3.8

Created with Sketch.
29 reviews
68%
would repurchase
4.6/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I will admit, it is bizarre. How different each version of the cleansing oils from Shu are. I used to think they were like siblings, you hate one, you hate them all (sort of mentality). I tried the Fresh one over a decade ago. Could never bring myself to finish it. Kept the bottle because dangit, these limited edition ones are gorgeous. But that formula tweaked my skin out, irritated it, and made it drier than before. I never ventured out with cleansing oils again and thought they weren't for me until my friend gifted me with this one from the Mario bros collection. I was skeptical but tried it anyway since I had some heavy duty makeup on one time and this didn't affect my skin poorly. With my skin's condition even though I am way past my teenage years, it is still extremely sensitive and at this point- no negative effect = good thing. I only need to use two pumps for my entire face (excluding eye makeup, I have a separate gentle removal step for this.) and I do follow through with a facial cleanser afterwards out of habit. Not sure if I would repurchase due to the steep price as Banila Co Cleansing Balm is much cheaper, but this will be nice while it lasts.

About reviewer (423 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlack



1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

It probably does a good job at removing makeup but my skin is red after using it. This oil is not gentle on the skin, that's for sure.

About reviewer (70 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

My first rinse off cleansing oil. I tried many cleansing oils, but this one works best. Pros: - removes my sunscreen beautifully in one pump - removes layers of full coverage foundations (2 pumps) - pleasant smell (for my nose) so I'm happily massaging my face and doing my night routine - does not cause breakouts - I don't need to swipe repeatedly and risk my face from irritation with cotton sheet to remove heavy makeup - rinses off beautifully with lukewarm water (followed with gentle cleanser afterwards) Cons: - $$$$ PRICE (I've tried and experimenting with cheaper cleansing oil from k-beauty & biore with no luck)

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I use the green A/O version but thought I should get this for dry winter months. Terrible mistake! Whatever is in this, it irritates and makes my skin dry. Not to mention when I use it at night to take make up off, my eyes run ALL night and look sore the next morning. Note to self: if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it! I’m sticking with the A/O oil which really is pretty much perfect for me!

About reviewer (217 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinVery Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I am so sad that this product did not work for me. I purchased the largest Super Mario bottle and have never been super sensitive but I tried on 3 occasions to use this and had a terrible allergic reaction. I’m not sure if it is to the fragrance or propylene glycol but my eyes became inflamed and I developed red and itchy spots on my skin. I will return to my balm cleanser or the Origins rice bran oil cleanser. I have had no issues with those.

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal

HairBlond

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is another Shu Uemura cleansing oil I love, but... it's not their best one for my skin. I love the feel of this oil (slightly thicker than Porefinist, pro: feels more Hydrating, con: have to work more to remove waterproof mascara), it removes waterproof makeup well, smells amazing, all of the qualities I love in cleansing oils, but... after using for a few days, I did realise that the scent mildly irritates my sensitive skin. It hydrated it well, but I did end up with some tiny pinkish bumps on my cheeks (not normally an area of reactions). Would I use this again in the future (like a travel sized sample on holiday)? Yes, I would. I do think it's best, however, that I stick to the Porefinist of I had to choose one. I highly recommend this formula to anyone who is not super sensitive.

About reviewer (304 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This product seems almost identical to Shu Uemura Cleansing Beauty Oil Premium A/O (which I've also reviewed). This is a reliable cleanser, removes all trace of makeup and leaves my skin nice and soft afterwards. Consistency seems just ever so slightly thicker than Premium A/O, but still in that perfect Goldilocks zone of c/o's, being neither too thick nor too thin. Again, minimal scent and emulsifies well with water. This does not irritate my skin or lead to breakouts. My skin is normal/dry and quite sensitive. I wont repurchase simply because I'm too set on trying all the other cleansing oils out there and for the price, it's really not worth it. This is pretty comparable in terms of performance and consistency to Softymo's one, so I'd stick to that one. I do like that SU c/o's come in big bottles- makes them somewhat cheaper and less hassle having to buy a new one every other month (Fancl- please take note of this!). Hope this review has been helpful :)

About reviewer (69 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I've used Shu's green anti-oxidant version for years and it's the only oil that touches my face. I have tried this new brown bottle in 50ml size as an option for GWP for the big green bottle. I was excited to try this but three nights in and I had cystic acne. It's too rich for my skin

About reviewer (206 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I've been using this for the longest time and I honestly love it. It's both a make-up removal and a cleanser, two in one. You actually do not need to use an additional facial wash after this. There is no need to purchase an additional eye make up removal because this can be used on your whole face, even for waterproof make up. It's strong enough to have your make-up removed and have your face cleansed, and yet leaves your skin fresh and soft. It smells divinely too. However, this is the most expensive out of their whole range of cleansing oil. I've tried some of the other range too, but this is still my favourite because of all the botanical oil used and the smell is just very relaxing.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlack

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

This cleansing oil is one of the thicker consistency oils in the Shu Uemura line, it is also thicker than The Body Shop Camomile oil, when applied to the face. What I have found is that one pump of this oil is more than enough for your entire face and its consistency is such that it melts into skin while removing makeup, lifting up the foundation etc you're wearing. I prefer to remove my waterproof mascara with a waterproof makeup remover first then, pop in the shower massaging this in for a good 5minutes, the longer the better, then rinse under shower. It removes everything and leaves a light moisturised feel. I'm acne prone, and naturally oily, so I go in with a second cleanse. What I've found is now I can use any cleanser, without fear it's going to be too drying and don't have to spend so much on cleansers. The 50ml has lasted me 4 months and I've purchased the larger one, and expect it to last a year. You don't have to splurge and get this particular one, they have the original which is more cost effective (and more reasonable than my previously used Clinique take the day off balm). I will also try the antioxidant one, to see what's better. All in all great product, if you wear makeup on the daily, and want to make sure everything is off.

About reviewer (42 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Tan, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us