3.5

Created with Sketch.
17 reviews
52%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I was pleasantly surprised by this cleanser. I’ve always wanted to love Andalou Natural products, as many are well reviewed and have great ingredients, but my skin doesn’t seem to agree with them. This cleanser however, probably because I wash it off vs. leaving it on my facial skin, works well for me. It is a very creamy cleanser, and seems very natural and citrus-y. I wouldn’t use it solely to remove makeup, but it’s going to cleanse whatever may be left on the face, while leaving the skin clean and not stripped. It doesn’t really leave the skin with a “hydrating” film or squeaky clean feeling, it just feels clean after. My skin seems to still have moisture without the negatives of many cleansers. I don’t think this, with some of its ingredients and the heavy scent alone, will be for everyone. But if you’ve been looking for an affordable cleanser with natural, “good” ingredients, I would definitely check this out. Recommend. Overall: B-

About reviewer (120 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue



3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Broke me out

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I picked this up at a Marshalls because the price was good and I needed a new cleanser. I'd been using Cetaphil face wash and just wasn't happy with that. I think that the reason this is working so well for me is that I'm using it in combination with St. Ive's apricot scrub. So far my routine has been: makeup removal: vaseline - I swear ladies, this is the only makeup remover you'll ever need. I wipe it on with my fingers and then swipe it off with a cotton wipe. Then I use a very small dab of the St. Ive's apricot scrub to exfoliate. I follow up with this cleanser and so far I have really liked it. My face feels clean but not tight. This cleanser has a very strong citrus-y lemon scent to it. It has a very slippery texture and I agree about the pump accidentally shooting out product, but I try not to use too much of it so that it doesn't feel like it takes forever to wash off. After washing and drying I apply Olay's original beauty fluid to moisturize.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

So this was recommended to me by my esthetician roommate for my sensitive skin. I had scarring and discoloration due to acne. Prior to this cleanser I had been able to successfully control my acne through all natural cleansers from Lush, but nothing had helped with the other issues: scarring, discoloration, redness, sensitivity, etc. I've been using this cleanser with the paired toner and daytime moisturizer for about 6 months now! Results are very positive. This is an extremely gentle cleanser while still effectively leaving my skin feeling "clean"; never tight or shiny. To be clear, this is not a makeup remover. This is a general cleanser for your bare skin. You must separately remove any makeup prior to using this cleanser or it's just not going to work. It effectively prevents new blemishes and reduces the redness of any existing. Pre-existing discoloration and scarring has faded. Any pigmentation problems has actually been resolved completely. The redness is also gone due to the gentleness of the cleanser. I'd rate it as an extremely effective product at 4/5. The price is very reasonable at $12 per bottle. I have used 2 bottles in 6 months and I use this product daily for my face and body. I would suggest improving this cleanser by increasing the strength slightly - at times I feel that I must apply it twice before really being "clean". The package is standard with a pump. Remember to rinse the pump off after each use or the product will dry up and block the pump.

About reviewer (70 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGray


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I'm not sure why this doesn't get better reviews - I really like this product. I think people are misunderstanding the word "cleanser" and thinking it should be a makeup remover. I find no cleanser except an oil cleanser or makeup removing balm (something very specific for removing makeup) really removes makeup well, so I don't expect it to do that. This is great as a refreshing, brightening morning cleanser or to cleanse post makeup removal (like when you've removed makeup with a makeup remover and need to cleanser off the residue). It's gentle, hydrating, non-foaming, and I do feel makes skin a little brighter. I like the texture and the scent, and the ingredient list, and the price. The only thing I don't like is the pump - it frequently gets clogged then shoots cleanser across the room when you press it. But that's a small complaint. I have purchased this several times and likely would again.

About reviewer (341 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


2.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I love Andalou Naturals, I've tried several products and have been satisfied with most of the items I've tried out. However, this one just didn't agree with my skin type. I have combination skin and although this was not a harsh cleanser, it seemed to worsen my acne. I'm not sure what ingredient may be culpable but it wasn't meant to be :( Or perhaps it's too gentle for my face? Idk! It's worth a try. I really wish it would have worked out for me lol.

About reviewer (27 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

I love non-foaming cleansers. This cleanser is like a lemon-scented physiogel or cetaphil cleanser. I bought it because I was getting bored of the latter two. It's more expensive by the ml. but I didn't notice if it's significantly better then the previous cream cleansers I tried. If you're a heavy makeup wearer, don't expect this product to remove a significant amount of face makeup (unless maybe if you massage it for 2 minutes). I didn't experience any sign of irritation of dryness. I don't think I'd buy this again but it was fun until it lasted.

About reviewer (7 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I have oily skin, get the occasional zit in my t-zone area, and prescribe to a NV Perricone type diet of no processed foods or else I break out. Blackheads in the nose area are common for me so I have to make sure to use masks weekly. This product is just too mellow for my skin type. It doesn't feel clean and hardly removes any eye makeup. However, it seems gentle enough in the case you have very sensitive or dry skin. I also remember having to use a very gentle cleanser during an acutane treatment in my late teens by dermalogica and this has a similar feel/gentleness. Overall not recommended for oily skins and daily makeup wearers.

About reviewer (15 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Olive, Warm

HairBrunette, Curly, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Great gentle foaming cleanser for dry to combo-dry skin types. It lathers up very nicely with water added. As long as you lather it up enough and don't use too much (I use 1-1.5 pumps) it's not hard to rinse off. Leaves my face feeling clean, soft, and not stripped. I've used this with or without a Clarisonic, both with great results. For makeup removal, I've removed full coverage face makeup with no residue when used with Clarisonic. If you don't use a face cleansing device with it, I suggest a pre cleanse for full makeup removal. This is a staple of mine, and I stock up when I see it on sale. Because this is a creamy cleanser, I don't recommend this to oily skin types.

About reviewer (202 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Although a very gentle cleanser, this is not a very effective cleanser. I feel that it is soft and non-irritating, but as a result it does not remove all of my makeup and excess oil when I wash my face. I had to follow up with another cleanser afterwards. This cleanser would be better as a pre-cleanse.

About reviewer (1756 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesGreen