4.0

Created with Sketch.
64 reviews
70%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

8 months ago

I have used the Classic St. Tropez mousse for years and love it. Color is beautiful, natural and application is a breeze. Dries quickly and overall my favorite self tanner for my very pale skin. I finally got the dark version for my legs and the color is great and deeper than the classic. My issue with this one is I find it harder to apply with no streaking. It also grabs dry patches more so I do need to prep for this one more than the classic. I have been using self tanner for years so I feel confident with my technique but this stuff is hard to get perfect. I will keep trying but when I am done with the bottle, I will go back to layering the classic version. For pure color results it is great though.

About reviewer (141 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

So this self tanner is amazing. Hands down the best store bought self tanner I have ever used, it goes on so smooth and even if applied with the glove that you can purchase with it. It smells very nice and the colour comes out bronzed and not orange in any way. Natural looking too. Almost as good as a professional spray tan but you really have to be good at applying it. There are tons of tutorials on YouTube so give them a try before applying. You will get the best results that way. I had to ask my boyfriend to apply the product on my upper back.

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This self-tanner is so natural looking, you'll never look orange. It's easy to apply (with a mitt!), dries quickly, and doesn't bleed onto clothes or sheets. It looks green and dirty when you apply it to your skin, but it absorbs overnight into a nice, dark glow. The only issue I have is the application to hands and feet. It should be done last with residual mousse left on the mitt and rinsed off. It's a bit pricey but definitely worth it. I've repurchased it twice. It's much better than the Original (too light) and Express (not always natural looking).

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I’ve been using St Tropez for years. When I lived in a cooler climate I was using the first original mousse they had in the one shade at the time. Was a beautiful natural colour. Awful scent so strong. But I still used it as it was the best shade! Lasted a week before reapplying. Then I moved to a hot climate didn’t need to fake tan anymore. So the last year I’ve returned to a cooler climate again and have gone back to fake tanning. So I’ve picked up good ol St Tropez again and see they have an ultra dark shade. This is what I’m using now. (After trying a few other new ones I’ve seen on the market now). I’ve gone back to St Tropez because it’s a still a beautiful tan however... the ultra dark is not ultra dark. I sleep in the tan over night, wash off in the morning and it’s not dark. It’s a light tan that I would get if I used the original St Tropez colour. Possibly even lighter. So annoyingly I have to tan again the following night to get the ‘dark’ shade that will last 4-5 days max before it goes patchy. In saying this about St Tropez I’ve tried many other tanners and they’re all unimpressive. I’m still on the hunt but in the meantime I’ve settled with St Tropez and applying twice over consecutive nights to get a decent tan. The scent is much better now though. Less strong.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have been using this product for the last 2 years and it's still my absolute favourite. I use self-tanner religiously because I'm naturally very fair and I just find that a tan suits me so much better. St. Tropez dark gives me such a perfect, natural looking tan (which is tough when you're super pale), that lasts well and fades naturally & not patchy like many other tanners. I also find that this mousse is very forgiving; it is extremely easy to blend, and the dark guide colour makes it pretty much impossible to miss a spot. I always exfoliate before I use it and moisturize my hands, elbows, and feet; when following their steps I've never had any issues. I've tried many other self-tanners and they've either come up short, or led to an orange, streaky disaster. An important thing to be careful of is that this product will definitely transfer slightly and tint your clothes when its developing, I put it on at night time and just make sure to put a towel on my pillow and wear loose dark pyjamas. I have made the mistake of wearing like clothes after initial application and my clothes looked like they'd been soaked in mud in the morning, but it came right out when I washed them. Just a side note, I'm also not that big of a fan of St.Tropez's tanning mitt because I feel like it absorbs too much product, personally I love the Vita-Liberata mitt (even though I really dislike their self tanner) because its smoothes out the tan so easily over the skin and doesn't soak it all up.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Comparable to the bondi sands fake tanner, more accessible as I can buy this at the drugstore. Absolutely love the green based tan it complements my olive skin tone. Looks natural and not to smelly. Takes about 30 mins to dry and it’s not streaky if applied with a tanning mitt. Love this tan!!! My go-to when I’m feeling like looking less pale.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Olive

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I will buy this product again, not because it's THAT good, rather because there are few good self tan products out there (in my opinoin). It does the job. I like to have a pretty dark tan and I would say that this is dark enough, and that's hard to find. It works fine on my face. The downside is that it fades horribly. I'm always blotchy within 5 days. And it takes forever to dry.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Bought it at Marshalls for less than $10 but the real price is not worth it to me. It isn't actually "dark" at all but it does give you a pretty sunkissed color. Overall, it didn't break my face out and it did its job so I would repurchase, AT MARSHALLS

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

The only fake tan I use and ever will use. The only down side is - when it comes to finding it off - it really isn't as dark as you thought it would be (me anyway). But never the less it is still dark. And doesn't go on patchy for me. I do get comments from my partner that it doesn't smell great when I first put it on but hey it's worth it lol. Without this I am just a pale milk bottle x

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This tanner is pretty disappointing to me, I would pick my Bondi Sands or Loving Tan over this in a heartbeat. Firstly, it is not that dark. I like to be pretty tan and this is just not that dark at all, applying more product doesn't do too much for the colour either so it's not really a win no matter how I tried to make it work. Secondly, the pump on the bottle I have (and I don't know how common this is) leaked product out around it and I would always end up with stained finger tips which I used to pump it out. I had to sanitise the pump to make it stop getting everywhere. I don't know how well that worked as I ditched the product shortly after so I don't know if it still would do it. But those two points aside, I gave this 4 stars because although I know it's not well suited to what I want I can admit the product generally is very good. The colour is nice and olive, the tan stays on for a good week easily, it absorbs in to the skin well and doesn't leave messy streaks or anything, smells good for fake tanner and so on. For me personally it is not what I am looking for so I won't be buying it again, but for anyone who wants a medium tanner that is easy to apply and stays on well without maintenance this is definitely a good option. For the price point I was a bit disappointed by it, as it is one of the more expensive at home tanners available and I did think I would love it a lot more but hey it's a great product it's just worth the price for me!

About reviewer (8 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel