3.7

Created with Sketch.
475 reviews
61%
would repurchase
4.4/5
package quality

price range
$40.00 on Nordstrom
Shop Now

Reviews


5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

Good coverage

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Medium

HairBlack

EyesBrown



5.0
Created with Sketch.

5 months ago

The last time I wrote a review on this product was in 2016 and I am still using this amazing foundation. This is more of a heavy foundation so I use it for nights out with more intense looks. I have acne prone skin and it still works really well.

About reviewer (31 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

HairBlack, Straight, Fine

EyesBlue


3.0
Created with Sketch.
from

6 months ago

***UPDATE - WINTER 2019*** If I could take only HALF a lippie off, I would as this has unfortunately proved to be the root cause of my recent under-the-skin blemishes (which have been assessed on three separate occasions). I would now rate this as a 3.5, as opposed to the original score of 4. A half point deduction seems appropriate as, regardless of my personal sensitivities, this is still a fantastic foundation for less sensitive skins. I was slightly reluctant to put the issue of clogged pores down to the foundation as I cross-referenced the ingredients of Matchmaster with Studio Fix Fluid (which doesn't break me out) and 80% of the ingredients are the same in both! There's just two or three ingredients that differ in each*. Alas, these pesky comedones speak for themselves unfortunately. I'm absolutely gutted as I adore how this foundations looks, wears and feels. It is important to note that as this is a lot more matte than SFF, it can be drying which is the primary reason I think my skin has reacted negatively to the product. The mattifying properties suck moisture out the face meaning my skin is going into overdrive to reproduce natural oils, thus resulting in blemishes. All in all, it's just too much for my skin. I wish I could love it as it photographs like a dream and the volume of product you get (35ml as opposed to 30ml) is fabulous and so cost effective. Plus, the colour is brilliant for neutral skin tones. Other MAC ranges do not work for me at all in terms of shade selection (all too extreme) but this is fantastic. (*Matchmaster includes Polymethyl Methacrylate and Dimethicone Silylate (which don't feature in Studio Fix Fluid). Research suggests both ingredients are either 'silicone containing' or 'pure silicone' materials which could also be why the formula is causing closed comedones as it is more silicone based than it's SFF counterpart.) To give some background, I revisited this product at the end of September, after my TOTM when my hormones had settled and when my skin was looking clear. Sure enough, within a matter of days I had broken out in small closed comedones - most predominantly on my forehead (which had previously been very clear and smooth). My chin also took a beating with almost boil-like spots. Matchmaster had to be the culprit but I was still in denial... So...I let my skin clear and tested the foundation again in November (with a primer) and also in December (without a primer). I ensured my skin was at it's optimum however, as time went on, I experienced yet more spots. In the same places. All things considered, I stand by my original review in terms of performance as this is an absolutely outstanding foundation if it doesn't cause you irritation - well worth trying a sample. I wish it worked for me. Sad face. ***ORIGINAL REVIEW - SUMMER 2019*** Wowzers - this is so close to being a verified HG! This has everything I want from a foundation - long lasting, controls oil well thanks to a solid matte finish, medium to buildable coverage, doesn't wear off around the sides of my nose (like most bases), good colour match (it really does adjust to your skin tone - incredibly impressive), excellent packaging with a pump, very economical (you get 35ml as opposed to the standard 30ml for the same price of the majority of other MAC foundations - great value), it's not stupidly expensive (here's lookin' at you, Armani!) AND it photographs BEAUTIFULLY. The only downside is that this can feel quite heavy on the skin as it's a lot more matte than they advertise. In this regard, less is definitely more! Personally, I wouldn't recommend this as an everyday foundation - more of a 'special occasion base' as it is quite drying (looking, not feeling). Sadly, every time I have worn this (daily) my skin has reacted poorly - breaking out in hard, under-the-skin spots on my jaw and forehead. I am genuinely gutted because this is one of the better MAC foundations I have tried. It is far superior to both Pro Longwear and Studio Fix Fluid, in terms of performance, colour and packaging. I just wish it didn't cause suspected irritation. I will persevere with it (because I like it that much!) to see if there are any changes over time - it is possible the problem areas could potentially be down to hormones too. Fingers crossed as this is a great product - well worth trying a sample; particularly if you find the SFF line too extreme in shade offerings (MM runs neutral, hence the lack of NC/NWs in the shade range - perfect for my skin tone!) PROS Excellent longevity - I can get 12 hours of wear out of this before I notice any obvious breakdown but the product wears comfortably until the 14 hour mark Fabulous oil control Matte finish (they say this is demi matte but I actually find this more matte than the SFF) Impressively, doesn't wear off around the sides of my nose (like most bases) Incredible colour match (it really does adjust to your skin tone - believe the claims!) Finally a MAC shade range that is actually neutral! Excellent packaging with a pump - very economical too (you get 35ml as opposed to the standard 30ml for the same price of the majority of other MAC foundations - great value) Well priced - I respect MAC for being high end without breaking the bank! Includes SPF (a huge pro for me) Photographs BEAUTIFULLY CONS Potential irritation (in the form of under the skin blemishes) - still under assessment! Can feel heavy but it is a fuller coverage base so I would sort of expect that - just something to note! Does have a tendency to feel/look slightly dry on the skin - most noticeably under the eyes Bizarrely this sometimes highlights my smile lines and other times, doesn’t. Very odd. Overall, one of the best bases I have tried from MAC!

About reviewer (86 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinCombination, Fair, Neutral

HairBrunette, Kinky, Medium

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I was very sceptical to try this one as the Studio Fix was a nightmare on my skin. This foundation stays put all day, I still need to blot, but it still looks good at the end of the day. The shading is good as well. Good foundation for combination to oily skin types.

About reviewer (30 reviews)

Age30-35

SkinVery Oily, Fair, Neutral

HairBlond, Other, Other

EyesGreen


1.0
Created with Sketch.
from

2 years ago

If u have dry and sensitive skin,please.dun ever buy this foundation. Is a total wastage of money. Makes my pores look bigger and accentuate my dry area. Look horrible !no matter how I apply,using sponge or brush give the same awful effect

About reviewer (1 reviews)

Age25-29

SkinAcne-prone, Fair

HairBrown

EyesBlack


3.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

This used to be my favourite foundation, but I’ve realised that it’s not sweat proof at all. This foundation is awful if it’s raining, no matter if I use high end primers and setting sprays, this foundation will run off my face in thick chunks when water touches it - I live in the UK, where it rains a lot, so this is not ideal. I have a problem with my forehead sweating quite a bit also, and this foundation is terrible for that. What I will say though is that if it’s not raining and I’m having a good day where I’m not sweating, the foundation is long lasting without me having to touch up. The finish is nice, but not amazing. You can tell you have foundation on when you wear this so it’s not strongly recommended if you prefer that more natural finish. Sometimes it can be a little chalky. I have 2 bottles left, so I will finish those but I don’t think I will run out to buy this again, given my needed criteria.

About reviewer (11 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinOily, Dark, Not Sure

HairBlack, Relaxed, Coarse

EyesBrown


4.0
Created with Sketch.

2 years ago

I have combination skin and even though this has a matte finish, it doesn't accentuate the dryness or cling onto any patches. This line of foundations, especially the lighter shades are more neutral so if you're having trouble finding something in studio fix or prolongwear, this is a good one to try. The only con with this is it smells of paint, disappears after some hours but that is the only downside I face with this particular foundation. It's not as strong of a scent as Studio Fix Fluid though, which I appreciate. It is a safe choice of foundation when I don't feel like conducting an experiment on my face. I like it, however, it doesn't make me go "wow, my skin looks beautiful". That being said, I still like it for lasting till the end of the day and giving me medium coverage, which I like, just to even out my skintone. I can appreciate a foundation that doesn't give me a shock when I catch myself in the mirror during or at the end of the day, it's very reliable.

About reviewer (51 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

HairBlack, Other, Other

EyesBrown


1.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Doesn't work on my combo skin.In the middle of the day my nose used to be totally naked, the same around my lips, even with primer.I noticed this foundation made my skin so dry..awfull aspect..This is the only foundation that perfect fits in my shade all over the year (I'm NC 30 and use number 4.0).Accentuates fine lines.Not a super coverage.

About reviewer (12 reviews)

Age44-55

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrown, Wavy, Fine

EyesBrown


5.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Another great foundation from MAC in my opinion. As a makeup junkie and a foundation hoarder (LOL) I am always on the hunt for the next foundation to try. I recently purchased the Estee Lauder Perfectionist Youth Infusing Serum foundation which is also great. However, I kinda love Matchmaster more and I'll tell you why: Shade: I am a MAC NC 20-25 depending on the season. Shade 2.0 matches me perfectly and it really does have an ability to match your skin tone quite well. I think this is where this foundation outshines some of my faves in my collection. It matches me 100%. (enough said) Texture: It has a very creamy texture which makes it a dream to blend. I always a beauty sponge with this and the application is always flawless. Finish: It is a demi matte finish. It is not a flat matte. However, if you have dry skin make sure you prep your skin very well (exfoliate, moisturize and prime) Coverage: This is a notch down from Studio Fix Fluid. It is a nice medium buildable foundation that covers enough of my uneven texture and redness. Overall, I think this is becoming my HG. I have every single MAC foundation except for Studio Tech and Nourishing Waterproof. For me, this is best! Hope this review helps!

About reviewer (83 reviews)

Age36-43

SkinCombination, Fair-Medium, Warm

HairBrunette, Straight, Fine

EyesBrown


3.0
Created with Sketch.

3 years ago

Well I will admit i would never consider trying any MAC face product again because ive tried a concealer and hated it. I wasn't that into the brand to begin with. the formula of these products just makes my sinuses act up. Anyway, i was actually given a bottle of this foundation in shade 4.0. ..Great, a free full size foundation, i was thankful! So i went on to try it later. I strongly believed the shade itself was going to match my.skin well just by looking at the product. At that time, my skintone was at its lightest, im in between the light (not fair) & medium category, im also neutral undertone. Being hopeful, it didnt turn out to be the one....so close !!! Ended up looking a bit orange/red-ish even in sun light. I was a bit bummed out but i figured i could MAYBE blend in it better just by tanning a bit more. The smell is also too much to handle. My eyes water, get red, and i start sniffling. I really like the feel of it though, its creamy, blendable.. which means a little goes a long way to apply, doesnt dry out my skin, its non cakey, i noticed my pores disappeared, too! It definitely doesnt make me oily either. Feels very supple.

About reviewer (4 reviews)

Age19-24

SkinAcne-prone, Medium, Neutral

HairBrown, Straight, Other

EyesBrown





If you buy something through our links, MakeupAlley may earn an affiliate commission.

The Best of MakeupAlley

Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count on to be trending? Quality beauty products that actually do what they say they will! It's one thing to create buzz around a product through clever marketing and cute packaging, but quite another to make one that people will repurchase again and again. We've rounded up 25 reviewer faves that have truly earned their 'Holy Grail' status!
Styles change quickly in the beauty world, but something you can always count...

Follow us