3.4

Created with Sketch.
422 reviews
51%
would repurchase
4.3/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

10 months ago

Due to Chanel's idiotic decision to discontinue this for me, was my go-to base for your skin but better look. It's always the way with cosmetic brands to discontinue a product, only to launch a hyped up so-called newly introduced scientific concept in pigments. With LE TEINT ULTRA TENUE, which is full of alcohols, producing a nowhere near as comparable or efficacious finish to the skin. Sadly CHANEL's Perfection Lumiere has been discontinued, the name of the product said it all. An as if lit from within glowing perfected skin look finish to the skin. P.s I did purchase most of the remaining stock from London Covent garden boutique store.

About reviewer (16 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel



4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

Pros: Great colour range for pale skin- probably the best colour match I've ever had in a foundation Settles on beautifully Medium coverage without looking cakey Sleek packaging Cons: Oily on- if you have an oily t zone make sure you wear a good primer and set with powder A bit pricey

About reviewer (17 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairRed

EyesBlue


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

The negative reviews on here astound me. Perfection Lumiere isn't meant to be a high coverage foundation - if anything it's very low coverage and only meant to even out skin tone - so all the comparisons to full coverage foundations like EL's double wear make zero sense. You should understand your skin type before blindly buying foundations. This is meant for combination skin, so those with dry or very oily skin aren't going to like it at all. If you have normal skin but get a bit shiny in the t-zone, then this gives you a very nice skin like finish, evens out the skin tone and basically pushes you over to perfect skin territory. It is not meant to make you look made up, or cover acne or rosacea. You need higher coverage foundations with more oil control properties for those conditions. It is pricy and the shade selection is poor but the foundation itself and the pump packaging is excellent.

About reviewer (50 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinAcne-prone, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBlack


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Who's the twat who discontinued this masterpiece? WHO? How can you discontinue this holy grail of foundations? If you've got oily skin and pale skin, this is your go-to product. Scour every shop and mall for the remaining bottles of this beauty. It's too good to miss. With this foundation, you don't need powder. Apply it very quickly and watch it transform into a pearly and powdery finish. It's utterly gorgeous. I'm very disappointed in Chanel for discontinuing it.

About reviewer (13 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Wavy, Medium

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

This foundation is really awesome, perfect for combination oily skin (moderately oily T-zone). I can get at least 10 hours with this, though there is still a little wear, however nothing I'd worry about. Shine will come through about 6 hours in, but again nothing major. A quick blot sorts it out. I've read that people have broken out with it, but I've never found this and I have always had a sensitive skin. Really puzzling to read. Also, that people say its tough to remove. Yes its long lasting which is what it claims and what you want, but again I just use my normal cleanser and its all gone. I don't use primers, but I do lightly powder over top, T-zone only. The colour range is good for lighter skin tones particularly yellow and warmer, but there are also rose beige and darker shades depending on the region you're in. You do need to work fairly quickly because it dries quickly, not mask like though. If you're looking for something natural looking but with staying power and you have a moderately combo oily skin, then you should really like this!

About reviewer (20 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair

HairBlond

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

I was sadly disappointed by this product. On the pros side, it is indeed matte and stays on well all day (I’m not the kind of person who would expect their foundation to stay immaculate from morning to night, at the same eliminating oil production – in fact, I would be too scared to use such a thing on my skin if it ever existed). Unfortunately, Perfection Lumiere oxidized on me, plus it broke me out. I tried various methods of application; matters got worse when I used primers underneath. I was very sorry to have to throw it away finally, lamenting for the money and time I wasted on it.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlack, Curly, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

This foundation is getting discontinued which is a shame because I only just purchased it this year and I like it! It's a light-medium buildable to medium coverage. Semi matte finish. Texture is perfect, not too thin like water or thick. Is easy to apply and blend. Is more suitable to oily to combo skin. I have dry skin but can get it to work because it's semi matte. The lasting power isn't too bad, about 5-6 hours before it starts to wear. I have it in the shade 20 which is a good match for my nc20 skin, but sometimes I mix it with a bit of 30 if my skin is really red or I have a lot of breakouts. This covers pretty well without looking like a mask. This foundation is really popular with celebrity makeup artists, I always see and read them use this foundation on celebrities. I read this was the foundation that Brie Larson used during the award season shows this year so it must be good. Chanel does this a lot, always discontinues a product to innovate etc but sometimes it's not always a good move. Cost $89 AUD at Myer.

About reviewer (95 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinOther

HairOther

EyesOther


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

3 years ago

I always associate elegance and class with Chanel but this foundation has neither. The SA spent quite some time painting this on me and the results weren't that great under the harsh lights of the Chanel store. My pores looked huge and it settled into fine lines and made me look quite old. I figured he went a bit overboard with application and took a sample so I could try it the next day. By the time I got home (15 min later) my face felt like it had been dipped in cement. I desperately tried to wash it off... To no avail. This stuff sticks like glue. I had to wash my face 5 times over to feel like I got rid of most of it. I tried it again the next morning and it looked even worse. Immediately washed my face and since it was in better lighting I could see how much remained after washing multiple times! It was totally disgusting. The whole experience was a big no no for me. As an aside, I went back to Chanel and tried a different foundation with almost the exact same result. Call me crazy but I expected a great deal more from such a high grade brand.

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinOily, Olive, Warm

HairBrown, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

It's been a long time since I could rave about a Chanel product. In the past they were my one and only but they became upstaged by much better quality products. This foundation is perfection all the way. I wasn't looking necessarily for a long wearing foundation since I expected too many compromises that also appear with long wearing lip colour. This has a beautiful finish - not dewy but not matte either - but natural. The product becomes one with your skin and is barely detectable. This is a medium coverage foundation and though I don't need to cover anything up using this with a light hand and the bounce of my beauty blender gave me a cover photo look - but real. I recently went to a concert and even after a long summer night my skin looked as great at the end of the evening as it did at the beginning. I wasn't expecting that! My shade is Rose Beige #22 which thank heavens is a nice neutral. Neutrals are hard to find these days as everyone was on a "yellow" kick and that is just very aging. It sells for $58. and for the look and performance I got it's a bargain.

About reviewer (478 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinNormal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

HairBlond, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


1.0
Created with Sketch.

4 years ago

I went to the Chanel boutique and the sales assistant tried different shades and told me I was a 30 Beige so I bought it, after applying it home I realised it made me look orange!! after a while my face got very oily as well even though it's "oil-free". Awful product and very expensive!

About reviewer (21 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinSensitive, Fair, Cool

HairBrunette, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown