3.8

Created with Sketch.
8 reviews
75%
would repurchase
3.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 months ago

It's nearly 2020 and we're still seeing creams in jars, we're still expected to dunk our fingers in and contaminate the whole tub, we still have to live with exposing the open jar to dust and air. The Icy Gel seemed best suited to some kind of tube or pump. The formula certainly is runny and slippery enough. It's like a poor-man's version of Clinique's Moisture Surge. But, ugh, a glass jar and twist open cap it is. It's ultra light, very mild, fantastic for oily skin, and perfect for a day spent in cold harsh office air-conditioning. I apply it on a clean face, but it pills slightly on use, which I end up dusting away with a napkin. For me, it's not great for anywhere else but the face - not hands, not elbows, not legs. It's just too light. But on my face it's one of the few hydrating products that has never broken me out. It's not sticky, gummy or shiny. And it washes off smoothly as well. I would not buy it again simply because of the packaging

About reviewer (129 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Tan, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack



3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Am sure women like me with combination-oily+breakout prone skin, living in places with high humidity levels, find it very difficult to find a moisturizer that feels mattifying / non-greasy on the skin. So, when a product like this comes up it gets all our attention..!! Not sure if this product has been launched in the US or Europe. From various reviews it appears that this has been created specifically for the Asian market. Anyways here's L'Oreal's description/claims of the product :- All Day Hydrating and Mattifying ICY GEL • Micro Sponges: Absorbs excess sebum/oil and prevent perspiration & shine • 8X More concentrated in Zinc: Helps to regulate sebum production • Ocean Deep Water: Provide hydration and prevent water loss,4X More Hydration • ALL DAY HYDRATION: Reduces shine from oily to combination skin • A light weight skin-cooling texture: Brings an instant ocean splash to your skin, locking in a reserve of hydration and freshness. • Controls your skin temperature: To prevent perspiration and shine. • Zinc and Micro Sponge technology: Regulates the sebum and inhibits excessive oil production to bring an immediate Mattifying action. Here's my experience with this product after using it for 6-8 months - Ingredients ========= A detailed list of ingredients NOT provided anywhere on the packaging or the jar. Description ========= The product is a sea-green color gel. It is of a light-weight consistency. Has some fragrance which smells refreshing and slowly disappears after gel is applied. Application-Results-Benefits ======================= I realized that "LESS IS MORE" with this product. Do NOT assume that applying more of this product will absorb all oil giving a great matte effect..!! Actually the reverse happens - Going overboard with this gel leaves the skin greasy..!!! I had to place a tissue to remove all the excess gel from my face. If not over-applied then, upon application, it leaves a tingling, cooling feeling on the skin and then it settles down to a mattifying effect which lasts for around 2-3 hours. During those 2-3 hours, => I did not find my T-zone oily, => did not feel the need to use oil-blotting sheets on T-zone or any other part of my face => did not experience perspiration on my face => did not see any oil-related shine on my face => did not have a drying effect on my skin => gave a matte-look to my skin => did not cause any breakouts => was able to apply make-up (foundation/BB cream/powder/blush) without any issues After 3 hours or so, my skin feels oily again. Which means that depending on how oily one's skin is, one has to re-apply this product during the day to keep sebum at bay. Overall ====== Pros: => Does leave a non-shiny, non-greasy, mattifying effect on the skin => Forms a good base for make-up Cons: => A complete ingredient list is missing - description just mentions micro sponges, zinc and ocean deep water => Contains fragrance which maybe an issue for sensitive skin => Does not contain any skin-like or skin benefiting ingredients => If you're expecting this to have SPF then you will be disappointed. => You have to buy a separate product containing SPF and/or skin-benefiting ingredients (this could be a deal breaker for some women) => The hydrating and mattifying effect does not last all day but only for few hours depending on how oily your skin is => Product comes in a jar - couple of issues with that :- 1) once jar is opened and lets the air in, the important ingredients begin to deteriorate 2) Jars are unhygienic because we have to dip our fingers into them with each use; that adds bacteria, which further deteriorates the beneficial ingredients ( It is a known fact that all plant extracts/vitamins/antioxidants/ or other state-of-the-art ingredients used in skin-care products break down in the presence of air ) Would I recommend this : If this is the only option available then will recommend it only for its mattifying / non-greasy effect

