4.1

Created with Sketch.
48 reviews
71%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Bottega Veneta: For me, an unexpected homage to Grace Kelly Gloves and Grace go hand in hand. She wore them wherever and whenever she took a notion like her signature Ray Bans and double strand pearls. These are her favorite Dent leather riding gloves. Their warm, buttery sueded interior has rubbed gently against her Château Krigler 12 while the working end is all earth, open air and honeyed hay with beautifully distinctive equestrienne musk and the most delicate touch of peppery smoke from a hand rolled cigarette and a sweep of Louis’ well groomed cheek. She rides side saddle because she can and wants to, not because it’s appropriate. A glint from her eye would set man on fire so she wasn’t about to care what you thought. She may have been the Princess of Monaco from The House of Gremaldi but she will always be the Queen of Philly! You wore Fleurissimo for black tie, but this is apologetically you Grace, or at least your gloves, lol! Love You! xx

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinSensitive, Tan, Warm

HairBlond, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen



5.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

This has become one of my favorite perfumes and I wear this aromatic soft leather beauty often. Here's the notes, lifted from Fragrantica: The nose of the composition is Michel Almairac from Robertet who blended notes of Italian bergamot, Brazilian pink pepper, Indian Sambac jasmine, oak moss, patchouli and Indian patchouli, with a distinct leather accord in the trail. I get the sparkle of the bergamot and pink pepper in the opening but the whole composition is beautifully blended so that nothing stands out in particular. It wears fairly close to the skin without huge sillage but it's definitely noticeable, just not in your face. It's also linear without much development, like being wrapped in silk, smooth and elegant enough to be appropriate for any occasion and wears well year round. Lasting power is above average. Can you tell I love it? Highly recommend!

About reviewer (157 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinDry, Medium, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

It's a leather fragrance, not as dry as Cabochard, not as cuddly as Cuir Mauresque but somewhere in between. It smells classic, like how I remember Miss Dior or Jolie Madame. Well-balanced, discreet, but with presence. There's some powder and flower but it's mostly leather. It blooms on the skin, and goes from being quite thin and meh to more full-bodied and longlasting within ten minutes or so. A little bit sweet but no obvious fruit notes. I'm buying it because I don't want to pay the big bucks for Cuir Mauresque.

About reviewer (194 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Notes include Italian bergamot, Brazilian pink pepper, Indian Sambac jasmine, oak moss, patchouli and Indian patchouli, with a distinct leather accord in the trail. This is a really unique scent, and one of the best in the women's fragrance field in quite a while. Very classy and unique, sexy too. The body collection is to die for!

About reviewer (470 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOily, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Am I the only one that thinks this smells like an old woman's cash drawer?

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

This is a sexy moody leathery bohemian number. I love the inspiration of the old leather books in an italian countryside house story for it, they nailed it. Bc of that it has that deep sexy edge to it which I don't tend to reach for as much these days, but this is as sexy mysterious and dark as lolita lempicka purple bottle to me (not sure about the new formula). Both slightly unisex.

About reviewer (36 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 years ago

Both the fragrance and the bottle are just beautiful. They are strong, but not loud. The first moments i smelled BV i thought i didn't like it, because of the patchoulli. But to my surprise it wasn't overwhelming, but understated and lovely. Men could wear this, but to me it is very feminine, warm and elegant. Very happy with my new purchase :-)

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrunette

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

The first leather fragrance I am able to wear. I always thought leather as a note should be sexy and was disappointed when much loved fragrances like Lancome Cuir or Daim Blond turned sour and unpleasant on me. Bottega Veneta is a gracious, feminine and mature fragrance - luxurious in an understated way. It is essentially the fragrance of a new suede bag plus the intoxicating ripe - not jammy - apricot, and some white flowers. I find it does not change much on the skin and it lasts for most of the day. It is not a crowd pleaser, especilly not for Flowerbomb/Bonbon/La Vie Est Belle lovers. If you like Opium Voile de Fleurs (the lightest Opium in the pink/beige flacon) you may like this one as well.

About reviewer (6 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination

HairBrunette

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

This perfume is simply gorgeous and worth the price. It has a sexy, spicy yet understated smell that is truly distinctive yet not overpowering. I get so many compliments when I wear it too.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Fair-Medium

HairBlond

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.

6 years ago

Soft nicely leathery amber scent with touches of oriental floral. Very elegant, but mostly black tie formal, and not for day wear. Just a touch too rich for summer days

About reviewer (1714 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Other, Fine

EyesBrown




The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us