4.3

Created with Sketch.
21 reviews
86%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range
$11.90 on Lookfantastic
Shop Now

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I have had really bad acne for almost 3 years (whiteheads,blackheads, those hard bumps that don’t raise to the surface etc) and I have tried numerous products to clear it away (staying on those products for at least 3 months before deciding they didn’t work) and none of them helped enough for me to see a difference. I tried various clean & clear washes, Biore, those out pad things, salicylic acid treatments and PROACTIV and was still left with acne. I started this 2 weeks before going to school and it helped significantly (not all was gone though) it really dries your skin so make sure you’re using heavy cream (one that doesn’t clog pores) it’s now been 5 weeks and I’m so happy with the results. I do still get a couple scattered pimples but they go away within a day or two. Honestly this product is worth trying. But make sure to use moisturizer because you will get flaky skin and it will be sore. I started with using it only at night then I started a few weeks later 2x a day.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue



4.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

Affordable and effective! I remember feeling an itch on the side of my face, one that felt like it was about to break out into a cystic bump. I smacked this on and irritation went down significantly, it never turned into acne! I kind of went crazy with this product, applying twice a day in large areas of my face. Don't be like me. It is a harsh product so I dealt with cracked, irritated skin. Use to spot conceal and not too often.

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

It's the only thing that works. It works on whitheads, blackheads and big red pimples without any head. Only thing is you have to be consistent (apply this after washing your face, let dry completely and then moisturize). If you stop using, it's effects will go away immediately. You need to wait at least 10 days to see an improvement. It works to both exfoliate (removes top layer of skin by peeling) and also kill bacteria deep in your pores. Also, a note to people who are experiencing persistent acne despite trying everything: try eliminating soy, hummus (chickpeas and sesame) and milk from your diet for two weeks. I noticed an increase in really stubborn acne around the time i started eating hummus. Chickpeas and sesame contain plant estrogen, these bind to the estrogen receptors in your body and prevent your own estrogen from doing its work. I eliminated hummus and my skin has cleared up completely.

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Honestly might be too soon to say since i've been using this for about 3 weeks but I have closed comedones and it looks TERRIBLE. Afar skin looks clear but then upclose and in bad lighting it's just these disgusting bumps on my cheeks which look 10x worse with foundation on. I swear i had tried everything from apple cider vinegar, to la roche posay effaclar duo plus the stupid cleanser which was complete garbage, to cinnamon and honey literally you name it i tried it. But this gel has literally saved my life! Initially I couldn't see a difference i was a little disheartened but i kept using it, and i'm in week 2 and a half? And my skin has IMPROVED like given i have a couple pimples (not the bumps) but the bumps have literally vanished like some are lingering the stubborn ones but they aren't in any sense terrible as compared to the ones before. I use this paired with the benzagel wash and i can honestly say it's my HG product just after 3 weeks. Just be very careful with application as it will dry out certain areas of your face, for me it was the little spot under my lip and above my chin but it's all worth it in the end lol. Im hoping by the end of the month ill have the confidence to wear a full face of makeup.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Tan

HairBrown

EyesOther


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have dealt with moderate cystic acne for around ten years now, & I've tried everything from prescription medication and topical creams to all natural washes and lotions, oils, and completely ditching makeup; this product is the only thing that I've come across thus far to actually help with my acne. When I first started using this my skin got VERY dry & irritated- you can expect to have red patches, flaky, dry skin, as well as a slight burning/tingling sensation when you start using it. This is normal! Benzoyl peroxide is a harsh chemical and it will do this to your skin. The important thing is to tough it out and after a week or two of irritation, your skin with get used to it and your acne will start to clear. Just make sure you moisturize A LOT to help with the drying. My skin is fairly sensitive as well so my reaction could of been more severe than others. I'm on my third week of using this product now and my acne has got significantly better already; all my blackheads and whiteheads are gone (and I had a lot) and my cysts have been changing into pustules which are way easier to get rid of. Once they change into pustules, I just keep applying the benzagel morning and night & they dry up within days with no scars. I still have a couple more stubborn cysts from before I started using this that haven't gone away yet, but they are shrinking and are less inflamed & irritated. I'm confident that with consistent use, Benzagel will clear them up in no time. I've only been using this for a few weeks & I'm already seeing great results; my skin tone is way more even, all my blackheads & whiteheads are gone, and my cysts are fading away with no scarring. My skin doesn't get irritated when I use this now, & I use it morning and night followed by an all natural moisturizer and sunscreen in the morning. I'm almost out of the bottle now (I only bought the smallest one to try it out) but I'll definitely be purchasing more and the larger bottle too.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I'm currently on my third bottle of this. Yeah the product will eventually dry out the areas you're applying it to, but it's worth it for the outcome. I like to use Spectro sensitive skin moisturizer before I apply the Benzagel or sometimes the morning after. This works better than the 2.5% spot treatment for me, as whenever I use the spot treatment my face burns and has itchy red patches from where I applied it for days after... I have tried it for a few weeks off and on and have come to the conclusion that the 5% acne gel is perfect for my skin type. I have also paired this product with the facewash for when my face is really broken out, and it works really well but very drying. When I started using this product I had troubled skin and by just using this and a gentle cleanser (when I don't use the benzagel face wash) my face cleared up so well! Now I occasionally get a little break out, but I use this product right away and it's gone in a few days. When my face is clear I like to use it in the areas where I'd typically have a break out. Hope other people find this helpful :)

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

First time using this product and I absolutely love it, be mindful it tends to dry out your face so instead of putting it all over face,I put it directly on my pimples and by morning those pimples shrink.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Kinky, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This review is for the 2.5%! I started using the 5% at first, but is was really, really drying - which is to be expected. Since it irritated my skin, I found the 2.5% instead. The first week or so was dry and a bit flaky, so be sure to moisturize on top before bed. After the breaking in phase was over I did not experience and stinging, dryness or irritation. Of course the best part is this treatment keeps my hormonal chin/jaw acne at bay! Even without active breakouts, I apply this to my face every night to ensure it stays relatively clear. Maybe one day I won't have hormonal acne anymore, but until then this does a great job at minimizing the situation!

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This really helped me get rid of my acne breakout last year. Yes the stuff is harsh, there was a lot of flaking, but getting rid of pimples is never really pretty unless it decides to clear on its own... Which it wasn't in my case. I use it when I see a pimple popping up and i *feel* like it speeds up the process of bringing it out and getting it over with.. On a few occasions I've seen a bump go away after applying.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Tan

HairBrunette

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

The only product out there that cleans up zits overnight. I wouldn't go without this product, ever. I put on a lot, and then it gets white and flakes off (that's just the excess), but the flaking does not affect the treatment process because a little goes a long way, it's just that I honestly have never been able to put on "just a little" of anything. Moreover, you can moisturize on top of this and it still works. Should be in the possession of anyone who ever has to deal with problem skin! My HG zit zapper par excellence.

About reviewer (99 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.