3.3

Created with Sketch.
13 reviews
54%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

25 days ago

THE BEST SUNSCREEN, EVER. I love this sunscreen so much. I have been using the Elta MD "Clear," and have also tried the "Daily," and this is by far the best out of those. I decided to switch to the Pure b/c it has a very good rating on EWG, and is apparently more natural/healthier, especially for those of us who wear sunscreen on our face, daily. I have read that the latest research indicates that chemical sunscreen enters the bloodstream and can cause health issues, like kidney problems. Like I said, I wear sunscreen on my face every single day, so the idea that chemicals are leeching into my blood greatly concerns me. Although I bought it for health reasons, to my ecstatic surprise, it turned out that this sunscreen is actually MUCH more attractive on me than the Clear and/or Daily. It goes on matte, rather than sticky/tacky, so I can immediately begin applying makeup, instead of waiting for the shine to fade, as I had to do with the other two. It also gives my skin a very slight "glow," like wearing a very sheer base, so it makes me feel like I almost have a tiny amount of flaw coverage, if that makes sense. It has not broken me out, either, so I have to say that it is my new HG!

About reviewer (27 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue



2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 months ago

This sunscreen won't let you burn even in midday tropical sun. But it comes at the price of a very visible white cast, especially ones you exit the ocean, and extreme dryness. My skin looks 15 years older when I use it, my arms get covered in micro wrinkles and my legs get a deadly color. I love EltaMD sunscreens, but in my opinion,​ this one is only suitable for extra pale people with oily skin. Water (shower or ocean) doesn’t wash it off. You’ll need to rub it with an oil of your preference followed by a good cleanser or makeup remover.

About reviewer (650 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I thought I would love this but it's not meant to be. WAY too greasy for my face (which is what I bought it for.) I'm acne prone, sensitive, and my skin can dry out easily. The UV physical formula is pretty drying for me so I thought I I like this one but it makes my face sooo oily even with no moisturizer underneath. Pretty disappointing. For me it's pretty comparable to the finish of Blue Lizard. There have been some newer physical formulations that have come out so I might try one of those because I really like Elta and appreciate their ingredients bc my skin is so sensitive. 2 lippies for good ingredients but it's too heavy for me.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

A nice body spf. Spreads easily and evenly and on my body sets very fast. On face is a little greasy and white but no pimples or other problems with it.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

This does go on easily and has a nice texture, plus is non-chemical sunscreens, which is a huge plus. It didn't irritate my reactive skin but that's where the goodness stopped. I have really dry skin and this seemed to take forever to sink in and once it did, my face felt dry enough to crack when I smiled. I ended up applying moisturizer over it get get my skin feeling comfortable again. It's a shame as I hear great things about the sun protection of this one.

About reviewer (32 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I almost gave this away, after realizing it was too occlusive for me to keep using it on my face in the summer. Luckily, I found Dr. Dray on youtube and picked up a handy little tip...I now use this under my eyes, on my browbone, and even on my eyelids! It is safe and gentle enough to use near the eyes, even right up to the lower lash line, because it contains no chemical UV filters. It protects my eye area from the sun (read: premature aging), doesn’t irritate my sensitive eyes, and it actually seems to work as a “buffer” between my whole-face SPF and my eyes. It seals in my moisturizer around my eyes, so the skin doesn’t get as dry throughout the day, and it basically blocks my other SPF from migrating into my eyes. Yes, it has a white cast, but it blends in well as it dries, and it actually seems to make my dark circles easier to cover. It’s also a good makeup primer IME, but it IS very thick and occlusive, which is why I avoid using it on my whole face. I seem to get more clogged pores if I use it on my whole face 2-3 days in a row.

About reviewer (122 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Curly, Coarse

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I love this stuff for great sun protection that doesn't cause acne or irritate my skin. I have problematic skin - rosacea, acne prone, sensitive, and extreme combination (flaky dry areas and very oily T-zone) - and this doesn't exacerbate any issues. I wore it on my face and décolleté for three weeks in France when it was +35C most days and didn't get burnt at all, while my shoulders turned slightly pink with Neutrogena Ultra Sheer SPF 50. It's very waterproof so I trust it for beach days but I'm able to remove it easily with the Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Oil. This isn't tested on animals. Cons: It's a little annoying to use, as it's quite dry, thick, takes ages to rub in and can look a little cakey if it's not rubbed in properly. I also find that makeup doesn't go on top as smoothly. That said, I use a large amount and it's perfectly fine as long as I don't rush. The sunscreen also leaves a white cast but this doesn't bother me as I have very fair skin (Nars Siberia, Mac NC10), so it just evens out and brightens my skin slightly. I imagine this would be a problem for darker skin tones if worn without makeup. Despite the slight application issues, this is amazing. It's such a rarity for me to find a physical sunscreen that has antioxidants (vitamin C), is fragrance free and doesn't cause break outs. I tried the Skinceuticals SPF 50 and SPF 30 untinted physical sunscreens without success, and the Paula's Choice physical sunscreens don't provide enough protection for long days in the sun. Please never discontinue this!

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

Beautiful high-protection sunblock. I've tried them all and I always come back to this. Clean, non-offensive smell, beautiful creamy texture. It IS whitening but I have porcelain skin so it just evens out my skintone and leaves me with a pretty glow. I can imagine if you're tanned, it could look a little ghostly. This product also works great as a make-up primer. It's never broken me out and has a very soothing effect on my ultra-sensitive skin. Excellent value at 4 oz for $24.50.

About reviewer (88 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Coarse

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Really want to like this but unfortunately, it irritated my sensitive rosacea skin. I had small bumps on my cheeks the end of the day. What a bummer! I will still continue to use it on my body but will not re-purchase.

About reviewer (41 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other

HairOther

EyesOther


2.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

Incredibly silky and lightweight feeling, it spreads in amazingly. The bad thing is, it leaves an opaque white cast, very noticeable. It's also pretty drying so dry skins beware It's very water resistant so it'd be great for the beach or days where you'll be running etc. Its 22.50 for 4oz I think i'll stick with the 8oz lotion, spf 30 version, this is too drying for my arms (dry body skin to begin with) use a good moisturizing lotion underneath or body butter. This needs an oil cleanser to be removed. I think ill reserve this for days when I'll be out for extended periods . The spf 30 lotion is better for errday use . Use an aox lotion like replenix lotion or olay quench underneath for added protection Edit: this is way too opaque and white . Coppertone waterbabies is more 'elegant' and has more zinc to boot

About reviewer (159 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Olive, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown