4.3

Created with Sketch.
41 reviews
85%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 months ago

I wanted a lipgloss that can brighten my complexion and give me a sexy, healthy pink pout. Kanani was the exact shade I gravitated to for this reason. I swatched a ton of shades at ulta and still always went back to Kanani. It is described as a bright strawberry pink shimmer. I find this gloss to be a bit too bright for daytime when used in heavy layers so I keep it thin during application. I first use Charlotte Tilbury Pillow Talk Lip Liner then apply this gloss thinly over top and it starts to tingle a bit and plumps up my pout ever so slightly. It isn't drying and it feels comfy even though it does have that minty sensation. This smells like vanilla mixed with mint and I am sensitive to scents, I dont mind this at all. It doesn't feel super sticky but it is stickier than Fenty and Laura Mercier. It isnt as sticky as Mac or Glossier. This however is really long lasting and doesn't make my lips dry or get goopey and give me that weird ring in the center inner lips. There's soooo many shades and I dont think I will repurchase Kanani but I def want to check out Julie, it seems a bit sheerer and less pow! Kanani can be slightly too bright sometimes but still a gorgeous shade. Edit - the more I use this the more it makes my lips more dry and uncomfortable. Its getting too thick to layer when touching up. I've changed my mind on it. I now use the Dior Lip Maximizer!

About reviewer (425 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown



1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I bought one at Sephora and returned it...crappy for the price it had color but when I applied it I didn't see any color on my lips I don't remember the name of it but it was a nude mauve color. For the price these should be better but I don't bother with high prices glosses anymore they are either crappy or just as good as dollar store lipglosses.

About reviewer (58 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Great and lasting lip polish. Gives a little of a tingling sensation (plumping) but I love the shade and the product.

About reviewer (49 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinOily, Fair

HairRed

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I LOVE this color! While it doesn't show up as the coral-pink on me that others have described, it's a lovely slightly cool rose pink (I'm NW15 for reference). The shimmer is nice and subtle and it's super-glossy. This is described as having a "plumping, tingling effect." While I don't notice any plumping (my lips could use it though), I do experience that tingling, cool sensation right after application. The tingling usually lasts for a few minutes, decreasing in intensity. I love the extra glossy shine, although it doesn't seem to last. Within 20-30 minutes, the gloss subsides, but the color and shimmer remain. It's not too sticky, which is nice. The only reasons why I'd give this 4/5 instead of 5/5: it doesn't seem to last more than an hour (even without eating or drinking), so it's somewhat high-maintenance and I don't see the as-advertised plumping. Both aren't deal breakers for me--I love the color and the texture.

About reviewer (290 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Ugh, I LOVE this gloss! This is far and away my favorite of the Buxom line. First off, Buxom glosses are my favorite on the market. They are super hydrating, fun to wear (I like the cooling tingle), and they last on my lips for ages compared to other glosses. Kanani is a gorgeous strawberry pink with a wash of pretty shimmer. What I love about this shade is how it adds life to my face without being too bright or unnatural. It lends the perfect pink tint to my unpigmented lips, and the hydrating properties plump my lips and make them look super healthy. Also, I've found that after the gloss wears off, it's left behind a faint stain. I love that! The packaging, like the whole of the Buxom line, is sturdy and cute, and the doefoot applicator is plush. It's a joy to apply. It's $19 at Sephora, which is expensive, but not to the point that it feels like trolling (I'm looking at you, Dior). I feel it greatly outperforms its pricier counterparts. I have been purchasing from this line for ages now, and will definitely repurchase this shade when I run out. I'm always trying new shades from the Buxom collection, but this one will have to become a staple.

