Essence Gel-Look Plumping Top Coat

Essence Gel-Look Plumping Top Coat
Gel-Look Plumping Top Coat

2.3

52 reviews

36% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS


Start your review


on 10/23/2016 6:38:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I use regular nail polish and put a coat of this stuff over the top. It's perfect. Works just as good as any gel top coat I've used and makes my nails look SO shiny and classy. I was paying over $10 extra for the salon to paint my nails in a gel polish and topcoat and now I don't have to anymore. I don't worry about it lasting for the entire two weeks because I change my polish once a week. (For the record, my fave polish on the planet is Essence Pure Soul. OMG what a great nude. I don't use many Essence products but this top coat and the Pure Soul polish are the best.)

2 of 2 people found this helpful.



on 9/25/2016 12:50:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'm going to stop buying expensive brands and just buy this one from now on. It's perfect, and it dries more quickly than the others. My nails look gorgeous!


on 4/30/2016 3:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an okay shiny, clear top coat. But there is no "plumping effect" that I can see. Definitely no XXXL Volume either.

It adds a nice high-gloss shine and helps to chip-proof my mani too.

Inexpensive and it does the job. But it's not anything special and I wouldn't buy it again.


on 3/30/2016 11:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Initially I thought this was great... really shiny, chip free nails. But now after using for a couple of months it's got it's drawbacks.. It takes forever to dry (I do use the express dry drops as well but that seems to make my nails chip more easily), it went thick and gloopy quite quickly (which now leaves visible streaks on the surface of the nail after use no matter how much of it I use) and it seems to make nail polish harder to remove.

To be honest though, most of the problems I have with it I seem to have with other, more expensive gel look top coats as well so I think I'll just avoid them in general. It is one of the better ones though, and is really cheap.


on 3/2/2016 10:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Really bad:
Too many bubbles,
Take like an hour to dry
After a month, the nail polish turned yellow. (only used once).

1 of 1 people found this helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this product in a swap and when I got it it was clear. The bottle turned yellow before I even got to use it for the first time. I used this and it made my polish bubble. It makes me want to throw it away but I'll try it one more time on top of another polish.


on 6/17/2015 5:47:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This top coat advertises a "gel look" and it definitely lives up to that claim. This is my go-to topcoat and I have been asked countless times if I was wearing gel nails while wearing it over normal polish. The price can't be beat and it dries in the blink of an eye. I think I bought my current bottle for CAD$2.99. The brush has good coverage and rarely drags. I don't want to run out, this product is incredible! Stock up!

2 of 2 people found this helpful.


on 5/13/2015 6:01:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I don't have any other top coat to compare with so this review will be scored according to how I like the product in general at this point. I bought this on a whim as I was purchasing their Express dry drops.

The top coat has a thicker consistency but it smooths out evenly and is very easy to apply. I painted my nails with 2 coats of nail polish, dried them and topped it off with this top coat. It takes a while for it to dry, but doesn't all thicker tops coats?

I have now had my polish for a good 3 days, WITHOUT ANY chipping. Normally, the nail polish I used, chips after 2 days. So far so good! I had cut my nail in a different shape this time, and asked my boyfriend if he saw any difference in what he's used to see. (I always show him color and result after I paint my nails). He said it looked extra shiny. I wouldn't agree 100% to that. It does makes my nail look plump as the name of the top coat suggests. Extra shiny? No. But shiny? Yes!

I would definitely recommend this to anyone on or off any budget. It's dirt cheap, I paid 100 THB (3-4$) and would def repurchase if the results stays same throughout the bottle. I can imagine the polish getting thicker and messier as time goes by, the more you use it. We shall see about that, I'll let you know. I have a feeling this is a keeper though!

Update: I now had my polish for 6 days with seriously NO CHIPPING. Halleluja!!
I see some small "cracks', but really not noticeable if you don't look at it up-close. Really amazing! Can't believe it lasted me that long!
Next experiment will be using 2 layers of regular polish, top coat, Quick dry drops.

Update: Using the Quick dry drops worked brilliant as well. My mani looked great and lasted for a good week before any chipping. But I feel like when using it without the drops though, it lasted me a couple of extra more days without chipping. So no more drops, just high speed fans work great for me!

Update: I now purchased the oh so famous Seche vite. That one I've given 4 lippies, so this one has to drop down 1 lippie now. The reason being the drying time. Seche is intended to dry fast, this isn't so maybe not fair. But it still makes it a plus in my book scoring my top coats!


on 3/30/2015 10:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been looking for a well priced top-coat for ages that lasts longer than my essie or fancy sally hansen ones.

I find this one is super shiny, lasts longer and keeps it together even if it chips. When it does chip it's the worlds smallest chip which is great!

only downside: takes a teeny bit longer than the average top coat to dry because it is thicker.

Highly recommended if you're trying to do a 'mock' shellac at home.


on 3/29/2015 8:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I never really use topcoats because all of the ones worth buying are out of my university student price range. But i've been increasingly more and more impressed with Essence lately! This topcoat dried nice and fast, (i used it with a rimmel 60 second nail polish) and it has lasted 4 days on me with no chipping! which is quite good considering i wash my dishes by hand. I can't understand why the rating is low like this, it works so well! Seeing as i just bought it last week i doubt there has been any formulation changes

1 of 1 people found this helpful.

Back to Top