Now Foods Vitamin C & Manuka Honey Gel Cleanser

Now Foods Vitamin C & Manuka Honey Gel Cleanser

4.6

11 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

De-ionized Water, Aloe Vera (Aloe barbadensis) Leaf Gel*, Lauryl Glucoside, Sodium Coco-Sulfate, Vegetable Glycerin, Carrageenan, Glucose/Glucose Oxidase/Lactoperoxidase (natural preservative), Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vitamin C), Manuka Honey, Allantoin, d-Panthenol, Niacinamide (Niacin), d-alpha Tocpherol (Vitamin E), Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Orange-Grapefruit Aroma and Citric Acid.

Where to Buy



Start your review


on 12/2/2017 1:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This cleanser is a very thin liquid with a lovely citrus smell. I find it very invigorating, especially in the morning. I also found transferring some to a pump bottle made it easier to use. I kept pouring out too much at the beginning. I have very oily, but dehydrated skin. Most cleansers for oily skin leave my skin feeling dry and parched. This cleanser is great. It is really, really gently but it also left my skin very clean. It makes a great morning cleanser. I found it was able to remove sweat and sunblock but I don't think it is strong enough to remove makeup. It lasted several months.

1 of 1 people found this helpful.



on 6/8/2017 4:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I could seriously throw away all my skin cleansers, now (!) that I've found this. Why do I love thee? let me count the ways-
*My skin feels soft and smooth, never tight or itchy (the way it does with LOTS of cleansers)
* My skin look even toned after a few days of use.
* My skin looks radiant after a few days of use.
* It's very affordable and looks cute.
* Leaves a pleasant citrusy smell after use.

4 of 4 people found this helpful.


on 5/14/2015 10:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I must be the only person in the world to give this a bad review. After hearing all the good ones about this I decided to try it, my skin usually seems to like things with honey in it so it sounded just up my alley. So when I use it at night my skin does feel smoother but seems to make it look a bit raw, which is the opposite to what people have been saying, and the next morning I seem to have more breakouts, not major ones, just like little red spots which is annoying and again my skin just looks irritated. When I use in the morning it's the same thing, I feel like I'm having to cover more of my face with make up like it's more red and irritated and I noticed it also make me look really pale, almost like a white cast like when you use sunscreen, I am very white as well so I don't need to look whiter, but the honey and vitamin C is known to lighten skin and it seems to have that effect on my skin instantly, so maybe its good if you are interested in lightening your skin, but it just makes me look sickly. What a shame.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

There are a few reasons why this gets a Perfect Five from me- I'll go over those first.

1. It does not strip the skin. There is never any tightness or dryness after using this. I will and have put lots of products that could be considered abrasive, questionable, and straight raw-dog on my facial skin, but cleanser is never one of them. That should be the most level-headed, thorough, and balanced part of the routine. This gel feels nice.

2. It smells like that grapefruit cleanser I used in high school (you know the one). But I don't purchase that anymore, for a few reasons, and this has that strong citrusy, kick-you-in-the-tokus scent without aforementioned stripping and other questionable aspects of production.

3. The packaging is so sturdy. I have bought similar bottles with a press cap from so many health food dealers, and none feel as impermeable as this. I move it from shower to sink, take it on overnights, and it does not dent or leak. More "reputable" mass-market items with much more financial backing do not provide me with this simple advantage. I appreciate it more than I realized I would.

Now, the headlining ingredients (manuka and vit c) are not in the top five ingredients listed- draw your own conclusions. Manuka honey is crazy expensive for a solitary ingredient, but also lauded in acne management, so I like that I get to try out just a little for a really great price. The chief form of vitamin C employed here is magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, which is a gentle and acceptable form of vitamin C that is great for pretty much everyone. I consider my skin pretty tough and oily, so I still add L-ascorbic acid to products as I see fit, since I know I can tolerate it. So, if you are looking for a super shot of manuka and vitamin C, this is not it. Still a sweet, vibrant prep for the remainder of my routine.

5 of 5 people found this helpful.


on 9/7/2014 12:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ordered this from Amazon for 6$!! Super excited about it and the reviews I read. This is my 2nd day using this but it's hard to say whether I love it. I just broke out from an allergic reaction to I don't know WHAT 3 days ago. My face is extremely dry and swollen right now. However, I can already tell it's working. I have suffered from acne/acne scarring for most of my life. My skin seems brighter and it's drying up my "chocolate chips" lol as I like to call them and just peel off lol. Kinda gross but it doesn't scar! I'll have to update this in a week or so once the swelling/rash goes away from my face.

**edit***
8/21/2014
Omg best claim clearing cleanser I've ever used! My dark scars are almost completely gone. I use to have to layer on 2 different concealers, foundation and powder. Now I barely need foundation! Soooo excited about this I tell all my friends and family with problem skin about this.
The negative side to this is that it's a bit drying on my face? That could also be the gallons of coffee I drink everyday or the overuse of apple cider vinegar as a toner. I don't feel like a get a deep clean but that that's where I use my Indian healing clay mask. I also add brown sugar to the cleanser every other day. I normally have oily skin but this makes my skin normal. Love it!

2 of 3 people found this helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Excellent cleanser. It does what it claims! Cleans skin without stripping it of moisture and helps with breakouts and uneven texture. Also smells amazing! Will definitely buy again!


on 11/17/2013 7:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Green

My skin is sensitive, combo but sometimes dry, yet I get acne. I just hated all the alcohol they put into skincare products these days and fragrances.

I ordered this cleanser, and the toner, from iHerb and my god! This is the best cleanser I have ever used. It is a bit thin but I don't need much and it cleanses everything really well. This even removes massive foundation etc....

After washing my skin feels a little tight, probably due to winter as well, and it feels even tighter when I put on the toner but then everything gets perfect when I use a moisturizer.

I've not had any breakouts and now I just ordered the moisturizer in this line and I'm really excited to try it!

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 4/8/2013 2:21:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Why did I wait so long to try this? I am almost out of both my staple cleansers, and I wanted to find something I could buy locally that smells pleasant, cleans all my makeup thoroughly in one pass, and does not strip my skin or sting my eyes. I saw this for the 40th time on my local Natural Grocers, looked it up on MUA, read the glowing reviews, and decided to give it and the Pomegranate/Green Tea cream cleanser a try. They are both fabulous and inexpensive! This one is a little watery, as others have mentioned, but you don't need much to get the job done. Takes off all makeup, including tubing mascara (which requires agitation) without irritating my eyes. It rinses absolutely clean, works well with bare hands, a washcloth, or the Clarisonic, and it smells DIVINE--sort of like orange baby aspirin (which I love). Yes, I know fragrance isn't skincare. However I've had no irritation from this whatsoever and the scent is so lovely it makes washing my face a really enjoyable experience. I look forward to it every night. Great hidden gem in my Natural Grocer's.

6 of 6 people found this helpful.


on 8/21/2012 3:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I thank God that I found this product! I recommend it. I have been using expensive cleansers that don't even help with my acne spots and scars.
This cleanser does What it say, my acne scars and spots have faded but not all. It works better than any other cleanser. I use the toner with it and they have made my face look healthier and shiny! I haven't gotten any new pimple! I always break out, but this cleanser really helps me. I been struggling with acne since 5th grade and this is the best so far.
I do suggest to use the cleanse and toner for best results. I paid maybe $16 for both in Amazon its very cheap.

3 of 3 people found this helpful.


on 5/21/2012 7:34:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I've been using this cleanser for about two weeks now. And this combined with the Now Foods Vitamin C and Acai Berry Purifying Toner have absolutely changed my skin. For the first time since 7th grade I'm not wearing foundation. I am wearing eye makeup and lip gloss...and that's it. Quite a drastic change since I've been wearing something SO HEAVY for years...Estee Lauder Double Wear. This cleanser and toner have cleared black heads, uneven coloring on my face and honestly has given my skin a glow that I've never had. In the morning the cleanser and toner is all I use, and in the evening after the cleanser and toner, I dab on some Sweet Almond oil around my eyes and over the rest of my face. Love love love. : )

7 of 7 people found this helpful.


Back to Top