4.1

Created with Sketch.
257 reviews
77%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range
$35.00 on Skinstore
Shop Now

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 months ago

I've had such sensitised skin lately, reacting to everything. Redness and perioral dermatitis. I applied what was meant to be suitable for sensitive skin and my skin flushed so badly and was so itchy. I washed it all off and applied this cream which I had earlier bought but not used yet as was scared of the mineral oil and breaking out. The cream straight away soothed my skin and my redness started to calm down. I've been using it every day since and my skin looks and feels so much better. I've had a couple of spots but think that was from my skin barrier being so disturbed from the products before. I would recommend to anyone in search of a product to help there sensitised irritable skin

About reviewer (14 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen



5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

I suffer with occasional contact dermatitis on my eyelids. As much as I adore La Roche Pósay products their products just stung the hell out of my eyes. My friend, who works in dermatology, gave me a sample of this. Absolutely incredible. Literally the only cream to date that I have used that hasn’t stung my eyes when they flare up. Really soothing and feels like your skin is being repaired. After 2 days of using twice a day the flakiness and the redness had gone from my eyes. Great buy if your skin is sensitive like mine. Couldn’t wait to purchase a full size tube.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

In my past experience, a lot of light moisturizers left my skin feeling tight and irritated, or caused my skin to become dry and flaky. When I tested the Avène Skin Recovery Cream, I was happy that it didn’t make my skin look greasy or matted. In fact, my skin felt normal—which is something a lot of products can’t seem to do! <object onclick="ga('send', {hitType: 'event',eventCategory: 'Ajax Interaction',eventAction: 'PlayVideo',eventLabel: ''});" width="360" height="320"><param name="movie" value="https://www.youtube.com/v/KyZobFc2zNI"><param name="wmode" value="transparent"><embed src="https://www.youtube.com/v/KyZobFc2zNI" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="360" height="320"></object>

About reviewer (230 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

9 months ago

Love this cream! It has a gorgeous emollient texture that leaves my skin feeling really moisturised, without the tight (almost suffocating?) feeling I get from Cerave in the tub, idk I just find that one way too thick. I've been using the Avene SRC on my course of Accutane along with Hada Labo gokujyun premium and aquaphor on dry areas and I have no issues with dryness despite a fairly high dose, thank God. I love that in the UK they have now started formulating two Skin Recovery Creams; one without shea butter and another rich version with the shea butter. For those who are sensitive to malassezia/fungal acne, the former is safe and is far, far, faaaar superior to the Tolerance Extreme which only has like 5 ingredients but has a very watery, more lotion-like texture and doesn't moisturise as well as the recovery cream. Highly recommend; simple but effective and has ingredients which are effective and non-irritating.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

This is one of those products that confuse me a lot. Look at the ingredients, you simply cannot go wrong with it. Look at the highlights, Hypoallergenic, Non-Comedogenic, Preservative-Free, Fragrance-Free, Paraben-Free, Soap-Free, Soy-Free, Gluten-Free, how on earth this cannot work for anyone. I apply a decent amount on my face and it also feels okay, but my face only looks more red than before. I even tried the rich version with same results. And this product is expensive for the quantity one gets. I'm using it at the moment as a night cream and have decided to finish the tube no matter what the results are. I'll come back and edit my review depending on what I see after a month.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium Brown

HairBlack

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I never write reviews yet read them all the time so I decided it was time to start! I have Rosecea, redness not spots. I've spent so much money on creams just to find they sting and irritate my skin- ones even recommend for sensitive skin. Cerave was one of the worst even though it gets great reviews! This cream doesn't cause any irritation - its expensive for such a basic moisturiser, but cheaper than constantly trying new ones and having to chuck them! I loved Replenix but its just so much money! I will probably continue to look for another but I still keep coming back to this cream.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I am about to finish it so I there was plenty of time to change my mind. I bought the richer version for my irritated skin. It doesn’t hydrate, my skin feels dry after applying it and it clogged my pores causing me to breakout and develop white and black heads... probably due to the low quality of ingredients

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

So I really thought I would like this product considering the minimal ingredients BUT it completely ruined the moisture barrier in my skin, it got really dry and irritated in my rosacea prone areas...maybe it is the mineral oil, I'm unsure but all I know it that I can't use this - I did trial it for 3 weeks so gave it enough of a chance. Unfortunately Avene is not for me...I also found that when I applied this my skin was dry and tight, almost a burning sensation. I have gone back to clinique moisture surge intense and my skin is slowly getting better..

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

This is the only cream that doesn't irritate my skin, doesn't clog pores, doesn't give me any skin issues. The formula is simple. I can't tolerate any alcohols (even the fatty ones) or fragrance and there are none here. There are also no preservatives. The tube is self-sealing. 50ml 1.7oz lasts me a bit less than 2 months and I use it every day at the night time. It moisturizes my skin really well but stays tacky forever, not a problem for the night time. This is the only none SPF moisturizer I use. Already repurchased.

About reviewer (646 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This cream now comes in a different tube, with a flat lid and cap. When squeezed, a central ring in the cap lifts up and dispenses the cream. When you let go, the ring goes back to being flush with the lid and does not allow any air or cream to re-enter the tube. It sounds confusing but it essentially creates a one-way valve when the cream is dispensed, minimising contamination of the cream inside. It's a really nice touch and you can happily use the cream on dry, flaky and irritated skin without worrying about the cream carrying unspeakable horrors from previous skin infections. This is quite expensive, £16.50 for 50mL. However, it has a small and very rationalised ingredients list, which is what sensitive and reactive skin needs. The fewer potential irritants, the better. This comes in two variants, this one and a &quot;Rich&quot; version for drier skin types. I use this one and it is wonderful as a winter moisturiser especially. It is unscented, soft and sinks into skin like a dream. As with most of the Avene line, it is noncomedogenic which is a bonus for those of us with adult acne. It's a little too expensive to use all the time but during those cold and windy winter months, it's wonderful. I always have one of these in my bathroom cabinet so it's there if I need it.

About reviewer (195 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.