4.6

Created with Sketch.
15 reviews
73%
would repurchase
4.1/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

The Crimson Cream Rouge is perfect for a rosy glow and the color is very pigmented. This rouge can be applied with fingers, sponge or brush and it can also be used as a lip stain with lip gloss. I love this stuff. I also bought the rouge in apricot and whenever I wear it, I'm asked if I have been out in the sun. I'm not sure if that's a compliment or not as I am very fair. I have had the original low, flat tin and the new, smaller tin as well and both of them can be a bit finicky to open and close but the vintage look is so wonderful that I will endure the inconvenience for real metal tins over plastic every time.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair, Warm

HairRed, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBlue



4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This stuff is pigmented! Holy moly, all you need is a tiny amount and you've got lovely rosy cheeks. It can also be used as a lip stain. With the amount of product you get, I see this lasting a very long time. The packaging is adorable red and gold tin, but I'm telling you it SUCKS to open. The cap suctions on and takes a session of twisting, pulling, and cursing to remove. Other than that, it's great.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair

HairBlack

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I've used powder blush ever since I started wearing makeup - my skin was very oily when I was a teenager, and I considered cream and liquid rouge to be something old ladies used. I never gave it a second thought. Well, I wish I'd had this all along. It's not greasy or pore clogging at all, and it's easy to control and get exactly the way I want it, whether that's a very light, sheer, natural-looking flush, or something a bit more glam. It goes on as a true red shade that would look good on most people. It can double as a lip stain, and the tin is gorgeous - what's not to like? It stays put until I wash it off, even in hot weather. I usually put it on and leave it at home, but it travels well - no more busted cakes of blush or jars leaking loose blush all over my makeup bag and everything in it. The tiniest bit goes a long way and I won't be running out any time soon, even though I use it every day. I saw where some other reviewers were talking about opening and closing the tin - I agree that it comes open pretty easily if you give the lid a little twist while pulling it up. And when you close it, it's helpful to have the lid level. Closing it pushes out some air and creates something almost like a vacuum seal, which is probably the reason some people have trouble. But it might also help keep the product fresh. And after the first few times, you'll be popping the lid off and on like a pro.

About reviewer (18 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Olive, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Wish I had found this sooner! This cream rouge can be used on both lips and cheeks and gives an instant healthy, vintage looking flush. A little goes a long way so the pan will last forever. The color is sort of a pinky/red on me - not too much orange or too much blue and neutral enough to be worn by most skin tones. The only down sides are at $22 USD it is somewhat expensive (though the long life span of one pan mostly makes up for this) and the case. The pan it comes in is a pretty vintage tin but it's wicked hard to open and close. It might have helped if they had added a larger lip around the rim of the pan as many brands who use these types of containers do. I have already purchased a lipstick from the same company and am looking to get more of their stuff as the quality seems great and it is made right here in the US.

About reviewer (159 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

The Besame packaging is so beautiful. You really feel like you've gone back in time. The lovely Art Deco tin of rouge looks spectacular on your vanity and makes you feel like Velma Kelly or Roxie Hart. I do agree with some of the other reviewers that the round tin is somewhat tricky to open and close which is the only downside of the packaging. The rouge itself is VERY pigmented. Pale girls be warned - a little goes a loooong way. I can wear it under foundation, as it sets pretty dry and matte (unlike the Tarte Cheek Stains which stay tacky) or apply it over a liquid foundation. I definitely don't like it as much as Benefit's Benetint, but I think it works fairly well as a cheek stain. I have sensitive skin and I haven't had any reaction to this product, even though it has a slight scent. The only reason I wouldn't repurchase is that for shipping to Canada, the brokerage and customs fees weren't included. Besame ships using UPS and they charged me an additional $55 CAD! which means I'm not likely to place another order.

About reviewer (130 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


4.0
Created with Sketch.
from

5 years ago

Okay, everything fashionfreak678 (review below me) said - yep, yep, yep, agree with everything, so I'll keep this semi-short. A little goes a very long way with this pinky-strawberry red cheek/ lip creme. From my own experience (dry/ sensitive skin), moisturize first, let moisturizer soak in throughly, maybe blot to absorb any excess moisturizer and then use your fingers to gently tap product and them blend into skin for a natural finish (finish with a slight dusting of powder to keep it on longer) or tap onto lips for a stain-like look; prefer as blush for longevitys sake. The only thing that bugs me is the packaging, its a super cute vintage inspired tin but a b*&^% to close, the first few times I kept nicking the product with the top and making a mess, so close it slowly, not for the quick touch-ups.

