4.1

Created with Sketch.
138 reviews
67%
would repurchase
4.2/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I used to have it and I didn't like it at all the texture is not good and this palette is not as good as other "The Balm" palettes

About reviewer (49 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack



2.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Gorgeous packaging, but the shadows disappointed me. ''Serious'' is really black, and ''Sexy'' is a lovely color, but unfortunately all of the shadows muddy after a while and they got lots of fallout.

About reviewer (3 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrown

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

I love this palette, and over the years it’s become the only palette I use all the time. But I get why this palette has a fair amount of dislikes. Personally for me the colors are super wearable. I love that there’s a good mix of matte and shimmer shades which makes it easy to create different looks for both daytime and nighttime. BUT you definitely need an eye primer or some sort of eyeshadow base with this, as most of the colors are not long wearing. I usually use a neutral cream eyeshadow under this. Also, some of the colors especially the shimmer shades have more fallout compared to others. The brush that comes with the palette is alright, I didn’t have trouble with it, but I use other eyeshadow brushes most of time.

About reviewer (60 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Olive, Warm

HairBlack, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Got it 50% off, not worth full price by any means. Incredibly small amounts for the price. Looking at the pallete right now and I see that the only colors I use in this are Stand-Offish, Sultry, Seductive, and Sexy. I haven't touched half of them other than to swatch. Brush included is trash. Packing is adorable.

About reviewer (59 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Bought this and 2 other Nude palettes last summer during an online sale via The Balm. Love The Balm products for their pigmentation and longevity and blendibility. A neutral leaning cool palette, 6:6 ratio of metallic to matte formulas. Buttery soft and well pigmented. Typical The Balm packaging, sturdy cardboard with kitschy graphics, generous mirror and a mini dbl sided eye brush ( which I’ve nvr used). Great for travel if you like the shadow colours. There are 12 sm shadow pans which I have yet to hit the bottom on any of the 3 palettes I own. Each shadow name starts with an ‘S’ after some nice and some not so nice attributes. My fav shadows are the shimmery metallic shades Sassy, Snobby, Stubborn, Stand-offish, and Selfish. Gorgeous high sheen shadows, make for some awesome eyelid highlight looks. The matte colours can be patchy on application but not terribly as you’ll need to give a lil more work and I would recommend a shadow primer. Serious is the darkest colour in this group (deep charcoal black matte) can be quite patchy but needs lil work, adds great definition to some eye looks. Overall I like this palette, although I should disclose I tend to use the metallic shades more than the matte colours in this group. On a personal note, this palette is least picked up of the 3 that I own, probably due to the colours compared to the the other ‘nude’ palettes which lean much warmer...

About reviewer (248 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Best eye palette on the market, it has matte most black eyeshadow I have ever used, matte brown, a transition shade and lots of beautiful shimmery colors. I wouldnt buy it again only cuz I get sick of using same eyeshadows. In my opinion, It is a bit pricey according to its weight but I buy it on some holiday sale. My only critism is that it has 2 shimmery pinks, they look different on the pan but exactly same on the eyes. But overall, I highly recommend.

About reviewer (28 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

The packaging is super cute as with all of thebalm’s product. I generally really like thebalm’s products especially their face products like blush, bronzers, highlighters but with the shadows and this palette, I am just so frustrated with it. Just the colour selection itself, I’m a little peeved that there isn’t a lighter matte shade to put down as a base, but i’m quite happy with the warm-neutral shade range. The metallics and shimmer shades are extremely beautiful but I am however very disappointed that the wear time of the matte shades, they just fade so quickly - even the darker shades. Luckily, out of 12 shades, only 4 of them are mattes and at least the metallics and shimmers are decent. I’m knocking one point off for the tragic wear time of the matte shades, and another point for the ridiculously tiny pans (this palette is not cheap at all at where I am from).

About reviewer (45 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Medium, Neutral

HairOther, Straight, Medium

EyesBlack


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

The shadow formula is very nice. Mattes and shimmers are pigmented and blend out nicely. I just find myself struggling to create full looks with this color selection. I only grab for this to use certain shades but need other palettes/ shadows to really make it work. I wish they switched out one or two of the brown shimmer shades for lighter transition colors.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinDry, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesHazel


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

My actual rating for this palette is 3.5 but I decided to be brutal and go for 3 stars, mostly because I think the amount of product you get for £30 just isn't worth the money. The pans in this palette are really small. As for the actual eyeshadows... I like the colour scheme a lot, as you can see this is definitely a nude palette, with a few subtle pops of colour, which is a colour scheme I really love in an eyeshadow palette. The shades are: Sassy - white shimmer that works beautifully as an inner corner highlight! Snobby - yellow gold shimmer. I haven't used this on my eyes yet as I prefer true golds but it is still a pretty shade when swatched. Stubborn - pink shimmer, really pretty! Stand-offish - like Stubborn, but lighter and more shimmery. Also really pretty. Selfish - silvery shimmer, a really gorgeous colour. Sultry - one of the 4 totally matte shadows in this palette, a nice medium brown shade. Sophisticated - dark brown with subtle shimmer. Seductive - really nice bronze shimmer shade. Sexy - a purpley-burgundy shade, imo, really lovely colour! Another matte. Silly - a dark brown with random specks of gold (I think?) shimmer. Barely any pigment to this shadow. I hate it. Serious - matte black. Sleek - matte dark brown. I actually like every shade in this palette, apart from Silly. My faves are probably Sassy, Selfish and Sexy, but I really like the pinks and the browns/bronzes in the palette too. The pigmentation is really good and the shadows are pretty easy to blend too. The packaging is also cool. I may upgrade my rating to 4 in the future when I've played around with the palette a bit more! I said I'd repurchase but probably only if it was on sale. Overall, a really nice palette let down by the tiny pans and the terrible pigmentation of Silly.

About reviewer (9 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


2.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I don't get the hype around this at all. The packaging is super cute, I'll give it that, but the shadows themselves (you know, the reason we actually buy the product) were lacklustre to me. Firstly, they're very small, I'm terrified of touching them because I'm just waiting to hit pan. For the price I was sort of expecting more, and the reviews I saw didn't really but it in perspective. The shades themselves look pretty in the pan but only a couple translate that we'll onto the skin. They are somewhat buildable but I don't really want to use 6 layers to get a decent payoff (this is with primer). Sassy especially seemed very lacking in pigment, and I reach for my elizabeth arden over it every time. The two shades I did like are standoff-ish and Sexy. Both came up well with one layer and look great on. I will say the shadows themselves all feel quality, they aren't chalky or messy, but this doesn't make up for all the downsides I see. I'd be wary of you plan on getting this, definitely go and check it out before you buy. It's been banished to the back of my vanity and I don't know when it's next appearance will be.

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us