. It leaves my fine hair perfectly conditioned and soft, but never weighs it down or makes it greasy. It's really kind of amazing. An impulse buy that worked out and now has become a staple. I use it a few times a week and let it sit on my head the whole time I shower, shave, etc. It really makes my hair supple and lovely. Only issue is the packaging, it's practically impossible to open jars in a shower. I have to leave it open or remember to open it before I'm all wet, otherwise not happening! I wish it came in GIANT squeeze tube or pump, though it might be too thick for a pump. Give this one a try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Popular Hair Treatments


Dabur Amla Oil
Dabur Amla Oil
48 Reviews
Viviscal
Viviscal
58 Reviews
Back to Top