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I remember purchasing this product some time in late January, or February. It is now September, I've reached the bottom of the jar and I'm trying to scoop out whatever's left. It only goes to show how I've voraciously consumed it, especially during the summer months in the subtropical humid heat. Make no mistake, this is not a miracle product - it has its flaws, but I love it too much, it does what it says on the box, and that's enough for me. I don't think this gel/cream? Is particularly moisturing, compare to my other well loved (winter) moisturiser, the Nivea daily express moisture for dry skin, but I don't need that much hydration in the summer anyway, so I still find it abundantly adequate for summer daily use. When applied, it feels cool and a little bit tingling, it flushes my skin with just enough moisture and then very quickly, dries to a matte finish - and also tightens all the pores on the skin around my nose. My face looks much better just with this gel alone, more even, brightened and fresh. However, the pore tightening effect doesn't last the whole day. I have oily combination skin, and if there's nothing else on my face but this, the pores will come back within hours in intense heat and sweating. I don't mind, (and I think no one should rely on a moisturiser to fix your pore problem, because it probably means the product contains loads of alcohol) this smooths out my face like a baby's bottom and my foundation, concealer and what not glide on it with no problem. The strangest thing is, their anti-shine clai is really true, but not on the regard that it will reduce your oil production. I find that using this gel, even if my skin produces oil at the usual rate (2-4 hours after application, depend on the weather and humidity), my face just doesn't LOOK shiny. It shines, a bit, but not like an oil slick, just a glow. If I feel too oily, I just take a napkin and dab dab dab all over my face, and my make up is good as new. The effect is very interesting. I don't think this would be good for people with dry skin, because I don't think it could give you enough moisture, especially not in the winter - I bought it in late winter and only began to use it regularly until late spring and throughout the summer. I have dry patches that flake on the top of my nose, on my cheeks/on the sides of my face, and this can't fix that, but that's not its job, it's a moisturiser, not an exfoliator, so I'm not upset. It's quite expensive where I live, but seriously, so far it has lasted me over 8 months of daily use. I can live with that, and I will gladly buy it again. But I think I will put it off for a while because winter is approaching, I will need more moisture during that time as well, and this will not serve. Overall: great moisturiser for the summer, mattifies, tightens pores initially, good make up base, does control the shine as promised. I have never had any problem with acne outbreak or any allergic reaction from it. P/s: My pores do seem to have been reduced, but I wouldn't attribute it to the HydraFresh alone, as I use it in tandem with many other trusted products. But it somehow kinda helps a bit, I guess. P/p/s: I have also mixed this several of my foundations, concealer and BB creams and it also works very well that way: the mixture dries and sets faster to a very light, natural finish, has a nice subtle glow to it, and it helps glue the other product into my skin very well. So it's quite versatile as well.

About reviewer (69 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Olive, Cool

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

I have super oily skin especially around the nose. This make my face matte for 2-3 hrs max. Mid day my nose oily as usual, my foundation or powder can't even stick on my nose. After 2 tubs, I decided not to purchase again. Thanks to reddit skincare addict advice, i now used ocm and vaseline at night and solved my oily skin problems. You girls should check them out.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Pros - It is suitable for most people living in a tropical area just like myself in Brunei/Malaysia. - It is easily available at Watsons, Guradian or any drugstore. - It is 50g along with a great price approx of RM$30 - It provides a matte finish so your skin wont be oily. Cons - Apart from it's cooling sensation and matifying purposes, it does not improve your skin complex. - Should have came in a tube/pump instead of a jar - It does not improve your skin in anyway other than absorbing excess sebum.

About reviewer (2 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 years ago

I'm on my second jar now. First let me tell you I have the oiliest skin with breakouts and acne scars. Though this is a gel moisturizer for oily skintypes but it also controls oil as well. I still get shiny but it suppresses the oil from breaking through. My skin is hydrated, comfortable, cool, refreshed and matte. Even the soap and glory clear here t-zone oil control moisturizer can't beat its mattifier. Not suited for dry/ dry-normal skintype. No SPF, I only use indoors and overnight. ($7.00). I also use the cleanser and toner both also are satisfactory. 4 lippies, not my ultimate oil control anti-blemish moisturizer, this is just ok for my daily use.

About reviewer (76 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

I can't even begin to describe how much I love this. Sadly the only place I could find this was everywhere but in the U.S. (-__-x) I bought mine while on summer vacation in Taiwan last year at a Watsons store. if you have ever been anywhere in the eastern regions of Asia (Korea, East China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, etc.) you guys will understand what I mean when I say that during the summer it is so hot and humid that I always contemplate for a long time whether to leave a ACed room. This obviously cannot help with the pouring sweat due to humidity, however when I used the backup I bought here in the hot Socal weather, it really did help keep the shine at bay! I have combo/oily skin in the summer and I dont use foundation. I did not need to blot even once during summer school (7:15-1pm) Obviously this wont keep you from being completely matte/oil-free throughout the whole day, but it definitely helps a ton. Also the texture and feel of this on the skin is amazing! Has a very cooling sensation and isn't thick or heavy. Moisturizing enough that I can use this during the dry winter months, (remember I live in desert weather) but not too rich and still perfect during the summer. Very moisturizing but might not be enough for dry skinned folks. ( if you have dry skin but still want to use this in the summer I suggest using a moisturizing 'lotion' [toner, Hada Labo (?)] and that should do the trick) with this. This is very similar to the gel moisturizer that is from neutrogena that also comes in a jar (blue) but the only difference is that this has the extra step of mattifying. Every time I go to taiwan I restock. I literally buy 4-5 jars and dump them all in a pump bottle....I don't understand why they don't sell this in the U.S., I'm sure it would be extremely successful given how everyone loves the garnier one.. which is not better than this in my opinion. Anyways the only downside to this is that it comes in a jar, however I like to dump it all into a pump anyway so that doesn't pose too much of a problem for me . I gave it a 2 for packaging the jar is a glasslike plastic (?); heavy and not cheap feeling at all. Definite HG moisturizer for summer!

About reviewer (41 reviews)

AgeUnder 18

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

8 years ago

Just a perfect product for summertime! I find that my skin tends to get oilier in summer and I need a lighter weight moisturiser than Lancome Renergie Lift Volumetry which is what I normally use. L'Oreal's Icy Gel's claims of mattifying the skin while providing light moisture convinced me to try it. Also, just the name of "icy gel" was very appealing during these summer days when the high temperatures are 40C/104F and humidity never dips below 70%. Immediately when applying this gel, you get a refreshing cool burst feeling and a slight mint scent. It truly is cooling and very lovely to apply! I love the texture, it's a nice light gel as you would expect from the name. It also did seem to reduce shine on my face very well, and didn't melt my makeup or cause it to run. My skin felt smooth and hydrated by the end of the day. Probably will be my new regular day moisturiser for summer!

About reviewer (175 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinNormal, Medium Brown, Warm

HairBlack, Straight, Coarse

EyesBrown