4.0

Created with Sketch.
74 reviews
64%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 months ago

This has a warming sensation for like, two seconds, then its over. This is black colored cleanser that cleanses well but can be a bit drying to my combination skin. Has a natural geranium essential oil scent which I really dislike.

About reviewer (3102 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairOther, Straight, Fine

EyesOther



5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

A little pricey but it was worth it. Feels fresh and clean after use. Skins feels very smooth.

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 months ago

I got a small bottle of this and I love it so much that when I run out, I’m getting a full size. I have combo sensitive skin. My skin tends to get clogged easily. I use this in the shower because I find the steam helps it penetrate and also rinse off better. It’s a very thick texture. You definitely can feel the warming effect and it feels good like it’s going deep into your pores. When I get out of the shower, I can literally just scrape off all my blackheads I get around my nose area because this loosens them so much. I also really like that the product is vegan and clean of many harsh chemicals and additives. After wards I apply my squalene from The Ordinary that I keep in my fridge and it feels like a mini spa!

About reviewer (78 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

It's an ok cleanser.Not amazing but not terrible either.It cleanses well but that's it. It's pretty expensive too(10 euros for the 50ml version as we don't have the full sized version yet). I feel like I can buy much cheaper cleansers with triple the quantity of this one that do the same job. I do like that you can control how much product comes out of the dispenser though.

About reviewer (85 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I like this cleanser a lot, but in my skincare routine, it has a very specific purpose -- I use it after I've been super-lazy about washing my face (usually on the weekends), and in the summer it's my go-to to remove sunscreen/sweat/dirt/oil/road grime after a bike ride or run in hot weather. It's lightly foaming, gets warming when you massage it in, and it just feels like it cleanses really deeply to get all the gunk out. I don't break out from this, but I imagine my skin would dry up like the Sahara if I used it every day. For reference, my skin is normal (with the occasional hormonal pimple). I like the locking pump packaging, and the small size has lasted me over a year. I will definitely repurchase this cleanser when I run out.

About reviewer (354 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I waited to review this for awhile I'm actually on my 3rd full size bottle. This facial cleanser has really improved my skin I use it in conjunction with the charcoal sponge. It minimizes pores and I have hardly any break outs I'm in my early 30's and still get the occasional small breakouts. Yes it is alittle pricy but this bottle usually lasts for about 4 or more months. I just went a week with out and my face doesn't look anything like it does when I use this product. The warming sensation is a bonus and I would still use it if it didn't have this. I highly recommend!

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

My introduction to this product was through a deluxe sized Beauty Insider sample from Sephora. I am a sucker for gimmicky products with tingly/warming sensations so that will always lure me in to at least try a product once. I ended up buying a whole bottle but was lured away by what I thought would be a better alternative because it was fragrance free, had an impressive list of ingredients and claimed to be gentle. I have combination skin and my t-zone can get pretty oily, so naturally my inclination was to find a "deep cleaning" product that would leave my face squeaky clean. That squeaky clean feeling would lead to tightness, and I admit, it took me an embarrassingly long time to realize that a cleanser stripping my skin of all traces of moisture is a huge NO-NO. That is how break outs happen. After much obsessive googling I learned gel-like cleansers can be much more gentle on the skin, so I decided to give this another spin since the texture is more like a serum. Sure enough, it left my skin feeling clean but not dry and cracked like the Sahara. It also does not hurt one bit that I live for the warming sensation this gives when you apply water and massage it in. It doesn't lather up much, but I imagine that's the reason why it's so gentle. Regardless of that, it gets the job done. My skin feels clean without being stripped. I don't know about these lofty claims of being "detoxifying", but it gets the job done as a cleanser. I was certainly glad to have it on hand when I gave my old cleanser the boot. I will continue to try other cleansers out, but it will be my go to if I do not find an equally gentle alternative.

About reviewer (227 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Neutral

HairBrunette, Curly, Medium

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I waited until I have used up the product to give a thorough review. I have extremely sensitive acne prone skin, suffering from chronic cystic acne. My skin has become immune to all the popular acne cleansers. This cleanser has saved my face. I have been using it since December 2015 and still have quite a bit of product left in the bottle. I use the cleanser once a day in the morning. I do not use this to remove make up. I apply it once a week in a thick coating, like a serum and let it work its magic. I havent had a lot of deep cystic acne flare ups in a while. And the one or two bumps I do get disappear within two days. Most of my blackheads are gone too. My face has cleared up drastically. My skin is smoother. It's wonderful. A lot of people comment on the warming effect as a novelty. I believe it is too but it feels nice. I don't know what makes this so unique but thank you Boscia for creating this cleanser. I cannot sing its praises enough. It saved my self esteem.

About reviewer (186 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Dark, Neutral

HairBlack, Relaxed, Other

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I bought this cleanser because I have seen good reviews for it and I continue to explore the charcoal craze. This was such a disappointing product. The black color of the gel and the "warming effect" are pure novelty and don't seem to have any actual effect on the skin. Also, the "warming effect" lasts less than 5 seconds, and then it just feels like any random cleanser. Sure, the product cleans effectively, but about as effectively as some of the best (and much cheaper) drugstore cleansers. It feels like paying for a novelty product, and at the price point, I will not buy this again.

About reviewer (63 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Received a large sample in a kit from Sephora. It has lasted me quite some time as a little bit seems to go a long way. The color is novel, and the warming sensation is. It seems perfectly alright and performs well with my acne prone skin. But, there are products out there that I like better - that leave my face feeling more clean. For the price, I need to *really* like it to buy again...and I don't think I would on this one.

About reviewer (82 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium

HairBrown

EyesHazel




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us