About reviewer (302 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

PROS: highly pigmented, multitasking, long-lasting CONS: packaging One of my favorite hobbies is watching Old Hollywood films. The actresses of that era, especially Barbara Stanwyck, Ginger Rogers, Myrna Loy, Claudette Colbert, Jean Harlow, Katharine Hepburn, and of course Audrey and Marilyn as well as Lucille Ball, have been huge inspirations for my style, both fashion and beauty. So through my quest to find vintage-inspired cosmetics I discovered Besame, one of the best out of the many beauty brands with a retro image. Besame actually reproduces updated versions of cosmetic formulas, colors, and packaging of the past, which is pretty amazing! Crimson Cream Rouge is one of their standout products. PRICE: $22 AVAILABILITY: www.besamecosmetics.com, Amazon, and various online boutiques APPLICATION and APPEARANCE ON CHEEKS: Matte finish. No need for a brush, just your fingertips! Only a slight, very very VERY light tap is needed for each cheek when applied over foundation. Besame recommends applying it underneath however, and I second this tip. Because that way, you can apply much more generously (as it can be difficult to get the proper amount) and you can achieve a natural, glowing, 'lit-from-within' look. If you accidently over-apply when using over foundation, blend a little concealer or foundation into it to reduce the intensity. When using rouge under foundation, apply moisturizer first. This makes the rouge more 'spreadable.' I personally like to place it on the cheekbones and spread it all the way to the temples (or vice versa). APPLICATION and APPEARANCE ON LIPS: On the lips, even though this is not a drying product, I recommend applying lip balm first. Make sure nearly all of it is absorbed or tissued off before applying rouge. You can use your finger to get a 'stained' appearance with a single light layer, or apply more heavily for a completely opaque look. Very buildable. You can use a lip brush for a more precise look. Comfortable to wear, with a near-matte finish. COLOR: A beautiful shade of true red. Should flatter all skin tones, as it seems rather neutral to me. Because of its natural appearance, it will complement any lip color when used as a blush. PERFORMANCE: Lasts all day on average on the face, lips may need touching up after eating/drinking. SCENT: Cherry-scented. Very light. A tad medicinal, but I still really like it! Not detectable once applied. PACKAGING: The metal vintage reproduction tin that contains the product is gorgeous. Red with metallic gold accents. Although stunning, it isn't the easiest or most convenient thing to maneuver. To open, pinch the lid while twisting the bottom portion clockwise. Closing it is very difficult for me, haven't figured out any tricks to make it easier yet but I basically just put the lid on top and push it down once it is aligned with the bottom. LONGEVITY OF PRODUCT: Extremely pigmented and concentrated. I've had it for over 9 months now and I haven't even made a dent in it yet! Granted I do not use it on a regular basis but I know I've applied it at least 30-40 times on the cheeks, a few times on the lips...it goes to show you how little you need! Great value! Highly recommended!

About reviewer (90 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 years ago

I love Makeupalley. I have been an active member here since around 2001, and, for two big reasons, I would be very different if I didn't have Makeupalley. Reason number one: I wouldn't smell as good, and I'd probably be wilting all wildlife within a 5 mile radius while wafting bottles of Camp Beverly Hills I stored in my freezer for 30 years. Reason number two: I definitely wouldn't look as good, because I would never have discovered what a delight makeup can be! I learned about Besame Cosmetics from the wonderful reviews here and I could not resist giving it a try. If I still lived in CA I would have driven up to their boutique. Alas, I now live in AZ, so I ordered through Amazon. The first thing I noticed when my order arrived is that Besame's packaging is amazing - too gorgeous to use (almost)! I love artistry in everything, and I really appreciate the positive feelings I get from simple things like swiping goo from a lovely red and gold flowered tin onto my lips. I have been searching for years for the perfect sheer red lip and cheek stain. I have olive skin that gets sallow without sunlight. Pinks, and any color with "cool" undertones make me look like my liver failed. Red, however, looks quite natural. Crimson Cream Rouge is a highly, highly...highly concentrated lip and cheek stain that is, in my perception, closer to vermilion than crimson. The hue manages dominant wavelength as a pure "red" red that radiates fully without bias toward either violet or orange. With the rosy hint of flush on my lips and cheeks I get a bright, energized appearance that makes me look happy and healthy.

About reviewer (825 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinOily, Olive, Warm

HairRed, Curly, Coarse

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

7 years ago

I had purchased this about a year ago and have barely made a dent in my tin. It is such a beautiful color on cheeks and lips. I have never reacted to it (extremely oily and acne) and it lasts all day. I do not notice a slight scent to it. My only complaint is you have to gently twist the cap back onto the metal base-do not push straight down. All in all I love Besame products.

About reviewer (40 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Other, Other

EyesOther


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

7 years ago

I'm borderline obsessed with all things vintage & glamour, so naturally I love Besame cosmetics. The packaging is gorgeous, but more importantly, the products do not fail to deliver. This rouge is no exception. $22 gets you a fairly large vintage-styled metal tin of lightly cherry scented red cream rouge. I will say that the tin can be a little persnickety to open. The rouge itself is a solid cream formula that is incredibly pigmented and can be used on lips or cheeks, similar to an old style rouge would have been from the 1920s-40s. It looks bright red in the pan, but don't be afraid to use it. I used my MAC 188 (any "stipple" or flat top synthetic brush will do) and 1 "dab" (just touching the brush to the rouge) for each cheek - atop my foundation, but before my powder - blended well, and it lasts me throughout the workday with a beautiful, natural flush. This does set to a matte finish; no sparkle, shimmer, or tackiness. I think this would work well for just about any complexion - deeper skintones could use more, and the rouge itself isn't overly blue or pink or orange, it just gives a natural "I just came in from the cold" flush to the cheeks. The value is also great, because the product itself is quite large - the largest Besame product I have seen thus far. Overall I love this rouge and will definitely repurchase when I run out.

About reviewer (512 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Coarse

EyesBrown