3.8

Created with Sketch.
48 reviews
63%
would repurchase
4.0/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

I like to call this a hippie girl's Viva La Juicy. It's sweet, playful, and youthful (not that you have to be young to wear it!). It smells like straight up vanilla on my skin, just cool (breezy and more like vanilla extract, compared to more foody and deeper) vanilla. Fragrantica says it has notes of jasmine, vanilla, tea, white honey, and fruity notes. I can maybe smell a hint of tea, if I sniff really hard, but I don't get anything else. Don't let any of the other notes dissuade you from buying, or at least testing, if they're of concern to you. Chances are, if you like vanilla, you'll like this. Just remember, this isn't a "warm sugar cookie" kind of vanilla, it's more like "vanilla beans right off the orchid." My only gripes with the perfume are a) a very slight and easily forgotten waxy undertone and b) the lack of a cap to the bottle. The waxy undertone has been a thing in all Pacifica scents I've tested, and I've seen reviews complain about a Play-Doh smell. It's really slight and is easy to ignore, and it's not really offensive, more slightly confusing. I do like the look of the bottle on its own, with no cap. It has the aesthetic of a handmade organic perfume from an Etsy shop, which is cute, but it makes travelling with it risky. It'd be way too easy for something to press down on the sprayer and get perfume everywhere. Bringing a rollerball is good, and I usually do that, although Pacifica's rollerballs have been known to have issues, so that's something to be aware of. For the price I can overlook it, and the issues of not rolling and dispensing properly are usually easy to alleviate by either firmly pressing a fingertip on the ball or running the tip of a pencil along the sides of the ball to loosen the mechanics.

About reviewer (10 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel



5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

Pacifica Island Vanilla is scrumptious and delicious without being foody . It is all vanilla , deep ,rich and very sniffable. It is a happy, simple scent . All vanilla, nothing but vanilla but it is a GREAT vanilla especially for the price. I find it long lasting. Every time I test a Pacifica scent, I end up buying it eventually. ( The Gardenia and the Lilac are good fragrances too . ) Before you shell out big money for niche vanilla scents ,try Island Vanilla. It may satisfy your craving for a robust, rounded, true vanilla . The bottles are small but I actually have found Pacifica fragrances to have decent tenacity and projection. I will buy this Island Vanilla next weekend because I have to stop going to Whole Foods to spray myself with their tester !

About reviewer (463 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Medium, Not Sure

HairOther, Other, Other

EyesOther


2.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

Pacifica’s Indian Coconut Nectar is one of my all-time favorite perfumes. I have liked several of the brand’s fragrances, so I tried Island Vanilla. The vanilla is feminine and subtle. It’s more of a floral than cupcake vanilla. The scent is light and hints at someplace tropical. It fades sort of quickly, but is lovely while it lasts. However, this particular fragrance either turns very quickly or I just got a bad batch. Less than six months after purchasing, and having been stored in a dark, temperature-controlled area, the color of the liquid went somewhat yellow and the scent devolved into a cloying, musky mutation that almost reminded me of patchouli. I had to toss it. I know the grain alcohol formulas may turn faster compared to other perfumes but this one seemed to go downhill steeply. The rollerball tube is in theory convenient and reasonably priced at $12, but it’s a toss-up of how functional the ball itself will be when you buy them from Pacifica. Sometimes I’ve had better luck with the tubes from Ulta rather than amazon, but it’s a crapshoot. I had a lot of trouble getting any liquid to come through on this particular one. Pacifica’s branding is always feminine and gorgeous. Bottom line: Would not buy again, or perhaps would but only in a spray bottle if I knew I would be using it all up over just a few months. From Pacifica: “Inspired by the luscious Tahitian Islands, this beautifully sophisticated exotic blend of Tahitian vanilla, loved for its fruity and slightly floral aroma, anchored with creamy, rich bourbon vanilla.”

About reviewer (690 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Warm

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Nice vanilla scent with a hint of caramel. Nothing ground-breaking here, but I do find this is a nice balance between a natural and gourmand vanilla. It reminds me of a lighter, less burnt sugary LUSH Vanillary. I have this in the rollerball version, and I love that you can buy different formats at various price points. Pacifica is not all-natural, but they do not contain phthalates and they are cruelty-free. The price is very fair.

About reviewer (272 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I have tried quite a few of the Pacifica fragrances and am a fan of them overall. I have to say that Island Vanilla is my favorite. I wouldn't say that this is a classic vanilla scent though. To me it smells like a caramelized vanilla, pretty sweet but not as sweet as say, Aquolina Pink Sugar. It smells like a caramel sundae in a waffle cone. Basically, it smells delicious (if you love foody/gourmand scents). This scent has better lasting power than some of the other Pacifica fragrances on me. I have the rollerball but would definitely purchase the larger size. The body butter is also nice. This has become a cold weather favorite for me. The packaging on these products is quite beautiful as well, and I feel like these scents are a good value for the price. Would rec. this whole line for people who like straight forward, more linear fragrances like I do.

About reviewer (25 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I've been looking for a nice vanilla scent that 1. Actually smells like vanilla(unlike Lavanila) 2. Doesn't smell sugary(like a lot of the limited edition perfumes that come out seasonally) 3. Doesn't smell so synthetic(most of the lower end stuff smells very fake/chemically and kind of like play dough) This is perfect for me. At first it does smell more complex but as it dries down it smells like real vanilla/vanilla bean with a little bit of warmth and not so sugary which I LOVE. I've been looking everywhere for a simple vanilla scent because a lot of my lipsticks and gloses have that scent and I just love it. I feel like this is more of a vanilla bean scent rather than vanilla extract. This last pretty well on me but I do have more oily skin so maybe that's why? Not too sure. The only issue is that it's kind of expensive for 1oz. I'd like to see a larger "full size" version where you can kind of save a little money buying it cause I feel I'd go through it quickly and don't want to constantly pick it up at ULTA(since it's kind of far) lol but other than that it's an amazing perfume!

About reviewer (76 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Olive

HairBlond

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Currently my favorite cruelty free perfume! It's a really sophisticated vanilla on me; I was really surprised because I thought it would smell synthetic or too sweet, but it's very gourmand and rich. Love it, it's really a fool proof scent because everyone likes vanilla :) It also layers well with other perfumes!

About reviewer (94 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinOther, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

4 years ago

I love gourmand vanilla scents, but as the previous reviewer put it, its a boring "flat" vanilla with no warmth or depth to it. I understand pacifica fragrances generally dont last as long as "chemical perfumes" but the lasting power was ridiculously short unlike the other pacifica perfumes ive tried before. 1 lippie for the typical cute pacifica packaging and clean ingredients but I would skip this one and check out their other fragrances

About reviewer (162 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinSensitive, Tan

HairBrunette

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

Vanilla is always a safe blind buy for me, except for this one. Island Vanilla is a flat, floral, cold (not warm like the "Island" would suggest) vanilla. It never warms on my skin and is just plain off-putting.

About reviewer (635 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinDry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


2.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I bought this based on reviews, without smelling it. They do not carry this in my area. I wanted a nice vanilla perfume. I did not care for it at all. I am not sure if it just did not match my body chemistry, Most vanillas smell good on me, but not this one. I was not impressed. I think that there are better fragrances out there.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinNormal, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBlue