4.4

Created with Sketch.
25 reviews
76%
would repurchase
4.7/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 months ago

Cocoa Mirage is my favorite quad ..... I have been a fan since this quad first came out and have made repeated purchases. Nothing extraordinary or groundbreaking about the colors, yet, this is the perfect neutral quad ..... the colors all work well together and the quality is exceptional!!!!! Tom Ford has created the perfect neutral eyeshadows with Cocoa Mirage and this would work well for almost everyone regardless of skin tone and eye color. This is my #1 ..... I have pale and cool coloring, and brown eyes, and these are the best matte eye shadows I can choose that work well with my coloring. I am also a huge fan of Natasha Denona's Biba Palette, but if I had to choose between Biba and Cocoa Mirage, Tom Ford you win.

About reviewer (453 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

The problem with this palette is that a seasoned makeup wearer is bound to have these colors already and a newbie wouldn't probably make such a splurge. I bought it because I have developed an unhealthy addiction towards Tom Ford makeup and have a soft spot for neutral eyeshadows. The quality is astonishing, they feel more like cream than powder and practically blend themselves on the lid without any fallout. They also last all day. You have to rush out the door in 5' and fancy a bold smokey eye? Doable! Think Keira Knightley looks. The lightest shade blends with my N15 skin tone completely so I use it with some crease shading and gel liner as it's not light enough to highlight. The reddish brown shade isn't really shimmery, more of a satin. The camel shade plays nicely either on the lid or the crease and I absolutely adore the darkest, so rich and beautiful! All of them lean on the warm side and work perfectly together for the softest to the most dramatic eye makeup. Now I don't believe that anyone needs this palette but when you contemplate paying that much for a quad reason has gone out the door already :P If neutral eye makeup is your thing and look for excellence in quality and packaging it's fair game and enjoy!

About reviewer (950 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Medium

EyesGreen


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This just makes my eyes look really tired and I think the problem is they perfectly mimick the tone my skin takes on when I am sick: orange-brown discolouration like when I have allergies and rub my eyes too much, it looks really bad on me. Also I find them very boring colours for brown eyes that are small (the iris is small) like mine. If you have bigger iris i think it could look great. I know that is an odd way to put it but think Selena Gomez's eyes versus someone with technically larger eyes but smaller iris like Ellen Page. However the two paler colours are fine on me (especially love the camel colour). I think this is not meant for me. The texture etc is good. I do think it kind of has a drying look, (though they blend beautifully, and the dry look probably contributes to longevity however I think I look better with no eyeshadow than this) like I found with Guerlain les Cuirs palette even on others (eg on the counter/salesgirl who sold it to me)- overall I would not recommend nor repurchase. I can and have found a way to make use of it by using them alongside other more shimmery or colourful makeup-- eg the darkest colour as a crease colour to give 'grounding' to more shimmery makeup. As long as I don't use them together I can make it work. Howver the price tag is too high to be something you have to try to make work on yourself.

About reviewer (635 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I've managed to amass 7 (looks around sheepishly _shrugs_) yes 7 TF$ eyeshadow quads of perfection (w ten lipsticks & a creme color e/s) and this is my fave quad. Nude Dip is paler & more sparkly this is its grown up big sis more conservative yet never boring. I can do this for a no-makeup-made-up look, something w a little brown liner & soft mascara, fierce wings, smoky brown eye, dressed up for a big night; a job interview or work appropriate look, et al it's really super versatile it's beautiful I never touch any of my other eyeshadows now that I got TF$'s they are buttery, gorgeous colors that don't fade (I use UDPP), virtually no fall out, gorg packaging w nice applicators & only con I guess I reck is the price tag but TF$ is much cheaper on eBay. Quads are $68-$72 on eBay & $85 other places. Still ouch but saving $15 (x7) is a hundred bucks not bad!!!!!!

About reviewer (2417 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOther, Other, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I would give this palette a 3.5 if I could. The quality is very good but for the price it's not that special. Mostly neutral colors totally dupable. The packaging is total glam but I do have buyers remorse after paying soo much for this palette. I should have bought one of the more colorful unique quads.

About reviewer (77 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Cocoa Mirage is a good practical palette and if you don’t already own something similar, it is a workhorse. Because it’s so basic, you can wear it almost anywhere – business meetings, a first date, your cousin’s wedding, even somber occasions. You can do a clean minimal look or build to a dark brown smoky eye. It’s easy to feather in a bolder single once in a while if you get bored with the same standard look. It performs best over eye primer. PROS: 1. The lightest two shades are very smooth. The darkest brown requires a little more patience to blend if you use primer. 2. Luxe packaging 3. These basic colors are suitable for any occasion and flatter a broad range of skin tones. 4. Not much fallout compared to some of Urban Decay’s powders. CONS: 1. Overpriced. 2. When I don’t use primer or a similar base product, Cocoa Mirage shadows can fade or even crease mildly by the end of a long work day, just like hundreds of other powder shadows that are less expensive. 3. At the time of this review, Tom Ford is not a cruelty free brand. (See crueltyfreekitty.com for brands that are cruelty free.) Packaging: The compact is sleek with a magnetic closure and it comes with a velvety faux suede sleeve to prevent it from getting scratched. The pans are generous, there’s a mirror in the lid and it includes tiny applicators. Convenient and sturdy enough for travel. The colors complement one another well and step logically in depth from light to dark. You have a cream, a neutral light taupe, a reddish brown and a cooler dark brown. Performance: With good brushes, the shadows blend evenly and are unchallenging compared to other mattes. The quad is made in Italy with finely milled powders. You can create a believable “no-makeup” look by using only the top two shadows of Cocoa Mirage, but I typically use all four shades. There are no harsh lines after I blend. I think they look best when you build them up gradually in thin layers and use soft brushes. I use Wayne Goss #3, #4, #5, and MAC 221. The first day I tested these shadows, I applied them directly to bare eyelids to see how they perform without help. My eyelids are not oily. They all blended smoothly with minimal effort. However, the colors had faded by five o’clock without primer and the darkest shade had bunched up a little in my crease. On day two, I used Urban Decay Primer Potion as a base for Cocoa Mirage. Blending required a little more work, which I expected because powder shadows cling to primer (that’s the point). I anticipated better wear this time. Sure enough, when I checked at five o’clock the colors hadn’t faded and there was no creasing. Over the next few weeks, I tried the Cocoa Mirage quad over other bases as well. I found that the shadows lasted well over Laura Mercier’s Caviar Stick in Vanilla Kiss, or Bobbi Brown’s glass jar of Bone cream shadow. MAC’s Prep + Prime Eye Base works, too. To add versatility: Sometimes I use Cocoa Mirage in combination with another quad I purchased around the same time, Honeymoon. The quads work well together because the gold shimmers and rich berry shades in Honeymoon spice up Cocoa Mirage, which can be a little bland on its own. But Honeymoon does not contain a pale highlight shade or any mattes, so I like to use the ivory pan in Cocoa Mirage under the eyebrow, apply Honeymoon’s burgundy on the lid, and go over the crease with the darkest chocolate brown in Cocoa. I use the deeper gold for transition. I like the looks I get when I dabble between the two. Is it worth the money? This is a toughie. Not really. Reviewers on YouTube frequently justify the cost by mentioning that the pans are large. However, I do not think there is a tremendous leap in quality from sister brand MAC (Tom Ford and MAC are both owned by Estee Lauder) to justify the enormous markup, and the colors in Cocoa Mirage are not unique. Estee Lauder is charging extra for Tom Ford’s name, and he’s not someone I happen to worship. Yes, he’s a fashion designer and celebrities wear his tuxedos to the Oscars, but he’s not a makeup artist like Kevyn Aucoin whose book “Making Faces” was inspirational to me when I was in theater. Nevertheless, Tom Ford hires creative people to help him and many of the products are beautiful. Charlotte Tilbury worked for him before leaving to start her own company. Cocoa Mirage has four well-edited shades but it's the least imaginative quad in the line. Alternatives: A budget-conscious friend of mine asked me what she could buy instead of this to achieve a similar look, because she didn’t want to pay Tom Ford prices. MAC has some universally flattering staples for a nice basic eye on different skin tones. I recommended Blanc Type (ivory), Wedge (warmer than Cocoa Mirage’s second top shade but similar in depth), Brun (dark brown) and Swiss Chocolate (for a reddish matte brown). MAC's pro pans are $6 each and a refillable 4 pan palette is $8. The Too Faced Natural Matte palette can give you a similar basic look for $36, or there is Kat Von D's matte Shade & Light palette for $49. These are not exact dupes but they are good. There are also similar colors in Too Faced Chocolate Bar plus a few fun shimmers for $49. My Conclusion: I've grown fond of Cocoa Mirage. I considered returning it but I kept it because I appreciate the portability and streamlined simplicity. The compact is sleek and the little applicators are nice to have in case I get stranded without my brushes. The protective fabric pouch is a nice touch. Cocoa Mirage is the perfect conservative job interview eye. I can throw this palette in my briefcase and quickly do my eyes on the plane if I have to. It’s a no-brainer, and it’s always appropriate. However, it's overpriced at $85.