About reviewer (514 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I am going to start off by saying that most of the time I stay as far away from pink lipsticks and glosses as possible. I do not know what it is about me, possibly the shade of my skin tone, but whenever I try to wear pink on my lips I look like I am trying way too hard. Pink is so unflattering on me, but because I am young (16 years old) I always get wrapped into pink lip glosses since my friends all wear pink. I can pull off purples, reds/oranges, and nudes. But like I previously explained never pinks. However, I became very interested in this gloss after watching a Lisbug makeup tutorial on Youtube, where in the video she uses this gloss. She describes it as "the perfect pink that isn't too overwhelming". It looked great on her, and although we literally look nothing alike, I just knew the gloss would look good on me. Maybe it is because I buy most makeup at the drugstore, but I found it hard to spend over $15 on lip gloss. Thankfully, I was in Michigan so I was able to purchase it for around $19 because in Canada it is $23. I was so excited that I finally bought it and I found that the box was so cute! I love how they name the different lip glosses and have different girls on them. The design was just gorgeous so I actually kept the box it came in! The actually lip gloss packaging itself was pretty ordinary, nothing too special. I've had it for a couple months now and the writing has started to come off a little bit, but I don't really care. It really is the perfect shade of pink. It looks good on me, which says a lot. It is not so overwhelming that it can't be used in an everyday look, but it also is not bland. It has a subtle pop of colour and I really like to play up the lips if I am doing a neutral eye. It smells like cookies, a very sweet, but again, subtle smell. The lip gloss glides on, the one thing that I have to say is the formula is a bit sticky. I do not find that a problem, I have never tried a lip gloss that hasn't been a little sticky. Although that probably means I don't buy the best quality lip gloss. Who knows. It is a long lasting lip gloss, doesn't budge from your lips for at least three hours, which is enough for me. *Warning: I am easily impressed. Too sum it all up, I love this lip gloss because it is the perfect pink colour. When I run out or if I lose it (I tear up just even thinking about that) then I will without a doubt go out and buy another one. I hope that Bare Escentuals never discontinues this colour, literally just so gorgeous and I would truly mourn over it.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

I've been wanting to try this lip gloss out for a while! The first time I saw this was while I was on Youtube watching Lisbug. She was using this gorgeous pink colour and when I looked into what she was using, I found out she was using this colour! Ever since I've been pretty obsessed. I was a little critical with the price, I won't even break the bank to buy foundation at this price, but I wanted the lip gloss so badly that I just bought it. The money was well spent. I've only had the gloss for a day or two, but I'm already in love with it. The colour comes out BEAUTIFUL. It has some purply undertones, but on the lips it looks more pink and natural. I noticed that I did not have to continue to reapply this lip gloss, I put it on around lunch time, and it lasted till around dinner. The smell is sweet, but it is not overwhelmingly sweet! The packaging is really cute, I actually kept the box it came in because it's so cute! The lip applicator isn't anything special, but it's a good brush! The only con, is that the consistency is a little bit sticky. But I barely notice it, I just thought I would point it out just in case! With this lip gloss, you can pretty much wear it in any sort of occasion. I tend to stay away from pinks, but this lip colour just works really well with my skin colour and hair. Overall, I gave it a four out of five and will definitely be buying it when I run out!

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I absolutely LOVE this MLBB strawberry- pink shade of Buxom Lip Polish. Candi used to be my go-to color, but now that it has been discontinued, Kanani is my #1. Kanani is the perfect everyday lip gloss that looks great on everyone. I can't go a day without it! definitely recommend this beautiful product! Bare Escentuals- please don't discontinue this one too!

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I love this gloss! It is the perfect pink gloss for my NW45 skin tone. I've actually already replaced this as I love to wear it to work and for play;) Very beautiful gloss with a bit of shimmer that makes your lips look very kissable. I'm definitely a gloss girl so this is everything! Feels cool when you first put it on but that subsides after a bit. I will continue to purchase this again and again.

About reviewer (623 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Dark, Warm

HairBrown, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

8 years ago

This looks like a vivid pink in the tube, but comes out to a softer, bubble-gum pink on my lips. Leaves a good amount of color, and this one has a very high shine/wet look that lasts for a good long time. I love the mild tingle and the plumping benefits. It has a delicious fragrance that doesn't last too long.

About reviewer (426 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us