3.8

Created with Sketch.
341 reviews
72%
would repurchase
3.4/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 months ago

Sadly, I think this concealer has been discontinued. I can no longer find it. Such a shame as it was a great concealer. I suppose a search for a good concealer is on.

About reviewer (44 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

Love this concealer. I have tried the YSL, and this is a very good competitor. I definitely don't think the YSL price is justified for the product. Currently the on the Ulta website the Maybelline is $7.99 for .05oz (US measurements and currency, sorry I didn't get the grams), and on the Sephora website the YSL is .1 oz for $38. The equivalent amount in the Maybelline would be $16. So, if I dust off my school girl math skills, that makes the YSL more than double the price of the Maybelline, and I just don't see double the performance. The YSL has nicer packaging, if that means $22 more to you then go for it. It is not often that a drug store product gets it right, enough so that I see no need to buy the high end product. This goes on perfectly with gentle patting of the fingers, doesn't settle into wrinkles or fine lines under my 53 year old eyes, doesn't look like a dried up cakey mess after a few hours. I have mild dark circles under my eyes, so I would not recommend this for someone trying to cover severe darkness or for covering blemishes or rosacea. Those need color correctors, not a light concealer/illuminator which is what this is. Use the right tool for the job. This and the Lancome concealer are my go to under eye concealers. Excellent products.

About reviewer (37 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is a really nice concealer and quite similar to the YSL one. I found it perfect for adding brightness to my face, especially my under eye area. Let’s get one thing straight though, if you are into ‘Instagram’ makeup and like to apply your concealer like war paint as many ‘beauty gurus’ do before ‘baking’ it into oblivion, then this concealer is not for you and I believe that the negative reviews are mostly coming from the demographic which I just described as I honestly can’t see how anyone would give it one star. I bought this concealer for 50% off on sale and I believe I paid about $10 AUD. When trying a drugstore product for the first time, I only buy when on sale so that way if I end up disliking it, at least I haven’t wasted too much money. I would absolutely repurchase this concealer. It won’t disguise heavy bags or super dark circles though as it’s only medium coverage. I found this concealer to be perfect for me as my under eyes are quite good and just need a little bit of concealing/brightening which this did perfectly. I believe this will still work really well for people with dark circles, so long you first use a peach toned colour corrector which you should be doing anyway if you do suffer from dark circles. The best way to apply this concealer is to dot it on the areas which need covering and then gently pat it in with your ring finger to blend. Using a brush or sponge will thin the product too much. I believe that a gentle patting motion with the middle finger or ring finger is the best way to apply any type of concealer for a natural look. If you like a natural look and want to look more bright eyed, healthy and ‘awake’, then this is a fantastic option at a fantastic price!

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesHazel


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Not a fan. I bought this a few weeks ago after I read online that it was a really nice, inexpensive dupe for YSL Touche Eclat. I was unfortunately pretty underwhelmed. It did not highlight, nor did it conceal much. I assumed that the product would have a good amount of slip and be very blendable, but it was actually quite dry and tough to blend. I was mortified when I looked in the mirror a few hours after applying and saw that it had set into fine lines and drew attention to my already-dry undereye area, despite using a setting powder.

About reviewer (145 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I picked this up on a whim and now I wish I hadn’t. I’m not crazy about it. The coverage is bad, it creases and I don’t think it really brightens, maybe a little. I used it anyway cause I don’t like wasting money. But it only lasted like three weeks and I didn’t use it every day. You definitely don’t get much product and the brush applicator is weird. Like I said I used it but it was just okay and I wouldn’t buy it again.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is one of those hyped products that just didn't live up to the claims. As a highlighter I found it completely useless and it also did not do a great job of concealing. I find the wind up concealers a bit frustrating as well, more gimmick than anything else. I purchased this in the lightest colour. I was hoping the thin consistency would work well on a more mature skin. I applied it with my Beauty Blender and found it just disappeared into my skin covering nothing. There is really not much else I can add to this review. There are other cheap concealers that do a better job, even the Maybelline stick concealers are superior to this.

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

My rating is based on the current version and the new colors. If they hadn;t changed them, I would give it a 3. I've used this as a substitute for YSL Touche Eclat sometimes. Is it a dupe? No. I am convinced there is no exact dupe for Touche Eclat and I have tried so many, none are quite as good. I don't like heavy concealers under my eyes, I don't need them, no dark circles to cover, I just want something that brightens a little. However, despite the ugly, cheap packaging and the tiny amount it WAS an easy to obtain, affordable alternative. You get much less in this that the YSL, this only has .05 oz. compared to YSL 1 oz. I liked the color Ivory, but for some bizarre reason, they changed the colors and discontinued the only nice color for me, which was Ivory. I use #2 Luminous Ivory in YSL Touche Eclat. Now Maybelline's only light color is Fair and it is very pink, not as brightening and the formula seems different. The other colors are all dark. I tried it once and took it back and exchanged it for the No7 Radiant Glow in the color very light which is okay. I did manage to find a few of the Ivory on ebay from reliable sellers, but Ivory was sold out on many of them. I guess people that used it are now stocking up on the discontinued colors since all of the news ones are awful. I've never been a fan of Maybelline products anyway, now they discontinued the one thing I did repurchase.

About reviewer (781 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I bought this when I ran out of YSL Touche Éclat and balked at the price of buying a new one. I only bought it on a whim because I had heard it was a good dupe and when it comes to the eye area I think it does an excellent job. I have been using this for over a year now to cover and brighten any darkness and dark circles around my eyes and I think it performs really well. It is light and gentle and smoothes over easily and doesn’t irritate the skin and lasts all day. It also lasts for absolutely ages and as long as you take care of the brush it lasts much longer than the YSL. I use this in colour no. 2 and I used the shade 2.5 in YSL Touché Éclat, it doesn’t have quite as much yellow in but it has enough, in addition to this it doesn’t have that terrible pinkness that is in the YSL number 2 and which is super visible in daylight. As a concealer to be used for dark circles and darkness around the eye area I think this is excellent and considering it costs about a quarter of the price of YSL here in Denmark I am so pleased I tried it!

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I purchased this concealer based off the reviews here and I'm so glad I did! It has great coverage with a natural finish, hydrating on my dehydrated skin, doesn't accentuate fine lines and stays on all day. Love love this product and will continue to repurchase

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I got this on no1 Ivory. Thin formula, decent coverage, does not crease, very good for highlighting under the eye area as well as other areas of the face. Blends really good. Will buy again.

About reviewer (53 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlack

EyesOther