About reviewer (827 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I will talk in general about these eyeshadows and I have to say it is really a total waste of money ..it is really not worth it. Nothing special about them. I had a better luck with Dior and Chanel ones. Yes they are creamy but some shades tend to flake and the shimmery one is really tricky if not careful when applied. Now he added two matte shades and two shimmering (one would have been enough) to be applied over the latter. ... see the photos.

About reviewer (112 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairOther

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

eyeshadow palettes are often judged on how easy it is to "dupe" them. Likely this one could be duped, but I've spent years trying to find the right shades of neutral warm matte browns and as a consequence have bits and pieces all over the place. This palette has replaced almost everything in my collection. The colors are divine --mattes can be chalky this blends beautifully. The formulation is terrific with little/no dustup or fallout. My shadow stays in place till I take it off (I do always wear a primer or foundation on my lids to enhance the wearability and maximize color payoff). I have chosen to virtually ignore all the new offerings touted by "influencers" and will stay with what looks classy, neutral and polished. This quad does the trick. It is, however, ridiculously expensive. I have managed to justifiy the cost though. (If I really like something I can justify anything......)

About reviewer (64 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I had read all the hype and kept eyeing this palette every time I was at Neiman's. But for a palette that expensive ($80 US), I wanted to be able to use each shade and I wasn't sure about the copper with sparkle pan. I bought it in summer finally and at first I was a little annoyed that I had spent so much because I didn't love the looks I came up with. Yes, I had never felt such creamy powder shadows with zero fallout, but the colors were just too dark for how I like to do my eyes in hot weather. I've been experimenting though, now that, as I write this review, it is getting colder and I am leaning towards richer colors on my eyes. After watching a PixieWoo YT, I had an AHah moment. It's become one of my favorite cold weather eye looks. The cream shade doesn't look at all chalky and acts as a wonderful base for my entire lid. On me it totally eliminates the need for a eye shadow primer. The tan color applied with a fluffy e/s brush blends beautifully. The brown shade applied heavily and then blended into the tan with a clean fluffy brush almost gives me an ombre effect. I am very pale with greenish hazel eyes. The copper works as a pop color in the middle of my moveable lid. I like shadow on my lower lash line, but the copper looks too dark there even if mixed with the tan shade because anything with red doesn't look good under my eyes. I've been experimenting with various taupe family single e/s shades I have that have a bit of shimmer but no red for my lower lash line. If TF$ ever comes out with another mostly matte palette, I would consider buying more, but the rest of his palettes are way too shimmery for me.

About reviewer (315 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Efffffffffffing Tom Ford always gets me! This palette is a dream for my brown eyes. I'm a huge fan of neutral eye shadows... Ugh this is neutral heaven. The mattes are just amazing. They blend beautifully and are so creamy and luxurious... I'm so glad I picked this up. TF has the BEST eye shadows I've ever used.

About reviewer (33 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown