3.5

Created with Sketch.
396 reviews
63%
would repurchase
3.9/5
package quality

price range

Reviews


1.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

This was the absolute WORST mascara I've ever used. I fished the tube out of the trash just to make sure I was reviewing the right Great Lash product, that's how much I hate this mascara. It started off a little clumpy but I was like "that's fine, I'll use a brush to separate the lashes, nbd, all mascaras are a little clumpy anyway..." It went downhill from there. At around the fifth use it had gone from a little clumpy to "Clump Extreme, now with extra clumps!". I had thick blobs of mascara matting up my lashes, but I was still able to comb them and improve the appearance a little so I kept using it. NEVER. AGAIN. About a week later I used it for the absolute last time. It was like trying to smear tar on my eyes, but it was the only mascara I had on me so I still went with it. The clumps dried so hard so quickly I wasn't able to break them into less hideous pieces with the comb. Worst of all, when I checked the mirror that afternoon I had a heavy swath of black powder and flakes under each eye. My makeup was very simple and natural that day, just foundation, lip gloss, a touch of concealer, and that blasted mascara, so I didn't get black eyeshadow all over the place and somehow fail to notice such a glaring mistake. The mascara just rained down like soot and left two heavy inky smudges under my eyes. I remember my mom using Maybelline in the pink and green tube back in the day and loving it. I've used it as recently as 2 years ago and loved it. What happened!?? Btw, not all mascaras are clumpy and thick. I recently received a tube of Tarte mascara in my BoxyCharm subscription box and it. was. amazing. No clumps, no lumps, no stickiness, just completely natural looking darkened lashes. I've literally NEVER used a mascara that wasn't at least a little lumpy. This Maybelline is going back in the trash now, and I'm probably never buying mascara from them again.

About reviewer (5 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinDry, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

a year ago

I like this very much you can get all your lashes this brush is great love it..

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinNormal, Fair

HairRed

EyesGreen


5.0
Created with Sketch.

a year ago

The thing I love the most about this mascara is that it holds a curl. I've been looking for a non-waterproof mascara that will hold a curl for years and who knew it would be a less than $5 Maybelline mascara! Now I can curl my lashes before applying mascara which means so much less lash damage than curling after mascara. It also does a great job of grabbing all my lashes. It's a bit spidery looking with the first few uses but after it thickens up a bit it's much better. In case anyone is interested, I tried Great Lash Big mascara and it did not hold a curl. My lashes drooped like they do with other mascaras.

About reviewer (80 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinSensitive, Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Medium

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is an amazing mascara! The little brush is a little scary- worried I would poke my eye, but no! It grabbed every lash just as promised, and applied in a wet but surprisingly silky way. I noticed buildable length, volume and a great amount of curl and lift that is weightless and literally lasts all day! Whoa. Like the regular formula, it kind of made my lashes a wee bit spidery at the first few applications, nothing too extreme, but performed very well after that. My lashes were separated, noticeably lengthened and thickened in an elegant, clean, clump free way. Two coats on my medium length, straight, uncurled lashes resulted in an even, polished, open eyed, lash by lash look. The formula is so flexible that I can squish my finger up into my lashes and they bend with absolutely no flaking. As someone with allergies, and who gets itchy eyes, this is a real plus. As the package says, don’t let dry between coats and it works like a dream. I like to get ready very quickly and I hate having to fiddle too hard to drag on inferior mascara only to get lashes that stay up for half an hour and then droop - not so with this formula- quick, effective, easy to apply, natural looking but with amazing lengthening, thickening, separating qualities. If the black/brown was more brownish I would be in mascara heaven. At $4.98 Canadian it’s a STEAL. I’m glad I tried it and I will keep buying it!

About reviewer (102 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinAcne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This is my favorite ds mascara. This is different in every way than the regular great lash: different ingredients, no parabens, formula isn't as watery, conical shaped brush. I have sensitive eyes so I look specifically for a mascara with few ingredients and this has less ingredients than PF organic. $4, doesn't irritate my eyes, doesn't flake (until the tube gets old). I love the conical wand- I find it separates lashes and creates drama well. MUFE smoky is my favorite HE mascara and the wand at least is sort of a dupe. I love this mascara, and when I'm not splurging on tarte LCL or mufe smoky, this is all I will buy

About reviewer (123 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I used to use the old Great Lash and found it to be impossible to apply without clumps. This Great Lash with the tapered brush goes on much better, who would have thought. It is a great, every day mascara, fairly thick and black. I don't find that it flakes or smears. It is a good value for the money.

About reviewer (24 reviews)

Age56 & Over

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Straight, Medium

EyesBlue


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I used to use the original version years ago and it was okay, but easily ran and I my oily lids caused it to smear when my lashes touched. So, I moved on and never looked back. Recently I asked a co-worker what mascara she used as her lashes looked so full and defined and she said Great Lash Lots of Lashes. I of course had to run out and buy it immediately and it is a pretty good everyday mascara! Full, long, but not overly dramatic lashes that doesn’t smear or run and easy to take off. For $5 a tube it’s a steal of a deal. I would repurchase.

About reviewer (19 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium

HairBrunette

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This mascara is INCREDIBLE. I remember having used a tube up before and recently opened a new one up that had been sitting unopened for ages. The brush pulls everything single lash up and out, it keeps my lashes curled all day and I don't use a lash curler on them. I was so impressed to come home after a 12 hour day and see that my lashes looked perfect. I don't feel like I have to layer it, it just gives me a nice, separated look that's not too dramatic. I find that I like voluminous lashes but they droop by the end of the day, these mascara doesn't do that, the formula is so light. You can't go wrong for the price either. I hated the original great lash but this one is a gift.

About reviewer (127 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair, Cool

HairRed, Wavy, Medium

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

I often read good reviews about this line of mascara by Maybelline, but hadn't get the chance to try it coz it's nit available in my home country. So when I moved to Canada, this is among the first items I bought at local drugstore. I would say the quality of this mascara is better than many high end mascaras! I was almost desperate seeking for great mascara, as it always melts under my eyes within less than 3 hours of use. I found Max Factor false lashes waterproof works fine, however it has that heavy feeling on the lashes just like most waterproof mascara I've tried. Yet this mascara, it lasts ALL day without smudging and feels WEIGHLESS! It coats my lashes very nicely, no special effect tough (I use curler before applying the mascara), but it does the job to accentuate my look. It's great for daily use, at least works for me who spends most of the day at the office. I tried it for a whole day summer picnic and it doesn't smudge! Definitely my HG, and would stock up before going back to my home country!

About reviewer (55 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairBrunette, Wavy, Coarse

EyesHazel


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

in my opinion, the biggest difference between drug store mascaras is the wand. it's all about the wand. and this one is my HG. at first when I saw it I was skeptical because it wasn't curved as most usually are.but with this one I can really control the look of my lashes. one swipe looks completely natural, and the more swipes the more lashes I appear the have. I've never had a problem with clumping and my favorite part about it is that the size is perfect to use on my bottom lashes. I always seemed to make a mess when trying to use the bulkier wands on my bottoms. one swipe of this on my bottoms gives me a doe eyed look I love. if I had to complain about something, which I dont, it'd be that it does give me a little raccoon eye after a nap or if I don't take it off at night it's not real pretty in the morning. but I shouldn't be sleeping in it anyway. if you want the big, super curled, mascara look from makeup commercials, this probably isn't going to be for you. but if you are looking for something more natural looking that makes you look like you have lots of lashes (go figure), try it. and use it on bottoms too!

About reviewer (49 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Not Sure

HairRed, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue